We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Tastefully Decorated and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Made reservations at this hotel based on tripadvisor.com. Entered the hotel and was greeted by the desk manager. The lobby is wonderfully decorated with muted colors and textures. A gas fireplace also adorns the lobby. A black countertop with crystals is a great touch and brought the whole area together.

Check-in was quick and efficient. I arrived at my room, found the room to be exceptionally clean. Inspection of the bed showed clean, crisp, freshly laundered sheets and the bed cover also had a nice, clean fragrance. A flat screen LED television is in the room with many HD channel selections. The refrigerator and microwave were clean and in proper working order. The couch was clean and comfortable.

The room had a nice desk/work area with a comfortable chair. The Wi-Fi was adequate, dsl speeds of around 4.83.

The bathroom was clean and the wooden shelving was a nice touch. The HVAC was controlled by a wall mounted thermostat and very, very quiet.

Due to time constraints I was unable to try the breakfast.

Would I recommend...definitely. Will I stay again...absolutely.

Total cost for a Thursday night, with all applicable taxes included was $121.65. This hotel is clearly one of the better Hampton Inns and well managed. Easy access to Rt 15. A deli is attached to the property. Only 1 restaurant within walking distance but many excellent selections within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muskywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 715 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

Real nice surprise--room was very nice, clean, bed was pretty plush. Room had a couch which is always a plus. Nice lobby, decent breakfast service in the morning, a work area for doing business-related tasks, plus a little store right near the front desk for essentials and snacks. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCityTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This might be the finest Hampton Inn I have very stayed at and is superb by any measure

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlanticBoomerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel. I was pleased to read your high ratings. We have recently renovated our Lobby, Breakfast Area and Fitness Center and Rooms. The result is a fresh, beautiful new look.

From our team we thank you. Your comments, suggestions are always appreciated.
Laura Goyette GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stop in Harrisburg quite often, but had never tried this particular Hampton Inn. We won't make that mistake again! We thought it was great. Rooms were typical Hampton Inn, very clean and well done.

The front desk staff wasn't the friendliness I've ever seen, but really our interaction with them was limited. They did have Chili and chips out at 5PM for all the guests!

There's a restaurant right next door, I think it's a local chain, called Isaacs. It's connected to the hotel by a covered (though not enclosed) walkway. there's a 15% discount for Hampton Inn guests. We liked it, very good sandwiches and my husband loved the soup.

The title says it all, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv-to-travel-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Very clean, very friendly, great breakfast, nice and quiet rooms. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

It was an easy choice as we have stayed at Hampton Inns previously and the service and quality has been consistent nationwide.
It is conveniently located to what we needed/wanted to do. Having breakfast available starts the day just right, plus fruit, coffee and tea are available during the day, plus cookies at night. The staff is very friendly and accommodating as well. The rooms are clean, the bedding is comfy, plus we had a small fridge and microwave in the room. It is also a positive to have free internet access in the lobby.
We noticed an outdoor pool and a gym, neither of whch were used.
We would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdaMaeSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Very dog friendly and reasonable pet fee ($15/stay) made this hotel one of our best stays. Large CLEAN grassy areas were well lit for night time doggie duty (evidently the guests who stay here with pets are very conscientious about cleaning up after their pets). Room is impeccably clean, everything looks new and unused, staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is GREAT! Cookies and chicken soup when we checked in on a Friday evening. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $105 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing