We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
11
18
11
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
18
11
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable beddingbring earplugscontinental breakfastone night stayfridge and microwaveair conditionersdhighwayclerk
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 59 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Econo Lodge. Expect no more. Good location on the way to Harrisburg. Breakfast is rather poor, rooms are ok but not very tidy. Biggest downturn is the annoying heater/airconditioning unit which is noisy and clumsy.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redrat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Dear Travelers: Please note that the reviews that are so negative from 2006 NO LONGER APPLY! The owners have upgraded this hotel so much, it is quite lovely for the money nowdays. In fact, if you are traveling to very nearby Messiah College or even to D.T. Harrisburg, it is not far at all. The rooms are now quite modern, except perhaps the somewhat noisy fan in the bathroom, which we do not mind. The price to stay there if you are related in anyway with Messiah College is a wonderful savings. I must add that the price per night listed on many travel sites is significantly higher than when we just call the hotel directly! The owners are very sweet and helpful, and even the free breakfast has been upgraded. One other nice thing is that your car is quite secure, because the hotel is at the end of a nice quiet road parallel to the highway. That means that no one even bothers to come to the end of the lane unless they are also staying at the Econolodge. With a large mini-fridge, coffeemaker, etc., you just cannot beat the price anywhere in that locale for the number of amenities that are offered.
Nope, it's not the Taj Mahal, but is well worth your while to check out the Econolodge in Mechanicsburg if you are on a budget but
want a NICE, clean place near shopping malls, B.J.s and a lovely Cracker Barrel restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends, because it simply is MUCH NICER NOW than what the outdated reviews state. That is why we stayed there in Jan. and have already booked two more nights for March, 2009! In fact, I bet we stay there quite happily at least 8+ nights a year! Joyce and Bob Stotts, Newark, NY

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank agapegrl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Did Not Like It At ALL
The rooms were flithy the "free breakfast" was stale donuts and coffee not much else. Went there for a overnight getaway from the kids and would never stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Middletown, NY
12
Reviewed May 22, 2006

Believe it or not, I have stayed in some pretty nice Econo Lodges. This isn't one of them. I booked two rooms for two nights. One of the room's toilet overflowed in the middle of the night. This was fixed the next day, but they must have left the door open while fixing because there were a bunch of flies in the room when we returned.

The carpets are way past their usable lifespan and quite worn in spots. Both rooms had an odd smell. Kind of like a urinal cake, but not exactly. We got used to it after a few minutes, but if you slept in a public restroom you might get used to that too.

While the bathrooms were generally clean, they were far from sparkling. The tiles are pink and black and look unchanged since the 1950s or so. The tub is a very small size, but I wouldn't ever think of taking a bath here (or any hotel). The shower had good pressure and the hot water was plentiful. The shower curtain had a bad smell and seemed slightly stained. You are only provided with a couple bars of hand soap, no shampoo (not uncommon for Econo Lodge).

The room door is very gappy and lets lots of noise in from the busy highway outside. Both rooms were outfitted with all different items. The TV, refrigerator, phone, alarm clock, etc. were all different. I found that odd, but indicative of operating a hotel for a long time without a renovation. Both room's TVs had an annoying high-pitched whining that went away after a few minutes of being turned on. The remote controls for the TVs were absolutely filthy.

I wouldn't stay here again, but I can't say the hotel did me any harm. It was cheap and I was able to sleep fine. They did fix the toilet in a prompt manner...

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Belmont
13
Reviewed August 11, 2005

Hotel itself was clean, but the beds were sooooooooo uncomfortable it felt like you were sleeping in the bed of a truck and the pillows were horrible,did not enjoy my stay good thing i wasnt there long....
Wouldnt recommend unless you love sleeping on the floor!

Stayed: August 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews