We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but stay off the 4th Floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine but stay off the 4th Floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We checked in here for a 1 night stay in route from PA to Va in October 2013. Desk clerk was pleasant but when we checked into our 4th floor room, the smell of stale smoke was horrible, even though it was a non-smoking room. The longer we stayed, the worse it got, so we went down to the desk and complained. The desk clerk informed us that there were a "few" smoking rooms on the ends of the 4th floor. The whole floor reeked of smoke and we noticed it the minute we got off the elevator. He was very accommodating and moved us to the 2nd floor, which was totally fine..no smoke smell at all. Bed was comfortable and the room was very nice and clean. My only other complaint was that the remote control did not work very well and the TV was sub-par. Stay here but ask for a lower floor.

Room Tip: Request 1st or 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Billinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInn C, General Manager at Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time in letting us know any issues during your stay. We try to meet any and all guest requests but once in a while a situation like this will pop up. And I think we are one of the few hotels in the area that have a couple of smoking rooms left and yes they are on the 4th floor. We have made a few changes to that floor since your stay and coming from me, an ex-smoker, the 4th floor smells a lot better since I started here in mid April. Again I thank you and I hope to see you again in the future. Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    81
    28
    5
    11
See reviews for
75
67
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Jersey Shore in late August. Paid a total of 107.00 for the room. The hotel is dated. It is in desperate need of an upgrade and remodel. When walking in the front there are benches and chairs for people to sit in. There were 7 or 8 men sitting around eating drinking beer and talking. It was very very uncomfortable walking in between everyone. If I was alone I would have cared less but my wife and daughter were extremely uncomfortable with the situation. I did mention this to the manager "Rick" and he said he was considering rfemoving the chairs. That would be a good idea. I stay at comfort inns almost weekly on business trips. You really never know what you are going to get but in this case its average and the price is to high for the quality of the establishment. On an upside the staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this Comfort Inn while we were at the Corvettes at Carlisle. The room was clean and kept nice. We had a mini suite so it was roomy enough. The only thing that could've been improved was where the TV was located. There should be another one that could be seen from the bed. The breakfast that was included was very good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24Cindy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visit once a year to visit with my son and his family. This was our first, AND LAST, time staying at this hotel! We arrived and went to check in and found the attendants to be abrupt and rude. We then went to our room to find the air conditioner not working. Because the cover to the air conditioner was half off my husband went to put it on properly when he discovered the 2 filters were so black and loaded with debris that we assumed this was the reason for it not working. He removed the filters and took them to the tub to wash them which resulted in a black tub which we then had to clean. Alas, our air conditioner worked fine from that point on.
We did not find the people friendly, helpful or courteous.
I agree with impalacon that there is no comfortable place to sit in our room.
During our last 2 days there we had NO maid service. When inquiring why we had no clean towels or trash emptied; the clerk told us that we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. This is true; however, it had been removed at 9am. It had been put on the door because the previous day they knocked on our door at 8:30am and we were not quite ready to be out of the room that early. We emptied our own trash and had to go to the front desk to get clean towels.
This was our first experience with a hotel that was that incompetent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoadesville, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights during Corvettes at Carlisle. Naturally we paid more than normal because of the car event. This property is older but well maintained. The only complaint I might have is that there was really no comfortable place to sit in our 2 queen room. There was a small table with two chairs. We would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impalacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good stay, we had a non-smoking room on the 4th floor, the had the stale smell of smoke each time you enter in the room, Only if you run the AC could you keep the air clear. (noticed someone else has the some issue, in a recent post) But would stay here again, just make sure my room was what it should be.. (but I could have seen if they would move us, but my bad, I didn't do that; so I stay where I stayed).
Staff was very nice. The guy doing breakfast was very attentive to his job, keeping everything nice and neat.
We stay for two night, overall the hotel was great. Our bed was comfortable, room was clean. fresh towels, very good breakfast. AC was cold, the shower had great water pressure, only thing we couldn't get our shower to adjust to a normal shower setting, it stayed massage setting all the time. Felt good if you back way sore..
We would stay here again,if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a non- nonsmoking room, The 4th floor much be the smoking room.. Don't take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginasee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivon, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

All OK, but avoid 4th floor: it is the smoking floor and even though there are some non-smoking rooms on it, strong smell linger in these rooms.
Another drawback: no possibility to open windows to ventilate: fan or a/c has to always stay on.

Otherwise, only praises for services, welcome and staff.
Breakfast quality is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor: it is the "smoking" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South

Property: Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Address: 1012 Wesley Drive, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055 (Formerly Comfort Inn Capital City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg
Capital City Comfort Inn
Mechanicsburg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing