We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still top of the line”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Still top of the line”
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I have stayed in the Homewood Suites in Mechanicsburg before, and my stay last month was not a disappointment. Quite simply, this is an excellent hotel, clean, comfortable, convenient, with a great breakfast and large rooms. The staff was friendly and the Hershey chocolate in the room was a nice touch! I especially enjoyed the half hour television presentation about Mechanicsburg which was on a continuous loop.

  • Liked — clean room and great breakfast
  • Disliked — parking was very full so had to park far from the door.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    124
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
303
92
13
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

This hotel was great for our family of four children 18month, 10 year old - 12 year old and 14 year old. The breakfast and dinner makes it a GREAT value! The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The pool area isnt the largest but is sufficient and very pleasant. A little garden walk though gave my 18month old lots of adventure...They even had a basketball court but with all girls...not a lot of interest their. The rooms are like mini apartments. We visited Hershey Attractions/Outlets for three consecutive days and while the location is a bit away - about 30 minutes...the hotel comfort and free meals with beer and wine at dinner makes up for location.

  • Liked — Clean rooms - spacious comfortable great for children - Dinner w/Beer and Wine
  • Disliked — Location Location Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alwaysgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Location is set back in an industrial area---but, not noisy at all. A short distance to everything in Harrisburg. Like-new property, with very accomodating staff. Hotel is huge though....I had a room at the rear of the property---and, it was a lengthy walk from the lobby to the room.....but, that was a minor inconvience.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank MARATHON-MCPO-USN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Dec. 2007 and I would DEFINITELY stay here again in the future! We booked a room with a fireplace and it was so cute and cozy! You didn't necessarily feel like you were in a hotel room.....the bedroom was closed off from the living room with doors that are on a 45 degree angle to the wall. It was just so adorable! The lobby was beautiful as well. We went there around Christmas, so of course they had it all decorated for the season. You walk in and the first thing you see is the huge stone fireplace with couches and chairs on both sides of it so you can sit and read/talk. Then at night, they bake cookies! We had a 2nd floor suite and we were upstairs playing pool and we started smelling cookies. We looked down into the kitchen area and they had sugar and chocolate chip cookies there for everyone to eat. Yes, I did mention the pool table. There is a pool table on the 2nd floor. Never been in a hotel that had a pool table right outside my door. The complimentary breakfast was very nice as well. They had a couple of hot items as well as cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, french toast, etc. Overall - LOOOOVVVEEED IT!! Would recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Liked — The fireplace in the lobby and the fireplace in the room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lovetoshop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I usually love this hotel, but i haven't been here in 3 years. Now that I've come back, I noticed they need a renovation. Some rooms have been renovated and others have not. We are a Hilton HHonors Gold member and they stuck us in a non-renovated room. The kitchen was very old and outdated and the lighting was ugly and bright. I was expecting much more when I returned and all I got was a dissapointment. The check-in was smooth and the lobby and lodge were very nice looking. I was very surprised that the breakfast was bad. The place was mobbed and the eggs looked like they were freeze-dried or came from powder. And the breakfast wasn't "hearty" it was "fattening." They had donuts and munchkins and too much junk that I got sick looking at it. The pool looked nice as usual and so did the courtyard. Overall, it was a dissapointment.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The outdated room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robbythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, June 29, 2016
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry we weren't able to exceed your expectation. We will certainly used your feedback as a way to improve. We have fully renovated our hotel in 2015 and Homewood has revamped it's breakfast offers to align with a more healthier focus. I hope you can experience our improvements in the near future.

Sincerely,
Keith Komon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2007

Great place to stay. Spotless. Very friendly staff.
We spent several nights in one of the suites at the back end which is a new addition. Our suite had a fireplace, jacuzzi, double vanity, shower with 4 extra nozzles, attractive decor.

Extra touches: Hershey's chocolate bars and kisses in the room, bottled water, crystal ice bucket.

The air conditioning cooled the bedroom well, but not the sitting room/kitchen area. Note: the temp outside was 99 to 100 and very humid. We called the fdront desk. Within a few minutes the maintenance manager and an assistant arrived. Provided an in-room portablle AC that did the trick.

The free breakfasts included name-brand indivudual boxes of cereal. The coffe is great and always available in the lobby.

Suppers include draft beer!

Helpful?
2 Thank SuperPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. I do like the Homewood chain. If you haven't stayed in one before, try it out.

This hotel was perfectly fine. It is in a relatively remote location. It about 100 yards from the exit off Rt 15 - close enough so it isn't an issue reaching it, but no noise. It is located in a big industrial park, surrounded by factories and other suburban work buildings. There was a lot of traffic at the beginning and ends of the workday. That isn't a problem, but don't expect many amenities nearby. However, there were malls and other shopping within a 10 minute drive down Rt. 15.

They offer a very good free daily breakfast buffett with hot items, from waffles, bread and bagels to toast, to cereal boxes, to hot items (although these were not that great - the eggs tasted powdered and the big item was breakfast burritto which really looked like an eggroll. I didn't see anyone eat one.) They also offer a light meal on weekday evenings - I enjoyed a taco bar. It was very tasty. They have staff monitor the spread so it stays clean and you have help.

The wireless internet worked great in my room and lobby. It was free.

The room was very clean. I had my own temp control and was able to get it pretty cold (which I like). The bedroom in the suite had a ceiling fan. The decor is a bit dated in the room - cheapo pictures of boring landscapes and lots of dull grey/pine wood in the rest of the room. The TVs were a bit on the weak side - they look about 15 years old and did not have clear projection.

The pool looked great (I didn't use it). It was in the middle of an outside patio, surrounded by lots of tables with umbrellas. I hung out a bit in the morning here. It had nice landscaping and was a very quiet, pleasant and relaxing place.

All in all, it was a perflectly fine little chain hotel, with a nice staff and clean rooms and lots of extra amenities from the chain.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank lf5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith K, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area, responded to this review, July 11, 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay as your feedback is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mechanicsburg
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Harrisburg West
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
8.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg West/Mechanicsburg
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
0.3 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area
Address: 5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite, extended stay hotel is only seven miles from downtown Harrisburg, PA with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike I-76. Enjoy being only 15 minutes from Harrisburg Amtrak and 25 minutes from Harrisburg International (MDT) Airport. Choose a one-bedroom, or two-bedroom, suite with sofa bed for extra sleeping space. Or, upgrade to a suite with a cozy fireplace or relaxing whirlpool tub for an extra calming stay. Our suites also include full kitchens (with a twin-burner stove, microwave oven, coffeemaker, dishwasher and dining table). Each suite also comes with two LCD TVs. Guests who stay at our hotel enjoy our complimentary WiFi, free, full breakfast, business center, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market, complimentary beverage area, basketball court, Pro-Core Certified Fitness Center, outdoor swimming pool and billiards table.Traveling for business? Join us Monday- Thursday evening for our evening socials, beer and wine are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Harrisburg-West Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing