We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Crossroads B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Crossroads B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast building is more than 200 years old...from tavern to train station to a private home. The structure is original, with the interior carefully maintained and restored where needed. Wonderful owners and hosts with great breakfast, thoughtful snacks to carry along and luxurious rooms. We loved the location, convenient to Amish country, Hershey and the exquisite State Capitol.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marygreen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    17
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
74
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walworth, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

On our way home from a week long vacation in VA, we wanted to retrace my husband's great great grandfather's steps through the battlefields of Gettysburg. Before making our trek for home, we chose to stay at Ed and Barb's bed and breakfast in Mechanicsburg, PA. What a treat! The home, built in 1790 and loaded with history and antiques was a veritable smorgasbord for two antique and history lovers. The house has been lovingly maintained and appropriately decorated for the style and period of the building. We could not think of a thing that Ed and Betty neglected for the comfort of their guests: soft, cozy robes in the large antique cupboard in our bedroom, a flashlight hung by our door, a stool to aid getting into the enormous antique bed, a small desk with a lamp, free internet, a fireplace for extra warmth, ceiling fan and central air, chocolates on the dresser, wonderful herbal bath salts, soap, etc., a wonderful whirlpool tub and shower, a loose leaf binder containing a list of restaurants in the area (AND driving directions upon request) television stations available for the flat screen television mounted on part of the exposed stone wall), and on and on and on. The breakfast was not only delicious and perfectly cooked but a healthy alternative to many typical breakfast fare. We are hoping to visit again very soon! Thanks to Ed and Barb for one of the highlights of our vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redapplesanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 5 nights here and are so glad that we did. We've stayed in many B&B's over the years and have learned to separate the adequate from the well-done. Colonial Crossroads was definitely a well-done experience. Ed and Barbara have created a welcoming atmosphere in a historic 220 year old building. Barbara gladly shared its history with us and answered numerous questions about the antiques and collections. She recommended several options for things to do, including ideas that we hadn't considered but that turned out to be perfect for us. The location is ideal for day trips to Gettysburg, Lancaster County, Hershey and other attractions and offers many possibilities for visiting local crafts and antiques shops. The B&B is immaculate and breakfast was wonderful. We stayed in the Pennsylvania Room, and although the bathroom was a short walk across the hall, it was large, only used by us and was easily accessible. We can't say enough good things about our Colonial Crossroads experience and will definitely return there when next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this B & B and its gracious hosts and 'Flash'. Rooms and bathroom were spacious and very clean and Ed & Barb were friendly and gave us lots of history about the house. This is obviously a labour of love.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Barb and Ed were the perfect innkeepers with a wonderful tavern and superb breakfasts! We stayed an extra night so that we could take advantage of the kayaking on the nearby Yellow Breeches Creek, which is offered by the B&B. Our room and attached bathroom were delightful, with all the amenities we could have asked for. The services provided by Barb and Ed were exceptional! We hope to make a return trip in the future.
We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Lancaster Room looked a bit larger, and seemed a bit cooler than ours, yet we still loved our Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dotty y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stopped here on our way east. The Innkeepers are living their dream with this B&B and have done everything right. The history of the building is quite interesting and the Innkeepers have provided lots of information about the structure. The building has been remodeled keeping the integrity of the late 1700's structure. We highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I took my wife and our four small children to Colonial Crossroads and had a delightful time...the rooms were a perfect blend of colonial charm and modern convenience and the owners were kind and helpful. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
2.8 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
2.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Crossroads B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Crossroads B&B

Property: Colonial Crossroads B&B
Address: 2600 S Market St, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-6066
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Crossroads Bed and Breakfast is located in Mechanicsburg, PA in a building built circa 1790 as a tavern at the crossroads of two busy early roads. It offers three rooms with private bathrooms that have wide plank floors, fireplaces and many antiques, and yet, have all the modern amenities, including whirlpool baths/large shower with seat, flat screen cable televisions and central ac. Breakfasts are served in a dining room with a walkin fireplace and a guillotine corner hutch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Crossroads B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing