We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but practical for road trip stop over!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel is average very dated room decor. They should really put some attention to this aspect. But it was clean and it served our purpose just fine! front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Location near restaraunts .convenient

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently stayed here on a road trip north on I-81. It was one of the few hotels with space available for under $100. The location is great. There are ample restaurants nearby, and easy access to the interstates. Breakfast is decent, and includes belgian waffle makers, cereal, and some other bakery items. There were also a couple of hot food items (eggs and sausage).

My kids and I are picky about breakfast food, so we opted to get toast with peanut butter and go to Dunkin Donuts.

The staff was very friendly from check-in to the cleaning crew at breakfast.

The rooms were just average. Old tube-style TVs with limited satellite service. The beds were not very comfortable, but they weren't the worst I have ever slept on. The room was clean as was the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

After a long wet drive from The Philly airport I arrived at midnight. I felt safe in the parking lot and at the hotel. The staff was nice and was not sleeping on the job as some night front desk people do.

My room was on the 2nd floor. As soon as I went up the stairs to the 2nd floor I was blasted with a wave of cigarette smoke. This worried me because my room was non smoking. I was very happy that the smoke smell was not in my room.

The room was clean. The shower had good water pressure and the bed was cozy. Breakfast offered more than most hotels in ths price range and below. Overall I was happy to stay here for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offseasonfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As the title suggests, one of the first and nicest little things they did soon after my wife and I arrived was to call us up on the hotel phone and ask us if everything was all right. It was and despite what others may have written, the coffee was somewhat better than colored water....somewhat! But the rest of the breakfast was quite good, featuring individually packaged peach yogurts, waffles, potatoes, pastries, juice, etc. Not bad for $80. And the room WAS clean and comfortable for the one night we stayed while visiting family. Didn't use the exercse room. Staff helpful answering questions we had about where we wanted to go. Overall, this was a quite satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclemillty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Nice stay, staff is efficient but not overtly friendly. Rooms are "clean" as long as you don't check the edges of the floor and walls. Older motel but seems maintained decently. Good place for an overnight. 7 miles from Turnpike but in a busy shopping area - lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Hotel located in a great location; within walking distance from some eaterys and a convience store. Check-in/Check-out was quick and easy. The staff very friendly, room was clean, and the environment inside and outside the hotel very quiet and peaceful; family friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a wedding to attend in Mechanicsburg, PA, instead of paying the outrageous price at the hotel the wedding was at, we decided to look for something cheaper. I booked the room without reading any reviews and then went back and read some not so good reviews on the place. I was expecting our stay to be pretty bad. When we arrived, the desk attendant was very nice and prompt, and the lobby was very clean and presentable. I had requested a smoking room and when we got in the room, being a smoker myself the smell was not overwhelming. Also, being in the hospitality industry myself I turned the room over and was surprised to find nothing wrong with the room at all. The TV, fixtures and decor were a little outdated but other than that, the room was great. Breakfast in the morning was the usual, nothing outrageous but good none the less. The only thing that I agree with from the other reviews is that the coffee might as well have been water. Overall I would return to this hotel and recommend it for others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
3.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg

Address: 6325 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050-2309 (Formerly Comfort Inn West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $78 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, a Mechanicsburg hotel near Harrisburg and popular Hershey attractions.The Comfort Inn(R) Mechanicsburg/Carlisle is conveniently located on Route 11, just six miles west of Harrisburg, the state capital, and seven miles east of Carlisle. This Mechanicsburg, PA hotel is minutes from the U.S. Army War College, Naval Support Activity Mechanicsburg, Dickinson College, Dickinson School of Law, Messiah College, the New Cumberland Army Depot, part of the Defense Distribution Depot Susquehanna, and the famous Carlisle Car Show. The Harrisburg International Airport is 12 miles away. More than 20 restaurants are located within one mile of the hotel. Additional area attractions include the Pennsylvania Dutch Country in Lancaster County, Hershey's Chocolate World and Gettysburg National Military Park. Hotel amenities and features include: •Free high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Free morning newspaper •Free 24-hour coffee •Exercise room Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Carlisle the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including pancakes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing