We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, comfortable hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great, comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had 40+ people staying at this hotel for a family reunion. Besides being a lovely hotel with large rooms, VERY comfortable beds, and a wonderful conference room for us to meet in, the staff was what prompted this review. They were all so friendly and accommodating. We just had to ask for something and it was done. If you are planning to stay in this area - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hosting your family reunion this past weekend was such a pleasure and so much fun from the moment your first guests arrived. I appreciate you taking time to share your experience with other travelers and will be sure to share your kind words with the entire staff at our daily stand-up. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    95
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
138
49
16
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family gathered last weekend at the Courtyard by Marriott for our biannual family reunion. We had 50 guests from the East Coast, the Midwest, and the southern states ranging in age from one year old to 90 years old. We couldn't have chosen a better venue for our reunion. The facility was spotless, the rooms were beautiful, and our meeting room was just what we needed. However, what stood out the most was the staff. Everyone we encountered, from the front desk staff, to the breakfast staff, to the housekeepers were welcoming, friendly, and let us know that our comfort was their top priority. Alaina, the group sales coordinator was amazing. So many requests, room changes, etc. and she was right on top of everything. I have planned many events and have never encountered anyone who was more concerned that everything was just right for our visit. The little touches such as family reunion labeled cookies in our rooms, our reunion logo at the meeting door, and many others were appreciated by all. Whoever trains the front desk and food service staff has done an excellent job. The front desk staff were wonderful, always there to help with whatever requests we had. The young lady who stood out was Paige. She was so friendly and accommodating while taking care of our many requests. All of this while still handling the front desk. We had two catered dinners provided by outside vendors (thanks again, Alaina for excellent catering suggestions) that worked out beautifully for our group. Again, the Marriott staff was right there to provide the utensils that we didn't have such as cake servers, serving spoons, etc. I can't finish this review without mentioning the breakfast staff. Not only did they arrange for us to have our breakfast across the hall in our meeting room, they continually came in and checked with each table to see what was needed. Amy was particularly concerned with our comfort and we appreciated her attention to detail. We had coffee, juice, rolls, etc. ready for us in our meeting room so we didn't have to carry those things from the breakfast area. We couldn't have had a better breakfast experience. There was a very pleasant young man working in the kitchen area who checked with us several times to make sure our coolers were iced down. I didn't get his name, but we'd like him to know how much we appreciated his help. We would bring our group back to the Marriott Mechanicsburg in a heartbeat and would recommend them to a group looking for care, concern, cleanliness and attention to detail. It doesn't get any better than this.

Room Tip: The suites are great if you have little kids who sleep better in a separate room. They are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sisters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arspringer, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so glad you all enjoyed your time here at our hotel. To know that our staff lived up to your expectations and followed through with your requests is what we strive for. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome each and every one of you back to our hotel as you were all such a pleasure to have to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will be sure to share it with the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This Courtyard does not have a few things I have come to enjoy in other Courtyards. They do not serve food aside from breakfast. And no bar in the lobby. No walk in showers like some other Courtyards have. The hotel is in kind of an industrial area with few restaurant options besides a close-by McDonald's. I ventured further down the road from the McDonald's and there were some other casual food options a few miles away. I was on the highway side which didn't bother me but not a great view. Not sure if its any better on the other side. Front desk person at check in was very friendly and offered restaurant options without being asked.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nemokota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At this point in time we only offer the full breakfast buffet in the cafe, but we always have fresh salads and sandwiches available 24 hours a day in our market, as well as, many other meal options. While we do not have the cafe open for dinner we have a wide variety of restuarant options in the immediate area and several delivery options that will provide service to your guest room door.

Please keep this us in mind for your future travels to the mid-state area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here when visiting the 150th anniversary of Gettysburg in July. Hotels in Gettysburg were very expensive, but much more reasonable here in Mechanicsburg. The staff was friendly when we arrived and assisted us in getting a nice restaurant nearby. The room was large and included a small refrigerator and microwave. It was clean and the bed comfortable. Had the breakfast (which was part of the package) and it was all great. The hotel is just off Highway 15 for easy access. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendWanders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are absolutely delighted that we could host you during your trip to the area! Thank you so much for your kind review and we cannot wait to share these comments with our staff. Hope you enjoyed our hotel and all of the special Gettysburg festivities! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Marriott Courtyard is tucked away in a quiet location in one of the suburbs of Harrisburg (Mechanicsburg). We used it as a location for my husband to go to baseball games at the local AA team (Harrisburg Senators). we used it as a convenient homebase (no pun intended) for going to games, going to Hershey, driving for a day to state college, PA (Penn State). The room was very clean. Somewhat small (we had a king that was part of a connecting room - those tend to be smaller). It was fairly quiet (except for the visiting softball teams running up and down the halls). The airconditioning worked well. One minor note - when we left our pocket change in a glass (a common practice we have to pool our change), the maid took it (several dollars). No big deal and glad she got a tip (we usually leave some bills on a pillow when we check out) but this had never happened before. The shower head was nice and tall, with good pressure. They left a bottle of water each day. They had the makings of Smores in the lobby one night, which was awesome. And the coffee in the lobby was better than most Courtyards - they had flavoring syrups for the coffee. All in all, a good hotel. There are not restaurants in walking distance, but nothing is that far away.

Room Tip: we liked the 3rd floor - no one stomping. 306 was a king with a connecting door, so a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Wow! Sounds like you got to take in a lot of the sights while you were here. I'm so glad you had a good stay! We will adress the 'change' issue with our housekeeping team, thank you for being so considerate about the incident. I hope that we can be your "home base" the next time you're in town to take in a ball game. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scullville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a softball tournament. We received a great group rate which included a hot breakfast. There was a snack served every night along with ice tea and coffee. Rooms were clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would like to see change is the size of the frig. A little small. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arspringer, Sales Coordinator at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and feedback and will be sure to share this with our staff. We hope to be able to welcome your team back next year as well as have the opportunity to work with you again. Best of luck in all tournaments and have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for skiing at Roundtop this winter. Overall, the property was nice and clean, but the breakfast is totally over-priced for something that is similar to the free breakfast buffets that you get at other chain hotels of this level. My kids went down to eat with our friends who were also staying at the hotel. Even though my kids each took a bowl of fruit loops and nothing else, they charged me $9:95 for each breakfast. Next time, I will not allow my kids to wander into the restuarant, even if they want to just sit with the other family!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I hope you enjoyed your time visting our location and Roundtop. Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guest's expectations and keeping our rooms well maintaned and clean. For the breakfast options, we do offer the full buffet, which includes eggs cooked how ever you'd like and the omelet station for $10.95 - and you also have the option to order items off the menu at various prices. We also have Ski Roundtop package deals which would include breakfast and ski passes - which may be a more cost effective option for your travels. We hope to see you next winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg

Property: Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Address: 4921 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West is located just off Route 15 less than a mile from I-76 (PA Turnpike) and minutes from I-81 and I-83 and is the newest Marriott on the West Shore of Harrisburg. We are a short drive to Central PA's best recreation and shopping venues such as HersheyPark, Roundtop Mountain Resort, Twin Ponds West / Cheer Tyme and the Hershey, Gettysburg and Lancaster Outlets. Our hotel is only miles from the PA State Capital and centrally located to Hershey, Gettysburg, Lancaster, and York. The Courtyard by Marriott is just minutes from the Rossmoyne Business Park, Select Medical, Highmark, Versatile and Rite Aid. Check out our seasonal packages for excellent leisure getaways! For our Canadian travelers, we are a perfect stopping point to break-up the trip to Florida and points South. Our hotel is designed for the business traveler, but certainly welcoming for a leisure getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Courtyard
Mechanicsburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing