We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in Hampton Inn Harrisburg West several times when traveling on business. The rooms are consistently clean, spacious, and comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We often use the conference room and it is always set up and ready for our group.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_and_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us in this public forum! As a repeat customer, your opinion speaks volumes to those who have never been here before, and puts a smile on our Team Member’s faces when they hear they are doing a great job.

We are thrilled to have you back, and look forward to serving you again soon for your next meeting or overnight stay.

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 708 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very nice room, great lobby/dining area, good gratis breakfast. Staff most helpful, Laura and Amy are the best! Wish I could have stayed longer. The location wasn't as convenient as I had hoped for, but nearby restaurants made up for that minor issue.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there's a bad room in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macbeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a complimentary review. We are delighted that our amenities and services met with your satisfaction and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Harrisburg area.

Sincerely,

Laura Goyette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first stop on our road trip. It is a beautifully maintained hotel. The next place we stayed just could not compare! Wonderful outside areas. Easy access to 15 south, we were heading to visit Gettysburg. Pet friendly location. Breakfast was really nice with eggs, sausage and potatoes. There is a great Thai restaurant in Mechanicsburg, not far away.

Room Tip: With a pet we asked for first floor by an exit - worked out very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you in our hotel again soon! I hope you and your cousin had a wonderful trip to Flordia and enjoyed Gettysburg while in the area.
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you and your family enjoyed our facilities while passing throu the Harrisburg area.

Kind regards,

Laura Goyette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was very clean. Plenty of parking, centrally located close to Hershey, probably 20 minutes tops. The breakfast was unfortunately below average. Honestly though, it's just the Hamptons breakfast all over. Cracker Barrel is 1 mile south on 15 and McDonald's is west about 1/2 mile so plenty of choices. There is a restaurant attached to the Hampton also. Pool looked clean and the lobby was nice with a television.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav_whizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. Also, thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their jobs—I’ll let them know that you appreciated their efforts. Yes, we are conveniently located off the turnpike & Rt 15 very close to Hersheypark, Carlisle & Gettysburg. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to back to the Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg area.

Kind regards,
Laura Goyette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel was extremely clean. The staff was top notch. Breakfast was just adequate. Not too many healthy items. The cut fruit bowl had a sweet syrup all over it . I asked about it and it was right out of the can - not good. The hot foods were not good at all - horrible french toast, must have been prepackaged and microwaved. A lot of donuts and pastries. If not for the breakfast I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

First of all, thanks for taking the time to place a review about the Hampton Inn Harrisburg West on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback. Also, thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms and our “Top Notch” staff. Our team takes great pride in their jobs. I am sorry you were disappointed in our breakfast. Perhaps you didn’t see the fresh made pot of hot oatmeal or the fresh made waffles and yogurt.

Hopefully we will see you in the near future and once again be of service to you whether visiting Harrisburg for business or pleasure.

Kind regards,

Laura Goyette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Wonderfully clean, well appointed and comfortable pet friendly hotel. We (including Soffee the pooch) look forward to returning on our semi-annual trek from north to south. Recommend it highly and hope to find Hampton Inns of similar quality as we travel in each direction.
Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaura, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments on your most recent stay with us. We would like to thank you for the wonderful review you gave us. Your comments mean a lot to us and we really appreciate it Again, thank you for your kindness and generosity. We look forward to seeing you and Soffee again in the future.

Sincerely, Laura Goyette,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is in a very convenient location; on and turnpike in seconds and 81 in minutes. The first thing I have to say is the staff is very friendly and very accommodating. The girl at the front desk gave me a military/veteran discount and let me check in around 1100. As someone else stated the walls are thin, and I mean like the person in the next room is all but sitting next to you if they are loud. The rooms are very nice, bright and up to date. I would stay here again, but not before trying at least one or two others in the area to compare soundproofing. No road noise at all, and although I didn’t use the gym the pool or anything else I did use laundry. For a $1.50 a load per machine is a bargain, especially when you can go up to your room, and come back down to get your clothes without the worry they will be gone. I presume the breakfast was good since they were packed and they have a little “canteen” behind the front desk which is actually a very good idea, even though I didn’t actually purchase anything. If not for the noise from the parking lot and the neighboring room, on one side (don’t know if anyone was on the other side) I would have given 5 stars easily. If you are a sound sleeper and don’t mind a little noise then this place is a no brainer.

Room Tip: have to think as long as the pool is not in season the pool side would be quieter than the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg West, PA
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
8.8 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West

Address: 4950 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4891
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range: $96 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever brings you to Harrisburg, PA, you’ll get a warm welcome, comfortable accommodation and a whole range of amenities for a great rate at the Hampton Inn® Harrisburg – West/ Mechanicsburg hotel. . Located right off the PA Turnpike, I-76, just 16 minutes from the state capital, Harrisburg, PA, this hotel puts you in easy reach of local shopping, businesses and dining. Only a 25 minute drive from the rollercoasters at Hersheypark and Hershey's Chocolate World, and 15 minutes from the slopes of Ski Roundtop, there’s plenty to keep everyone happy at this Mechanicsburg hotel. Settle in to your comfy guest room and relax with the kids in front of your HDTV while enjoying some snack from the Sweet Shop. We have complementary DVD players at the front desk, so bring along one of your favorite movies. Surf the web with free high-speed WiFi and catch up on some work at the desk. Set up your laptop on the handy lap desk and work while stretched out on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. The in-room microwave and refrigerator means it is no trouble to fix a snack whenever you’re feeling hungry. If you’re here with the family, or just looking for a little bit of extra space, then step-up to one of our Suites which feature a plush sofa bed. Start every morning in style at this hotel near Ski Roundtop when you sit down to Hampton’s free hot breakfast buffet and waffle bar. Don’t worry if you are in a rush to get going, just grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, and a drink from our 24-hour coffee and tea bar. After a busy day, tie up any loose ends in the business center or head to the cardio fitness center for a head clearing workout. In the summer, make the most of the warm weather and swim some laps in the seasonal outdoor pool. If you are looking for a venue for your Harrisburg meeting or celebration then this hotel offers a range of flexible event space for up to 80 people. Let our friendly, professional team help make sure that your event runs without a hitch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Hampton Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing