We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; great atmosphere”

T. J. Rockwell's American Grill & Tavern
Ranked #7 of 186 Restaurants in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gettysburg,PA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food; great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stopped by for a visit and were really pleased with the experience. The service is friendly & attentive, and the food was great. We had two children and were really impressed at how family friendly the restaurant is. The staff and design were balanced to provide a bar buffet for happy hour that never seemed to overwhelm the dining area. Trust me, you will be delighted with the variety of beers on draft. Prices seemed just about right for a casual dining/pub type restaurant. Don't miss the mini-sundaes, priced incredibly low and a delicious finish to your meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fairville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    63
    49
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great patio seating in summer”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

good food and drink. I didn't think I was going to like this place but was pleasantly surprised. A very nice summery atmosphere, Jacqueline, our waitress, was excellent, and the food is notable in the portion size. You definitely will not leave hungry. I had the pork sliders (good) with fries (the best around). My partner had the Santa Fe quesadilla (awesome!). They also serve beer and wine. This place is right across the street from Ashcombe Nursery (it was nice to walk over and look around at all the beautiful flowers). We will certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank familyjoool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

We love TJ Rockwells...fantastic food. Never had a bad meal. Always leave with leftovers. Appetizer we recommend is the Rhino tour its a sample of 5 different appetizers WONDERFUL.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thumma4106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pricey for bar style food.”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We live very close to TJ's so we frequent there about once or twice every 2-3 months. The food choices are typical of a bar and grill, but a little pricey considering it's not fancy. (ex: $14 for chicken stir fry)

Buffalo Chicken Dip: probably the worst I have ever tasted. Crumbles of bleu cheese throughout. It's bitter and has no spice at all.

Chicken stir fry: The chicken was very good but you are overloaded with rice. It would have been nice to have more chicken considering the price.

Pulled pork: delicious!! Just the right amount of flavors/sauce.

Chicken tortellini salad: My absolute favorite. It's very hit and miss though, sometimes you get tons of chicken and tortellini, other times hardly any chicken.

Nittany lion salad: salad covered with fries and chicken or steak. The steak is always gummy and hard to chew, but the chicken is great.

Overall it's a good restaurant. Bring a jacket though, cause its always cold. The outside dining area is ugly with wobbly tables, but worth the fresh air.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine for a sure thing restaurant. Could get a small amount and not schlep it back to the B&B or waste it be leaving it.”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Did not like the bikers, or the noise from the nearby race track. Very popular place though. Our food was fine, and service was, too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsup605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T. J. Rockwell's American Grill & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to T. J. Rockwell's American Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing