We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Media B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“a absolute gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

booked this as a surprise for my family daughter attending out of town prom wanting to make it super special for her and a long needed get away for me and my guy!!! It was simply enchanting. We stayed in the grand master suite. perfect would be an under statement.Great big space to allow room for her to get ready. And very nice for us as she attended post prom. That night. If your looking for uppity this is not it Judy is wonderful even making it a point to greet us friendly by calling us by our first name! And Roland very nice. Breakfast amazing fresh delicious. So mu
ch better then some continental thing. And the price was reasonable. I truly wanted to stay longer. Hope to get back there. If you can GO!!! You will be glad you did. Thank Alpenhoff for making this so nice.Sincerely the Cupp family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank momoffourinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for you kind words! We're so glad that we could be part of your daughter's surprise. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
61
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the best b&b we have ever stayed at. Beautiful Gardens, Interesting decor, Interesting family owned property. Main building over 200 years old. Food is magnificent. Cooked to your order. Judy bakes all the breads and treats, and Roland does the cooking. Peace, beauty all around. A place to heal, a place to enjoy great company, and great food. What more could you ask?

Room Tip: The master bedrooms are huge. Just tell them what you want, and they will help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neufeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Visiting family in the area, spent one week at this delightful B&B. Rooms were tastefully decorated very clean and welcoming. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent although the schedule was not very flexible. Overall a very good experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fischer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that you found our breakfast times to be a bit restrictive. We will certainly take that into consideration going forward. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Great gardens full of blooms, rarities, obscurities, and curios. Didn't stay in the house, stayed at the cottage, which is to die for. You can have almost anything for breakfast and it's goooood. Great people, great vibe. You should do it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFFREY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in the Cottage. It was wonderful to meet you and we wish you both all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Gals trip to PA to see a few of the famous gardens. We picked this place because of the gardens and location. The decor is not typical, very interesting. Breakfast each morning was prepared as ordered and delicious. Judy is a talented baker. I would definitely go back if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NS9536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll come back to visit more of the area's gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We've stayed at Alpenhof a few times over the years and we have never been disappointed. Our last visit (May 2014) we were delighted to see Roland has added two separate bathrooms and another bedroom suite. The private baths are truly lovely, worthy of a spread in Architectural Digest. Another bedroom suite in the main house ground floor is also newly available; the couple staying in it loved it so much, they insisted we have a look at it after our luscious breakfast. Judy's breakfasts are first rate, during which we've always enjoyed our lively conversations with her, and Roland too when he is there. Décor throughout is beautiful, charming in every possible way, inside and out (English-style landscape). Alpenhof is also well located, just down the road from Ridley Park, where we love to hike. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cecelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We were so glad to see you again! You'll have to come back again to try out the Grand Mastersuite. Thanks for shutting off the tea pot for me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Here's what I loved about this place:

- the endlessly fascinating decor;
- the carefully tended unique gardens;
- the graciousness of Roland and his folks;
- the family history that seems to be palpable in every corner;
- the food, of course;
- and the dogs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland19063, Owner at Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for writing us a review. We hope that when you come this way again that you'll stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Media
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Springfield
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Media
Quality Inn Media
#2 of 2 in Media
145 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Swarthmore
The Inn at Swarthmore
#1 of 1 in Swarthmore
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
10.5 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
367 reviews
7.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Philadelphia Airport Ridley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2001 N Ridley Creek Rd, Media, PA 19063-1924
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Media
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Media
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Alpenhof Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing