We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where in the world are your forced to pay for a glass of ice water? esp. a bar!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where in the world are your forced to pay for a glass of ice water? esp. a bar!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have never stayed at the Motel part, but I do not like the bar area, their is always an expensive cover charge, the shot glasses are tiny, the drinks are all over 5 dollars, and when I went to get a glass of ice water after a beer, I was denied it and said i had to pay 2 dollars for a bottle of water. I did it, but I wasnt happy. What if I wouldnt of had 2 extra dollars?? It should be illegal to deny free water at a bar. My boyfriend and I are not cheap, we always tip well, but we were angry about this, and we wont bring our business to this tourist trap again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally R, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for response on Tripadvisor. I was sorry to hear that you were charged for bottled water in the bar, we do offer complimentary water at our front desk of the hotel. Please feel free to stop by and get a few free bottles on me.

Thank you,

David McCord
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    138
    104
    94
    79
See reviews for
210
90
33
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Perhaps it was because my girlfriend and I are 22 that we were treated with dishonesty and some of the worst customer service I've ever experienced in my numerous trips to hotels around the Hershey area. Having arrived Friday evening I had said we would probably stay another night and had room saver coupons for both. We spent $35 for breakfast in their bar restaurant told the staff we would be staying another night and id pay for it all by cash and then went to our state finals football game. After coming back that night at 9 pm expecting to go to sleep for our 5 hr drive back home in the morning, it was a rude awakening to have a party of 12 belligerent college students in the room next to us and a nightclub directly below our room with vibrations that practically rivaled an earthquake below our feet. When i downstairs to talk to the "night audit" he asked if we had signed the mandatory waiver for the room we were given that said "we should expect excessive noise and vibrations until 2:15 AM for Friday and Saturday nights." We hadn't received this notice the prior (Friday) night when we arrived or all day Saturday and then were told by both the night audit and subsequent "night security" (no management on the premise) that our time and money (spent there and in surrounding west harrisburg) shouldn't be compensated for and no other room was provided for the evening. Essentially it was take the noise or leave it at 10PM with us dog tired. The night auditor said we were compensated by the low rate, of the coupon i Provided by having the wherewithal to stop and grab a room saver coupon. "The room should be $110 but your only paying $55 because of your coupon" in his words. No compensation provided, no remorse or apology given for their negligence and error in not providing us with the "mandatory waiver." I would have preferred to write a positive review but the fact they errored and didnt own up to their mistake presumably because my girlfriend and I aren't the stereotypical 22 year olds who stay up until 215 AM getting plastered was entirely disrespectful and not what customer services methodology preaches. Hard earned money wasted.

Room Tip: Rooms not above the high energy nightclub are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rah7233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally R, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your tripadvisor response, customer feedback is very important to us. I am sorry you left our hotel feeling this way, and I would like to discuss the issue further. Please contact me directly at the hotel 717697 0321

David McCord, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst,NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is a gem and the service is top notch! The location and the amenities are the best in the area. At the front desk, Tony was quick to help with every request and Melyssa is super friendly. David was helpful and even offered a beverage during our wait. The room was clean and fresh. I have allergies and I must say I slept remarkably well here. Others in my group said the same. I'd highly recommend a visit here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyCarolina09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Park Inn Harrisburg for 3 days attending a conference. Staff are wonderful and very pleasant. They welcome you as soon as you approach the entrance. They were very responsive to my needs everytime I need something. The food was great and the staff are wonderful. I really reccommend this hotel to everybody. Keep up the great job Park Inn..........

Sincerley,

Diab Bannout

Room Tip: Very clean, great food and staff are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

In town for our annual conference and as always I called early to make my reservations. I requested a smoking room, but didn't realize they've shifted to almost a 100% smoke-free building. I actually prefer this as the rooms are much fresher than last year and it's so simple to just step outside when you need a puff. Got to meet some of the other guests while I was outside too.

While a lot of my colleagues prefered to stay downtown, I always try to stay here. Close enough for a no-rush drive to town, but the 5 minute drive back in the evening is a perfect opportunity to cool down from the conference. Plus my friends room at the downtown hotel was half as large at twice the price!

Check in was a breeze and manager David even recognized me from last year! I believe the housekeeper for my room was Laura and she did an excellent job even though I was in her way most of the time. But she was always friendly and helpful. The houskeepers I meet at other hotels would rather not even make eye contact. Towards the end of my stay, a smoking room came available and Rose at the front desk was very quick to make sure the new room was inspected and ready and this was hours before their usual check-in time.

Needless to say, a hotel is a hotel is a hotel. I can get a room anywhere, but I have a very hard time finding this kind of service and actual caring where ever I go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honestashol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Felt like I was at two different places. Had my step-daughter's wedding there over the weekend and everything and everybody involved with that was great, from the rehearsal to the tear down everything was A-One. I don't remember names but Dani sticks out and the bartender we had was great. Food was great, setting for the wedding was great, service at the reception was great.Was allowed to check in early to get ready and have not a single complaint about anyone working the front desk, every aspect of customer service was above board.
Now onto the rooms, the toilet ran on, the tub backed up, the A/c wasn't the greatest and you could hear the next door neighbors one working, and it smelled of cigarettes. And now for the best part!; The Drunks, we went back to our room after the ceremony and the room next to us had a picnic table in front of it literally covered in beer bottles and ten or so drunken idiots standing around it screaming and cursing so of course about twenty minutes later more drunks came walking by and both parties started mouthing off to each and a fight broke out. Called the front desk and security came right away (another Kudos for front desk and customer service) and than they where out there first thing in morning. All in all I had a good time but the drunks just put a sour note on it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rooms were a bargain and clean, the hotel workers went above and beyond! Anything we needed,is how they made our group feel! The club that's connected to the hotel was what put this hotel in the "I can't wait to go back" category! Awesome time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mario_purcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
2.7 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West
Address: 5401 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisburg West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Smoke Free Hotel sits on 22 acres of land and has shopping, theaters, restaurants and other activities within a 1 mile radius. Offers Indoor and outdoor pool, 24 Hour on-site fitness center, 24-hour business center and on-site laundry facilities. There is over 16,000 square feet of meeting space, Picnic Groves, Outdoor Courtyard, Mini-golf course, sand volleyball courts, Softball field. - Home to 3 different places for food, drink and entertainment. Blarney's Irish Pub is a great place for dinner and a pint, Whiskey Ridge Saloon host the best country bands plus you can ride the mechanical bull, and Legend's Grille, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Choose one or visit all three. The hotel is right across the street from the Mechanicsburg Navy Depot and a short distance to the Farm Show Complex, Ski Roundtop, Carlisle Fairgrounds, Downtown Harrisburg, and Hershey Park. We can accommodate picnics up to 1500 people and have outdoor facilities for wedding ceremonies and receptions. We have 12 meeting rooms that can accommodate from 10 - 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Holiday Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing