We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem, worthy of comparison to New York and Los Angeles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophia's at Walden

Sophia's at Walden
Ranked #7 of 181 Restaurants in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A Gem, worthy of comparison to New York and Los Angeles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I spent a great deal of my working life in Los Angeles and New York, and have had many fine meals in top restaurants. Now that I'm in Central Pa. more often, I have found a wonderful little gem of a dining place called Sophia's at Walden. The meatloaf is exceptional. She uses a combination of pork, veal and beef, with a hint of gorgonzola, topped with a wonderful sauce. It is worth the trip just for that.

The other dishes, which range from vegetarian to chicken to fish (often prepared in wonderful and unique ways as daily specials) are all good and flavorful. The ingredients are fresh, the sauces
complimentary, and the salads and vegetables always appear to be fresh from the garden.

The restaurant decor is soothing, as well as fun, and the servers are friendly, bright and interesting. Sophia has an exceptionally good eye for staff.

I recommend it highly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    21
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Music night July 10th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were fortunate to attend the first music night at Sophia's at Walden on July 10th. It was a delightful event in a great atmosphere. We have dined at Sophia's many times and have found both the servers and meals to be outstanding. Sophia and her staff have earned a reputation for great service and food----first at Sophia's on Market and now the tradition continues at Sophia's at Walden! Restaurants are everywhere, "a dine a dozen" you might say. Really good ones however, are hard to find. This is one of the best and most relaxing. Don't miss it, you will love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cool atmosphere Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I invited two friends to join us for dinner and music last Wednesday night for Walden Wednesdays at Sophia's.
Food was GREAT....the meatloaf is awesome...scallops incredible. Service was superb as well! Keep it up Sophia's and we will keep coming back every Wednesday!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renerunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Group”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A little difficult to find, but a treasure when located. Dinner with a group of about fifteen people. Everyone loved the food and the attention provided by the servers. The owner even made her presence known. An outside patio area is great if the weather is good. Looking forward to eating there with the wife.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just had dinner there tonight and it was excellent. Pleasant outdoor seating, really good food, and attentive waitstaff. We had the catfish and the upscale meatloaf, and both were outstanding. Everything was very fresh and well seasoned. The panna cotta dessert was to die for. The ambiance of the development itself is a little strange... it's very new, still under construction and very urban looking, but it's located in a rural area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Herpasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's at Walden also viewed

 

Been to Sophia's at Walden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing