We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrisburg Daystop(Grantville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
115
85
26
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
85
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon bunsfront deskcheese omeletshotel lobbyindoor poolbreakfast barnewer hotelfitness roomsitting areavisit familyrooms were very cleangreat place to staystaff was friendlycomfortable staywould definitely stay here againbusiness tripfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 234 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a quick business trip & found the hotel to be quite nice.....my only complaint was that the hotel could have been a bit cleaner. Maybe it's old....I'm not sure.....but the carpet in our room was a little seedy & the floors were not real clean. On the other hand, locally we visited a Giant Supermarket which I am quite sure was not new; however, it was spotless! The floors looked brand new and it was a pleasure to shop there. My point is, if you get the right cleaning people, I believe you can keep any place immaculate! There were a couple of beer bottles on the grounds and they weren't picked up until later the following day. You get the idea. Overall, though, it was a nice hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms were a nice size....the bed was comfortable -- they could have had more "amenities." The exercise room was better than expected -- nice treadmills but no weights
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Linnie D,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased you mentioned you found our hotel nice. We are very proud of our level of service, cleanliness and quality of our product. However, it is a disappointment that we were not able to deliver on the cleanliness of the room as well as some aspects of the surrounding areas. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was a bit surprised to read the other reviews for this hotel, as our weekend experience was a bit disappointing. We enjoyed our large suite room, but expected to have a sleeper sofa. Fortunately at the last minute one of our teens couldn't join us, so it worked out, but we did expect to have 2 double beds and a sleeper sofa.

The hotel is located is located at the entrance to an office park, so at least on weekends, there are quiet roads and some places where you can walk/run on grassy path. The front desk staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The indoor pool is small, so on a busy weekend with families, you may not find the pool relaxing.

We stayed on an upper floor and found the wireless signal to be weak and inconsistent. I tried using the business center to do some email checking for volunteer work and had issues with access.

The morning breakfast was disappointing, and again, perhaps it was a busy weekend, but the kitchen was struggling to supply the guests. Silverware was not kept stocked and while weekend breakfast was to be served until 10am, anyone arriving after 9am would have found limited selection. We arrived around 9 am but was not able to enjoy the typical Holiday Inn Express faire for breakfast. I do look forward to the cinnamon buns at Holiday Inns and when I asked if more would be coming out at 9:15 am, the answer was "no." The pancake maker was either broken or just covered up and not available for use.

So perhaps this was just a weekend where the staff was overwhelmed, but we did not have the same pleasant experience as the other reviewers. My spirits picked up from my cinnamon bun disappointment as we headed off to King's Gap Environmental Center, about 20 minutes away, which I recommend if in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear FernePa,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express and Suites around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our friendly staff, and our clean and comfortable rooms.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on breakfast and the business center. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very helpful staff to get me in after a long day on the road. Rooms well done, beds comfortable. Breakfast staff did a great job. Heavy rain when we arrived so they let us park underground. Kids loved the pool. No real complaints, a good value compared to the other rooms that we looked at on line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and our staff. We are working even now to take our guest services to the next level. We appreciate that you took time to rate our hotel and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsburg Harrisburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a gem, stumbled across while driving home from vacation.

Room - HUGE
so much room for 2 adults and 2 teens to move around.

STAFF - Bang on friendly

BEDS - Comfortable and with good pillows.

AC = quiet and working like a charm.

BATHROOM - Spotless and Clean.

If you are in need of a hotel in this area, do not hesitate - this place will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, especially of our housekeeping services. We strive for a perfect stay for every guest every time. The new bedding package that Holiday Inn uses has taken cleanliness to new levels and we deep clean our rooms on a regular basis. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsburg Harrisburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently spent a week in the Harrisburg area, and stayed at this hotel for the first, but definitely not the last time. The location is really convenient to the highway,and the rate we found was amazing for anything anywhere within driving distance of Hershey Park. We paid the same amount that we paid for a tiny room in another hotel just down the road from this one. We had a really large, clean room with a king size bed, fridge, microwave and hot breakfast. We found it to be extremely quiet, even though the hotel was full for most of our stay. The housekeeping staff was very competent, the desk staff, professional and courteous. We were quite surprised at the variety and quality of the breakfast. There were two kinds of eggs, scrambled and little cheese omelets, ham, sausages, pancakes one day, bisquits and gravy another day, fruit, yogurts and the other usual choices, as well. They change it up, so each day was a bit different. The library off the lobby is a nice touch, and there is a clean workout room and a small, indoor pool. Overall, good value at a great rate! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrex36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the beautiful comments you shared about our hotel. We do strive for excellence and we're sure glad that you experienced that on your stay. We always work to move to the next level, but if there is ever an area that you encounter difficulty, please let us know. We have staff available 24 hours to take care of almost any need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews