We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located for my needs. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. If I end up in that area again I this hotel would be on my short list of places to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 693 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed the coziness and layout of the lobby and seating area. The room and bathroom were a bit small. the quality of the breakfast food was substandard. Eggs were some knid of instant. Meats were low quality. OJ poor, coffee just OK

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife goes to visit our middle daughter and grandchildren about once a month and usually stays here; sometimes, as was the case this month, I come along as well. The hotel is a good location for us and reasonably comfortable. That said, the location of the HVAC units next to the desk is annoying. A previous reviewer commented on freezing while trying to work at the desk; however, in our case it's a matter of having to move furniture in order to get unblocked air circulation. When last I raised the issue in early May hotel personnel contacted me at home and assured me that our profile would be annotated so that we'd be placed in one of the rooms where the HVAC is not blocked. Shortly thereafter my wife stayed at the hotel and was housed in one of those rooms, although I mentioned her impending arrival to my contact earlier in the day. We arrived yesterday and were placed in one of the 'bad' rooms, and when I called the front desk to ask what happened they affected surprise about the problem and said there was no note in our profile (indeed, I got the impression that they weren't quite sure what a profile was). To their credit, however, they relocated us into a suite across the hall which worked well. The staff are very pleasant and clearly try to be accommodating. My only hope is that the corporate memory improves.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms are rather small and the bathroom has just enough room for two people to put their toiletries. The coffemaker is located in the top of the armoire shelf and it is impossible to fill without getting water all over the place. There's no way you can watch TV in the chair at the desk or sofa if you have one the way the TV is positioned on the dresser

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

rooms are clean and quiet. Staff did what they could be alleviate the boil all water situation. However, had we been told of the water issue when we booked via honors, we would have chosen another location. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quickly replenished when needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel was very clean and comfortable. I choose this hotel because of location to Messiah College and they accept pets. The breakfast was exceptional with hot food and fresh cut fruit! I would stay here again if traveling in the Harrisburg, PA area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your recent visit to Messiah College. We do our best to exceed guest expectations at our hotel so we can make trips like yours as easy and stress free as possible. We look forward to your return when visiting Messiah & Harrisburg area!

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

it was an ok stay but had better experiences. the sleeping conditions were terrible the pillows were way to soft for my liking and all night there were doors slamming there needs to be thicker walls or quieter doors it was just plain out terrible trying to get some sleep with doors sleeping all night. i didnt see a hotel staff member my entire stay really and i was there for 3 days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry about your experience with us. Our guests' comfort is of the highest importance to us. Please contact me directly to discuss the challenges you experienced. I can be reached at 717-691-1300. Our goal is always to improve and ensure every guest is happy.

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.4 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
8.8 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing