We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always pleasant and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Katy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always pleasant and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have stayed at this location whenever in the area for the past 15+ yrs. When we first started, it was once a year or every other yr, but the past several years we stay here at least once and sometimes two or three times a yr. Always greeted with a smile; very efficient; hotel and rooms always clean; breakfast and evening mgrs. receptions always delicious; rooms always comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Being our guest for 15 years? How can we thank you? We appreciate your glowing review on TripAdvisor. Later this year, we will be embarking on a 3.4 million dollar renovation, so hopefully, your next trip will offer many enhanced amenities. We can't wait to show it off to all our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    101
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
244
72
12
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had read the reviews on this hotel and was expecting a good experience. My mother and I were in town for a wedding. First of all the price was very high just because there was a car show in the area so the price was elevated, no AAA discount. The minute we walked in our room we were not happy. The smell was so funky. I called front desk immediately and they came and sprayed febreze and opened our windows. There were no rooms to be changed . We left to be with family and got back late that night. Smell still there! My mother went to take a shower at 11pm and turned on the shower water came out then made horrible sounds and the water stopped . I went to front desk and told them about shower and smell in the morning. They did fix the shower luckily before we went to wedding. No help with smell, we opened our windows again. There has been some updating but obviously not enough. We stayed 2 nights and paid way too much for such a smelly room. Fortunately we did not have to be in the room long.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. As you had read from other guests, we take great pride in our staff and hotel and are disappointed when we do not exceed your expectations. Please contact me directly so we can further discuss your stay and hopefully EARN back your business.

Keith Komon, Area Manager
717-697-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There for business, suite was very comfortable, amenities were excellent-breakfast was more than adequate in quantity, taste was average. evening meals and hospitality were good-I mean, free beer-cant go wrong there. Staff helpful and courteous. I will use this facility chain in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcamab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations, so your thoughts and comments are vital to our success. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having been staying in the same Homewood Suites now for 10 years and they are always fantastic. Will be staying there next year as well. It's my favorite home away from home. Having been staying in the same Homewood Suites now for 10 years and they are always fantastic. Will be staying there next year as well. It's my favorite home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 731billh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We LOVE that you have been our guest for over 10 years. Later this year we will begin our 3.4 million dollar renovation....when you return next year, we will have a whole new look. Don't worry however, we will still provide our legendary service and make you feel "just like home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past four years and have never had any complaints. We are with a large group of car enthusiasts that take over the courtyard for our annual cookout. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is very clean and the food they serve is very good. We highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate your business each year for the car show! We love that you can use our outdoor courtyard area as a place to socialize. We strive to exceed expectations, so always feel free to offer suggestions as to how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

When we booked this hotel online we were amazed by the low price, the locations claim to close proximity to restaurants, Hershey and other attractions. We reserved a suite with a separate dinning room, king size bed, full living room and large jacuzzi bathroom with a double sink and a second bathroom for $139 a night.

We called the hotel early on the morning that we were set to arrive to see about an early check-in and was told that was no problem and the room that we reserved was all set for us. We arrived at 11 am and found out that our room was not ready and would not be ready for at least another four hours.

When we finally got into our hotel room we were stunned to realize that the room we'd reserved was not the one they gave us. There was not jetted tub, no separate living room, second bathroom or dinning room. All the furniture was old, scratchy and uncomfortable. The bed was lumpy, the pillows disgusting and thin and the comforter engulfed in a weird material that did nothing to cover the smell. When we called to find out why we were giving a different room we were told that they oversold those rooms and that when you reserve a room, you're only requesting the room. There is no guarantee that the room will be yours. We were charged the same amount.

The old bait and switch.

We looked into a different hotel only to discover that all the hotels were sold out and we were indeed stuck at the hotel. The stay was horrible. We found five different types of bugs in the room. The maid ignored out request to the hotel not disturb us and also the sign we left on the door. She came in, went through our things, opened the curtains so that anyone walking by could see our things, shut off the air conditioner and made it so that we could not turn it back on, threw some of our things away. When we called up to complain to the front desk, we got a basic apology and promised to make sure that the maid service would stay out. They banged on our door every day of our stay and walked in on us twice.

They did not leave us fresh towels, toilet paper, cups, etc. We had to go to the front desk to get those things. The temperature of our room got above 80 degrees. We kept contacting the front desk to no avail. Finally we walked down to the desk and demanded some help. They came and fixed it, showing us that the thermostat had a trick to it that not even they understood. It took 12 hours for the room to cool off.

The meals that they promised were horrible, cereal dried out and bitter, fruit rotten. My son ended up running to the bathroom and become sick after trying to eat the fruit salad. The dinners were just as bad. The only thing decent from their meal was the fruit juice.

There is nothing close to buy drinks, snacks, etc. The hotel has an overpriced store with a very limited selection. The nearest grocery store is ten minutes away by highway. There is not a good selection of restaurants around as promised by the website. it is also quite a drive to the nearest attraction.

When we were leaving, a day early because we just couldn't take one more day, I called the front desk and told them that we would be checking out in 30 minutes and to please not cancel our key cards until then so we could get all our stuff. Five minutes later we were locked out of the hotel with some of our things still in our room. We were so aggravated by that point that we just left.

The hotel called us a few days later to find out what to do with our stuff. I explained what happened and the hotel was only too happy to send us our things back, at our expense.

This hotel is outdated, poor service, misleading information and dishonest practices. I would not stay here again. Two of my business associates stayed there as well and had similar experiences.

Not a good place for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Book by phone, get the persons name, confirmation number and make them promise you what room you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mathewson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take great pride in our hotel, staff, service and amenities and are disappointed when we do not exceed our guests' expectations. Please accept our apology for your experience. At your earliest convenience, I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you to discuss your concerns. Kindly contact me directly.

Keith Komon
171-697-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

stayed here for a soccer tournament. rooms are great. breakfast was made earlier than normal on the weekend to accommodate the soccer team - which was an added bonus. the breakfast had quite a bit to from which to select. the pool table is a great indoor activity. the meeting room was perfect for the team to come together. the kids used the pool as well as the outdoor basketball court, adjacent to the pool. the indoor gym was fine, treadmills, a few bikes and of course free weights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Many potential guests reference this site prior to making hotel reservations, so your input is vital to our success. We hope if your team competes again in our area, our hotel will be your #1 choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
8.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Address: 5001 Ritter Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055-4884
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Green Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite, extended stay hotel is only seven miles from downtown Harrisburg, PA with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike I-76. Enjoy being only 15 minutes from Harrisburg Amtrak and 25 minutes from Harrisburg International (MDT) Airport. Choose a one-bedroom, or two-bedroom, suite with sofa bed for extra sleeping space. Or, upgrade to a suite with a cozy fireplace or relaxing whirlpool tub for an extra calming stay. Our suites also include full kitchens (with a twin-burner stove, microwave oven, coffeemaker, dishwasher and dining table). Each suite also comes with two LCD TVs. Guests who stay at our hotel enjoy our complimentary WiFi, free, full breakfast, business center, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market, complimentary beverage area, basketball court, Pro-Core Certified Fitness Center, outdoor swimming pool and billiards table.Traveling for business? Join us Monday- Thursday evening for our evening socials, beer and wine are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing