We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

T. J. Rockwell's American Grill & Tavern
Ranked #7 of 186 Restaurants in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Food was wonderful! Lots of variety to choose from, and the service was good. We ate outside both times we visited, and it was pleasant. However, the first time we ate there, we were surprised that smoking was permitted in the outdoor area, and occasionally smoke would drift across our table. All in all, a great place to eat and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    49
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome onion rings”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a weeknight business meeting and we sat for two hours to talk and do business. Great onion rings and a Buffalo Chicken Sandwich.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good But Not Spectacular”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had lunch here after getting yard goods. We arrived early and we're promptly greeted and seated. The server was very attentive and good at her job. She had the knack of arriving in time to take orders, refills for drinks, check on how things were and get us the bill.

The food is your basic pub grub. I had the Pretzel Sandwich with beef and provolone and the bride had a burger w/hickory sauce. We each elected the Homestyle FF. The Pretzel Sandwich was tasty but the beef was a bit over done and the wife said the burger was quite good. The FF were a mixed bag. They were not fresh and had a bit of seasoning which wasn't appealing to us. The portions were decent size and not overpriced.

We will stop here again (this wasn't our first visit) but not as frequently as we do other places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jerryk1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Solid local fare with a creative flare”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Good place for a simple dinner or lunch. There are some creative items on the menu, but its all basically pub food with a twist (not a bad thing). I've eaten here a few times and its always busy. It's clean and staff are friendly. It's a nice local go-to place for solid local fare with a creative flare.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Good Deal”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ate @ Tj rockwells in Mechanicsburg. 3 of us ate and drank = $55.00. Everyone Loved what they had. I had STEAK & PASTA ROMANO = The Creamy Alfredo Sauce was off the Charts!!! SIX THUMBS UP!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellybuster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. J. Rockwell's American Grill & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to T. J. Rockwell's American Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing