We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a quick business trip & found the hotel to be quite nice.....my only complaint was that the hotel could have been a bit cleaner. Maybe it's old....I'm not sure.....but the carpet in our room was a little seedy & the floors were not real clean. On the other hand, locally we visited a Giant Supermarket which I am quite sure was not new; however, it was spotless! The floors looked brand new and it was a pleasure to shop there. My point is, if you get the right cleaning people, I believe you can keep any place immaculate! There were a couple of beer bottles on the grounds and they weren't picked up until later the following day. You get the idea. Overall, though, it was a nice hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms were a nice size....the bed was comfortable -- they could have had more "amenities.&q...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Linnie D,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased you mentioned you found our hotel nice. We are very proud of our level of service, cleanliness and quality of our product. However, it is a disappointment that we were not able to deliver on the cleanliness of the room as well as some aspects of the surrounding areas. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was a bit surprised to read the other reviews for this hotel, as our weekend experience was a bit disappointing. We enjoyed our large suite room, but expected to have a sleeper sofa. Fortunately at the last minute one of our teens couldn't join us, so it worked out, but we did expect to have 2 double beds and a sleeper sofa.

The hotel is located is located at the entrance to an office park, so at least on weekends, there are quiet roads and some places where you can walk/run on grassy path. The front desk staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The indoor pool is small, so on a busy weekend with families, you may not find the pool relaxing.

We stayed on an upper floor and found the wireless signal to be weak and inconsistent. I tried using the business center to do some email checking for volunteer work and had issues with access.

The morning breakfast was disappointing, and again, perhaps it was a busy weekend, but the kitchen was struggling to supply the guests. Silverware was not kept stocked and while weekend breakfast was to be served until 10am, anyone arriving after 9am would have found limited selection. We arrived around 9 am but was not able to enjoy the typical Holiday Inn Express faire for breakfast. I do look forward to the cinnamon buns at Holiday Inns and when I asked if more would be coming out at 9:15 am, the answer was "no." The pancake maker was either broken or just covered up and not available for use.

So perhaps this was just a weekend where the staff was overwhelmed, but we did not have the same pleasant experience as the other reviewers. My spirits picked up from my cinnamon bun disappointment as we headed off to King's Gap Environmental Center, about 20 minutes away, which I recommend if in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FernePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear FernePa,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express and Suites around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our friendly staff, and our clean and comfortable rooms.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on breakfast and the business center. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very helpful staff to get me in after a long day on the road. Rooms well done, beds comfortable. Breakfast staff did a great job. Heavy rain when we arrived so they let us park underground. Kids loved the pool. No real complaints, a good value compared to the other rooms that we looked at on line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and our staff. We are working even now to take our guest services to the next level. We appreciate that you took time to rate our hotel and look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsburg Harrisburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

What a gem, stumbled across while driving home from vacation.

Room - HUGE
so much room for 2 adults and 2 teens to move around.

STAFF - Bang on friendly

BEDS - Comfortable and with good pillows.

AC = quiet and working like a charm.

BATHROOM - Spotless and Clean.

If you are in need of a hotel in this area, do not hesitate - this place will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, especially of our housekeeping services. We strive for a perfect stay for every guest every time. The new bedding package that Holiday Inn uses has taken cleanliness to new levels and we deep clean our rooms on a regular basis. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the greater Mechanicsburg Harrisburg area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently spent a week in the Harrisburg area, and stayed at this hotel for the first, but definitely not the last time. The location is really convenient to the highway,and the rate we found was amazing for anything anywhere within driving distance of Hershey Park. We paid the same amount that we paid for a tiny room in another hotel just down the road from this one. We had a really large, clean room with a king size bed, fridge, microwave and hot breakfast. We found it to be extremely quiet, even though the hotel was full for most of our stay. The housekeeping staff was very competent, the desk staff, professional and courteous. We were quite surprised at the variety and quality of the breakfast. There were two kinds of eggs, scrambled and little cheese omelets, ham, sausages, pancakes one day, bisquits and gravy another day, fruit, yogurts and the other usual choices, as well. They change it up, so each day was a bit different. The library off the lobby is a nice touch, and there is a clean workout room and a small, indoor pool. Overall, good value at a great rate! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debrex36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the beautiful comments you shared about our hotel. We do strive for excellence and we're sure glad that you experienced that on your stay. We always work to move to the next level, but if there is ever an area that you encounter difficulty, please let us know. We have staff available 24 hours to take care of almost any need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

There was nothing really wrong withthis hotel. We decided to stay one more night on our way home from Virginia. We decided to try using coupon book. The guy honored coupon so that was a win. Hotel was modern and clean but had a weird vibe. Going we stayed at Holiday In the Express Chambersburg and it was much better. Little things like no soap dish, to a broken alarm clock that was 3a hours off and you couldn't fix it. AC Unit right next to bed I mean if you step out of bed the wrong way you hit it.

Breakfast was disappointing. Cold eggs and items not being replenished.

For the coupon price it was fine, if I paid full price I would have felt I didn't get a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allycat1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were sorry to hear that your recent stay was not enjoyable. Our hotel has many features not often found in newer hotels such as a library and an underground parking garage as well as a multi story atrium lobby with multiple chandeliers. Most limited service hotels at this level do not host those features, so perhaps that caused the different vibe that you described. You did note several concerning service issues and your comments will be shared with the respective department managers for improvement. We hope you will give us a second try and look forward to serving you if you are in the area again. Thank you for providing us this feedback to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I researched this property before I stayed here and the reviews did not live up to the hype. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice, clean facility but most likely one that I will not stay at again. The walls were very thin and I was able to hear every phone conversation throughout the night from the guest in the room next to me. The air conditioner was mounted in the wall about 7 feet off of the floor and kept making random buzzing sounds throughout the night when turned on. Being as tired as I was, it wasn't worth the hassle of requesting to be moved to another room. Not that this is a big issue for me but I was not recognized for my platinum status and didn't feel overly welcomed when checking in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear TripC85,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club member and for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am delighted you found our hotel nice and clean. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with your room accommodation as well as the air conditioner and the poor service you received during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
5.7 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West

Address: 2055 Technology Pkwy, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050-9403 (Formerly Comfort Suites Mechanicsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $110 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Harrisburg West
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing