We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
williamsport, United States
1 review
“...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

it was an ok stay but had better experiences. the sleeping conditions were terrible the pillows were way to soft for my liking and all night there were doors slamming there needs to be thicker walls or quieter doors it was just plain out terrible trying to get some sleep with doors sleeping all night. i didnt see a hotel staff member my entire stay really and i was there for 3 days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly sorry about your experience with us. Our guests' comfort is of the highest importance to us. Please contact me directly to discuss the challenges you experienced. I can be reached at 717-691-1300. Our goal is always to improve and ensure every guest is happy.

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    151
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
212
116
35
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gonic, NH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I arrived very late at night and the front desk made a positive upbeat impression. Check-out was just as friendly in the morning. The breakfast was good and being kept fresh with adequate amounts of food for the volume of people present.
I really have only two concerns. The first was the location of the HVAC unit blowing directly on the desk and chair while I was trying to complete some work. The layout of some of the Hampton Inns creates this situation and when you need to use the air conditioning it can get quite chilly while working. The second concern was the black mold starting to work up the wall to the left of the HVAC unit next the window jamb on and behind the loose wallpaper. Spores potentially would be blowing on the person sitting at the desk.
I mentioned the mold to Michael at the front desk and he said maintenance would take a look at it.
I will return to this location in the future by myself, but will have to see it mold-free before I could return with my spouse that has had 3 sinus surgeries and is prone to infections.

Room Tip: I did not see a specific advantage of one room over another. It was raining and foggy when I arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
First and foremost I wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn Harrisburg West. Thank you for recognizing the positive and friendly desk staff and our Hot Breakfast selection.
I did want to let you know that we have carefully inspected the room you stayed in and seen what you referenced to in the corner between the wall and HVAC. I feel confident that we have been able to clean it up and it appears to be an isolated issue.
We certainly appreciate your feedback and any suggestions you may have to help improve our hotel. It is clear, with your Diamond membership in Hilton Honors, that you do travel to many Hilton brand hotels and we certainly appreciate your business and loyalty. We look forward to having you return again when you are in the area.

Kind regards,
Laura Goyette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the third year I have stayed at this hotel, every time has been great, the room, the staff and the breakfast bar and evening snacks are all great. If you are in the area and need aa place, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us in this public forum! As a repeat customer, your opinion speaks volumes to those who have never been here before, and puts a smile on our Team Member’s faces when they hear they are doing a great job. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area!

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is one of the nicest Hamptons we have ever used(and we stay in Hamptons 90% of our travel time). It is clean, staff is friendly and and helpful. They also serve goodies on the buffet in the late afternoon in addition to the cookies for which the Hampton is known. It is quiet, easily accessed and there is a great little restaurant next door with a very diverse menu (vegetarian friendly, too).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Viola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
On behalf of our hotel staff, I want to let you know how delighted we are
to receive your kind words of praise. We love to spoil our guests!
Thank you for taking a minute of your day to let us know how pleased you were with your stay.

We appreciate it!

Laura M Goyette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very nice Hampton hotel, I loved the staff they are very nice, kind and helpful; the difference in courtesy vs other hotels is that they make you feel like you are home.

Everything is clean and it good condition.

They offer a good buffet in the morning.

Good work guys !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBusinesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I was happy to see that our award winning staff took great care of you and assists you in any way you need! As you know, we strive for nothing less than 100% complete satisfaction and I am glad to see that in your eyes, we make our mark. Nothing makes me happier than to hear that "they make you feel like you are home"!

Thank You,

Laura Goyette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very nice and comfortable place to stay. Rooms very well appointed. No access to channel program guide only channel guise. Room next to back outside door very noisy due to outside door slamming shut each time a guest exited. A very convenient complimentary breakfast saving time from having to go out or ordering from an in house restaurant, a time saver. A little bit crowded at times during breakfast rush.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This location is a solid value for the rooms, clean and up to date, staff is very nice and professional. I would recommend it for business, personal, family and/or leisure. Close to the PA capitol and historical sites, shopping and recreational.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jimmie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so glad that you had a wonderful visit to The Hampton Inn Harrisburg-West and found us so convent to the local attractions. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a positive review of your visit an we look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the Harrisburg area in the future.

Best Regards,

Laura Goyette
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mechanicsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.4 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing