We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Thai in the evening”
Review of Bangkok Wok

Bangkok Wok
Ranked #11 of 186 Restaurants in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: INCEPTION 1990 ...CENTRAL PENNSYLVANIA MAGAZINE AWARD BEST THAI 22 YEARS .................HARRISBURG MAGAZINE AWARD SIMPLY THE BEST THAI 17 YEARS ...............PATRIOT NEWS AWARD BEST ASIAN CUISINE
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Little Thai in the evening”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very busy restaurant, food was very good. Would definitely come back again. You could bring your own bottle of wine - what a plus!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    45
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“outstanding!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have eaten hear many times and every time the food was amazing. The staff is great, service is quick and food is definitely the best Thai food in the area! I would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“authentic, tasty thai”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not your usual strip mall thai restaurant. the decor is very good, and the food even better. I highly recommend the fried rice with crab -- lots of crab!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobhardync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Louise, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The decor is dated. There were flies in the main dining area. The two dishes we had were very bland. There are better Thai restaurants in Mechanicsburg.

Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best Thai Restaurant Ever!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've had Thai food in NYC, Philadelphia, NJ, etc. and NONE has compared as good to Bangkok Wok. ...ok...maybe one is a close second in North Jersey....but I think about this restaurant all the time. I used to live near Harrisburg, and this is one cuisine/restaurant I miss terribly.

Flavor combinations - awesome- menu selection - great.

Reservations taken but it is ALWAYS crowded Thursday - weekends, with Friday and Saturday being the busiest. Expect at least an hour wait without reservations. Not a lot of room to wait, but there are seats.

Take out is available. Prices are reasonable - compared to other Thai Restaurant prices & quality.

Service is great - never had a bad experience. The owner comes around the tables often to check on you. Many regulars know the owner by name and vice versa. He started to recognize me after awhile (since I started going at least once week). It certainly makes you feel appreciated.

My favorite foods were....*thinks*....too many to name!! All the noodle dishes and curry dishes had great flavors! I could eat them all right now. *Sighs*

Desserts are really good too, especially the coconut icecream, sticky rice, etc.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlannaB490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Wok also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing