We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The signage could be better, but once I found it, I loved it.

The lobby is gorgeous. Free soup, cookies, cake in the evening. Nice breakfast. Isaac's Deli is a few steps from hotel, with great sandwiches and salads.

It's obvious the guest rooms are "older", but I'm sure Hampton will be upgrading them little by little. Front desk very attentive. I felt safe.

Very convenient to PA Turnpike and Route 15.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MadgeOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 708 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2008

The staff was very friendly, the room was nice and clean, they had signs up that they were doing remodeling, but I didn't see anything, except the one of the elevators was not working one night. Also tried the deli next door (Isaac's?) food was very good. Hampton had a nice breakfast, 3 treadmills in the work out room, so no wait, and there were a lot of little nice things like hairspray in the lobby bathroom, soup and cookies in the evening, and a pretty-ish pool area, though I didn't use it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank towntotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

The construction of the hotel should be finished by the end of April. It never affected me and I just had to work around them and the area they were working on. There were some minor problems with the room but I chalked that up to construction work. The staff was friendly and helpful with the few problems that I actually needed help with.

I saw no major problems with the hotel except for its location. While it is close to a major intersection there are no shopping centers or places to eat (except for Issac's, Subway and a pizza place) that are within walking distance. To go anywhere you'll need a car and travel a few miles to shop or eat.

Issac's still offers a discount for those staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StickyGlue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Hotel was as expected with nothing really spectacular. We were concerned about construction that is pending at the hotel, which looks to be pretty major.. just started. Not impacting guests now, but the scope of the construction will probably be noticeable to guests in the near future. Our room was pre-construction, so I can't comment on the coming changes. Breakfast was mediocre, but I did like the free cookies and soup available around the clock near the front desk.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cjmckendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

The Hampton Inn was a very pleasant surprise and an excellent value.

I had a room with a king size bed on the 4th floor (429). The room was very nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable with a nice fluffy duvet and lots of pillows. There were even extra pillows in a drawer.

Because I was travelling with my dogs, I had to stay in a smoking room. I’m a nonsmoker and had been concerned. But, the room didn’t smell bad at all. I did put out an air freshener, and that helped eliminate odor.

All rooms at the hotel have a microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. The microwave was the typical hotel room variety. But, the refrigerator was larger than most and the little freezer area had enough space for freezer packs.

The hotel has a free breakfast beginning at 6:00 a.m., even on weekends. Unfortunately, I had to leave early in the morning and wasn’t able to try it. It was nice, though, being able to go downstairs and get coffee or tea at any time. And, they always had some light snacks available too.

There was free wi fi in the room, and it worked just fine. However, the id expired the final morning of my stay. Hampton really should keep access active at least until check out time instead of disabling it before 6:00 a.m.

There’s an Isaac’s Deli adjoining the hotel. It’s an inexpensive (about $10 for dinner & a soft drink) chain restaurant that serves sandwiches, soups, and salads. I ate there one evening, and the food was fine. They offer a 10% discount to hotel guests. Isaacs doesn’t serve alcohol.

Even though guests travelling with dogs are forced to stay in a smoking room, this hotel isn’t a bad choice for pets. There’s a very nice well lit dog walking area behind the hotel, and the hotel staff was nice about the dogs.

While the hotel was convenient to the event I was attending, the location isn’t great. It’s in an industrial park and there just isn’t much close by. I had to drive several miles to shopping and restaurants.

I did hear the TV in other rooms a couple of times. But, there was no sign of the mildew that was mentioned in an earlier review. The room was nice & clean and in excellent condition.

One last thing . . . the hotel has just begun renovations. Might want to ask about the scope before booking.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

This was one of the best hotel stays . The breakfast was great and the evening snacks were a nice surprise. The staff was great and they had breakfast to go if you were in a hurry.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray+minh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Our family of 22, just returned from out stay at the Hampton Inn. From the moment I began the reservation process, the staff was truly excellent in helping me secure a room at a reasonable rate. The check in was smooth, everyone's rooms were available on time as scheduled. The continental plus breakfast was delicious and fulfilling enough to last until lunch. All the staff were helpful and accomodating. All areas of the hotel were very clean. The pool was warm and beautiful. The hotel was in a quiet business area with beautiful greenery around the hotel. The rooms were promptly cleaned and transformed each morning. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wellsfamilyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
8.8 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $96 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing