We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market Street Grille”

The Market House Grille
Ranked #8 of 77 Restaurants in Meadville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Catawissa, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Market Street Grille”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

At eh back of the Market Place in Meadville is this cozy little grille. It was hard to find seat at 10:30 a.m. on a Monday Morning. Only two waitresses were on hand to serve all the customers at the bar and the tables.

It took a little while to get your food because it was all Homemade.
I had 2 eggs over easy, toast and homefries, for $3.50. It was more than I could eat. They have weekly specials which included an omelet for $3.85.
The waitresses were interesting like out of a fifties movie. They were great, efficient and friendly. A very unique and interesting place with homemade crafts in the Market including a bakery.
It is the oldest continuous Market in the country.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmackeywisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Breakfast Place”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is basically a diner -- what we refer to affectionately as our favorite "greasy spoon" -- located in Meadville's historic Market House. The quality of the food varies somewhat depending on who's cooking, but it's breakfasts are generally pretty good. You can order anything from hot oatmeal through eggs and bacon to pumpkin pancakes and mushroom and spinach omelets, and lots of other choices we haven't ever tried. The coffee is not gourmet but plentiful. The service is typically attentive and reasonably fast, even when they're busy, which they usually are on weekend mornings. The owner is often present and working hard to see that things go right. We like it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old fashioned breakfast!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is just an old fashioned diner. The breakfasts are traditional. I had the pecan pancakes. They were delicious and the servings were generous. Their hash browns and home fries are exceptional. It is usually busy and the tables are close together. The servers are friendly. It is a unique experience in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good for basic breakfast”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is busy for breakfast on weekend mornings, and for good reason. If you stick to the basics, you'll have a good experience. We had to sit at the bar and order. You get a front row seat to watch the food being cooked. They are fairly well-organized and the wait times aren't too bad. A previous review called this place a "dive", and to an extent I have to agree. However, unlike most restaurants in Deadville, PA, this one hasn't gone zombie. Yet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripPsychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place has a regular following, but it's a real dive. You walk back in time when you enter the place. It's an open diner that I suspect hasn't changed much in generations. No better, no worse. Is for me, no thanks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market House Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Market House Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing