We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent two nights while attending the Carlisle corvette gathering. Although one side of the hotel is close to highway, noise was not a problem, breakfast was fine with plenty of choices. Desk staff recommended a fine local resturant.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vrrooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAHARWES, Director of Sales at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

I would like to also thank you for the kind remarks. We are so glad that we could have you with us for the biggest event of the year-- Carlisle Car Show!

We will look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    69
    30
    29
    15
See reviews for
129
29
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel and from the beginning it was terrible. We had reserved two rooms for three nights. My out of state guest stayed in one room they had an 11 mth old with them and we stayed in another with our 9 year old daughter. Our first room was horrible. The rugs was dirty, the lights didnt work nor did the fridge. So they gave us another room. In this room the shower floor was slippery that we had to put a towel in the shower(we have a child with us) and the bathroom floor was very slippery also. The toilet paper was under lock and key in our room. ( never saw that in a hotel before).the air conditioner had a mind of its own. It turned on and off when it wanted too. and the covers on the bed felt not clean and the bed was uncomfortable. Then we decided to go to the pool. IT WAS FREEZING!!!!! I thought it was a heated pool?? thought wrong!! and what happened to the sign that states no child allowed unattended. There were children running and diving and in the hot tub. The floor around the pool was soaked and very slippery. When i went to report this to the front desk he did nothing.The chinese guy at the front desk was impolite and rude. Everytime you asked him a question he would say no. maybe he needs training on hospitality and customer service. Also there was a big black rot weiller staying at the hotel. NO DOGS ALLOWED!!!!The owner of the dog was walking it around the hotel and also taking it in the elevator that my child wouldnt go into anymore because of her fear of dogs. My husband reported this to the front desk the guy told him it was a seeing eye dog. NOT!! The dog had no identification (the bright orange vest mandated by federal law) and when my husband spoke to front desk the guy refused to saw my husband the paperwork. PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE. Also there is no seeing eye dog that is a rott weiller. He informed us that the trip to his hotel was only 10 minutes from hersey park. It was 25-30 min away. My daughter liked the cookies and he yelled at her to not eat all the cookies. She never took another one again. Also the breakfast was nasty. Liquid eggs made in the microwave the door to the room where they made the breakfast was wide open and the cartons for the liquid eggs was on the floor. The waffles was the only thing good. No fruit and the yogurt was all peach flavor. the third morning they tried to give us cream of beef with bisquits. GROSS and this morning the waffle machine had a long line that we waiting 15 minutes. When we tried to make the complaints to the manager, who is also the cleaning woman she was wearing the cleaning uniform. But she told my husband that she can give us a free one night stay or 10% back. Well the 10% back would have been $57 becasue we paid $577 so my husband didnt agree to anything. She also gave us 3 coupan books to Hersey park. She told my husband that another guest had left them and we could us them. They were half used and they were only good for games. So he took them and we still have them with us. We didnt play games. So we came home and reported this to Club carlson, the GM of this hotel never gave us the courtesy of a phone call as per the club carlson he had 48 hrs to return our call. So i called the club two days later and they tried to call him on three way he wasnt available. They told me that the manager Nicolette Chawiphat sent us a free stay. The free stay is for that hotel NO WAY will we stay in that hotel again. We travel all the time to PA and we will never stay there ever. So thank you to Club Carlson they were the ones to settle this matter. Please don't stay in this hotel. There web site is all lies and the service was terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAHARWES, Director of Sales at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The service dog had a tag that showed it was there for the person with a sickness. This was authorized by the GM. We do not accept pets, however, this was not a pet. They gave us documentation when they checked in. Of course, we had to close that room after they left and we had to deep clean it.

I did sent you free stay cards, and those coupons were left by another guest were just for if you could use them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
638 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed only one night on our way back to Canada after a three weeks trip down to Florida. Country Inn and Suites is an OK hotel for a pit stop on your way. The lobby is quite nice, but the service is awful. We checked-in around 9pm and we were greated by an unfriendly and unpleasant reception staff with an attitude of stay here or stay elswhere I don't care. You meet all kinds of people when you travel, but this is unacceptable behaviour for an hotel. Our room was nice and clean, no issues there. Free parking, free WiFi and free breakfast. I did however find it a bit pricey for what you get (110$ plus taxes), I might of felt different if the price tag had come with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to avoid the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAHARWES, Director of Sales at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

I am glad that our hotel was up to par for you, but very sorry that the front desk agent was not polite. We just went through some changes in front desk staff, so hopefully that will solve the problem.

Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Mechanicsburg, PA in August of 2012. We had a good stay overall and were very happy with how nice the staff were during our stay. Upon driving up to the hotel, we weren't sure what to expect because of the more industrial surroundings. The outside could be kept a little better, but wasn't bad. Once inside, the hotel presented itself as clean and welcoming. The staff felt like family. Our room was nice. It did not seem to have some of the upgrades that some of the other Country Inns have; however, the beds were very comfortable and the room had at nice large flat screen t.v! The hotel was nice and quiet during sleep hours with no distractions. The hall areas seemed very well taken care of and the pool and hot tub were very much enjoyed by our family.

In the morning, we were very impressed with the complimentary breakfast. The attendant at the breakfast was very helpful and kind. The breakfast had good food which was slightly better than other hotel breakfasts. Great coffee! Our daughters enjoyed the complimentary cookies in the lobby.

Overall, we had a very nice stay at this Country Inn and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationer031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAHARWES, Director of Sales at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor!

We really appreciate the kind remarks you have, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit us again next year!

Thank you!

Nicolette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here one night. The hotel is not spectacular, but good enough for business travel. Staff was friendly. The room was clean, although they still use those awful bedspreads that other hotels are getting rid of. I removed mine and used a bath towel as an extra blanket. Breakfast included an odd egg mixture that did not taste anything like freshly scrambled eggs. I would not stay here for longer than one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besturni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAHARWES, Director of Sales at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hello besturni,

Thank you for your review. I am glad we met most of your needs, and I hope we can exceed them in the future. We are changing the bedspreads- about half of the hotel is done now.

Thank you!

Nicolette Chawiphat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed at other country inn & suites and felt secure in booking this one. Boy was I wrong. The desk staff was dismissive and unfriendly, the facilities were not clean. The rooms smelled moldy and the tables etc were "sticky". The restrooms were not clean. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAHARWES, Director of Sales at Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review.

I apologize for the issues you experienced at our property. I have addressed the concerns mentioned to our team, and would like to make sure they do not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Front desk staff was very nice at check in, the room seemed clean when we entered and the breakfast was just fine! The furniture in the living area of our suite was pretty old and uncomfortable, but we didn't spend a whole lot of time hanging out in the room so it didn't matter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripletMama2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West

Property: Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Address: 4943 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4816 (Formerly Centerstone Inn & Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between Hershey, Gettysburg & Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Harrisburg-West
Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Country Inn Mechanicsburg
Country Inn Harrisburg West
Mechanicsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing