We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there now before it is discovered”
Review of Sophia's at Walden

Sophia's at Walden
Ranked #6 of 186 Restaurants in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Go there now before it is discovered”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have eaten here four times in the past two months because we cannot get enough of this place. Each time we dine it is about 4:30PM on a weekday and the place is empty. We can pick any table in the house. Once we made the mistake of showing up for brunch at noon on a Sunday and were turned away for lack of a reservation. Timing appears to be everything and reservations are a good idea; especially on weekends for brunch and dinner.

Every menu item that we have tried so far has been prepared with great care. The quality of the ingredients are first rate... even the seafood rivals coastal restaurants for freshness and presentation. Try the bar-b-que scallops as and appetizer, if available. There are only two, but they are clean (meaning no sand), tender and very large (think petite filet size). Also if available, the Halibut is another winner. The Shepherds pie is the best that we have ever eaten. It is NOT ground lamb or beef but instead comprised of lean, shredded beef and served in a huge casserole dish. Each salad that we have been served is made of top-notch garden greens (Sorry... iceberg lettuce fans). The blue cheese dressing is over-the-top with hunks of its namesake ingredient. Also, the Field Green and Beet salad is well-done and satisfying. The Bombay Burger is unique, but timid diners should ask for the curry ketchup on the side. Save room for outstanding desserts and baked goods which are disclosed well in advance at the 30-foot long bakery counter.

You will have difficulty finding Sophia's at Walden without an updated GPS. It is off the main drag, but definitely worth pursuing. Many locals will not know how to find it. There are some great dining places in this town, but it won't be long before this place tops the list. Go there now before it is discovered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“David Henry Thoreau would be pleased”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Brunch , a mesmerizing ensemble of eggs, Mexican sasuage over muffins swimming in a pool of pure (50 shades of grey) hollandaise sauce seducing us with the aroma of HOT coffee , what a great morning delight. Great service even though we arrived 20 before closing. Our waitress was gracious and did not rush us at all. The only thing that would make it better is if they had a vegan meal, perhaps tofu scramble, for my daughter. A real find on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbieTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and restaurant”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Valentines Day is a special day to dine out. My valentine and I are always looking for some place new. Today was a GREAT FIND.. We went to Sophias at Walden. Place is clean and beautifully decorated. Place your order at the counter and soon it comes to your table. Soups are wonderful.
Chef salad and sandwiches were great. Everything is made in house and looks and tastes great. We had dessert. Coconut Creme cake and tart was off the charts. Can't go wrong eating here. ENJOY!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PappyK105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great local place for lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I love going to this cute, airy local place. You order at the counter, but there is an extensive menu. I've been there about 4 times and have enjoyed the salads and sandwiches each time. Very good potato salad! If you are there when they have cannolis, get one - they are delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place with good food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice relaxing place with good food. Rather small restaurant with friendly helpful staff. The owner came by and talked with us. The food had seasonal local vegetables, etc. The place itself is tastefully decorated. A good value. I believe it is BYOB but not positive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpack1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's at Walden also viewed

 
Mechanicsburg, PA
 

Been to Sophia's at Walden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing