We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, LOUD ACs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just a 1-night stopover at this hotel. The staff we encountered at the front desk was very friendly and check in was quick and easy. The only issue I had with this hotel was that the AC unit was quite loud. It ran constantly and when the compressor kicked in, it seemed to get even louder with sloshing noise and volume. It wound up waking me up throughout the night, but turning it off would have made the room a little too hot.

Breakfast was a standard "Free" breakfast of scrambled egg balls (the only way I could describe them), ham patty, cereals, waffles, breads/doughnuts, yogurt and juices/coffee. I honestly didn't expect any more for free and is what I've seen at most other hotels offering free breakfasts (I guess bacon is too much to ask for free).

Overall the hotel was a decent stay, quality is what is expected of Hampton Inns, beds were comfortable as was the room (with the exception of the AC). Bathroom was a little small, but designed/laid-out appropriately.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 715 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had no trouble checking in - our room was ready, at a comfortable temperature, clean and fresh-smelling. We stayed 2 nights. Breakfast each morning was well-prepared, with great variety, and well-stocked, as well as delicious. Checking out was a snap and we were on our way without delay. We always stay at Hampton Inns and this one was no disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was very clean, quiet, and over all very nice. But, when I arrived at 1;30am very tired and with a baby the room I had reserved was no longer available! I had to take a room that was really a conference room with an extremely small bedroom off of it. I reserved a room with two queen beds and had to take this weird room with only one bed. Plus I was only offered a very small discount for their mistake!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry about your room type being different than you requested. Our guests' comfort is of the highest importance to us. Please contact me directly to discuss your issue. I can be reached at 717-691-1300. Our goal is always to improve and ensure every guest is 100% happy with there stay.

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is excellent in the area of accommodations, cleaniness, food service and security. The doors are locked after a certain time and only accessible with hotel key. The morning meal was hot, variety of choices and cook very well, tasty. The hotel was clean, rooms and linen were fresh. The overall condition of the hotel I would give it an A. The staff makes you feel at home and not a number.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Camilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had accidentally put the wrong address for Hampton Inn in my GPS (the one in Harrisburg), but thank goodness it was just a mistake!

The girl at the front desk was very unfriendly and was very rude in telling me I didn't have a reservation. She then proceeded to tell me I had the wrong hotel that I needed the one "across the river."

When I finally made it to the right spot we were greeted with a very warm welcome and had a wonderful stay. Room was very clean and had a nice view of the pool and patio area. Wonderfully full and delicious breakfast selection. We brought our pup and she was welcomed with open arms too :) thanks so much for the great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuttybuggys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had an all-around great experience. Staff very helpful and the hotel had a nice fresh smell! The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Had an all-around great experience. Staff very helpful and the hotel had a nice fresh smell! The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

nice hotel, clean, neat and friendly and as long as you are an early riser you won't mind the early morning rap at your door for housekeeping. if not make sure to put the "please do not disturb" sign out on your door. the complimentary breakfast was perfect as well as the gathering room for the guests. We also used the gas grill that was made available to the guests by the pool. overall, this hotel worked well for our group.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $105 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing