We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding stop for family with dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
“Outstanding stop for family with dog”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We have been fans of various Hampton Inns throughout the country; our kids, 4 and 7, are thrilled with their quality breakfasts and we enjoy their general cleanliness. This Hampton Inn distinguishes itself, however -- the room was spotless and very well maintained, the hallways and public areas were clean, and the breakfast section was spotless. Staff seems quite civil as well.

For this trip we were obliged to travel with our dog, a 65lb shepherd mutt. We weren't relegated to a miserable "dog only" room, and the front desk clerk even gave our dog a treat upon arriving. This is a good establishment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank museumdork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    155
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
215
122
36
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stayed at the Hampton Inn after reading the reviews and wanting a hotel with an outdoor pool. I could not have picked a better hotel. It's hard to describe the warm feeling upon entering this hotel. It simply had that feeling of a home away from home. The lobby was welcoming and the staff was friendly. I received a Hershey bar upon arrival along with a thank you note. The room was extremely spacious. There was a sofa, a side chair with an ottoman, a round table with upholstered chairs, a flat screened television and a king sized bed and still plenty of walk around space. The pool area was lovely. In the evening there is soup and other light foods in the lobby along with wine. The breakfast was the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen at a hotel. I typically stay at Marriott's because we have a member's card and want the points, but I haven't stayed at a Marriott that compared to the overall experience that this Hampton Inn offered. I never book a hotel without first reading reviews. I believe by writing an honest review, I'm paying it forward. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments on your most recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for the wonderful review you gave us. Your comments mean a lot to us and we really appreciate it when a guest takes the time to fill one out. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and if there's anything else we can do for you, please let us know. Again, thank you for your kindness and generosity. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely, Laura Goyette,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
267 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We thought this was a new hotel but according to some of the reviews, it has be renovated. Whatever, it looks new. Everything is in good repair; nice firm sofa to sit on. I am beginning to hate pillow-top mattresses that you have to pole vault into though. Just back from Europe where I find their firm mattresses much more comfortable. This was one of Hampton's smaller rooms, especially the bathroom. Once you put suitcases on both tables, there wasn't room for anything else. The desk is small and the fan blows directly on it. However, the lounge area is very inviting; the staff were very helpful with restuarant suggestions and they had lots of cookies available. The hotel is very handy to Hwy #15. Didn't see any signs of construction, so assume that's done.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This Hampton is very comfortable for the business traveler. I enjoyed the great king size bed with nice linens, comfy pillows and comforter, as well as the sofa, table, wireless internet connection, microwave and fridge in the room. The room was also equipped with a nice desk and chair, wardrobe with iron and ironing board and plenty of drawer space. I also like the fact that they have a Snack Suite in the lobby, where you can buy a quick meal or snack, and they also offer hot soup and cookies in the lobby in the late afternoon/evening.

I would definitely stay here again if traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mderabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Very nice Hampton Inn. In particular, the hotel has a very comfortable lobby/ breakfast/hangout area with a nice TV, counches, bar area and tables/chairs. Nicely decorated. They allow you to bring your own drinks and hang out. They have two computers connected to the internet in the lobby area AND even have some magazines and books to borrow. Breakfast was amazing -- eggs, biscuits, cereal, fresh fruit. Rooms were clean. Small but nice outdoor pool. Rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges and coffee makers. This is a very nice and comfortable Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mskrisanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The signage could be better, but once I found it, I loved it.

The lobby is gorgeous. Free soup, cookies, cake in the evening. Nice breakfast. Isaac's Deli is a few steps from hotel, with great sandwiches and salads.

It's obvious the guest rooms are "older", but I'm sure Hampton will be upgrading them little by little. Front desk very attentive. I felt safe.

Very convenient to PA Turnpike and Route 15.

  • Liked — location and lobby
  • Disliked — Noisy AC
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MadgeOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The staff was very friendly, the room was nice and clean, they had signs up that they were doing remodeling, but I didn't see anything, except the one of the elevators was not working one night. Also tried the deli next door (Isaac's?) food was very good. Hampton had a nice breakfast, 3 treadmills in the work out room, so no wait, and there were a lot of little nice things like hairspray in the lobby bathroom, soup and cookies in the evening, and a pretty-ish pool area, though I didn't use it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank towntotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
8.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing