We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signage Art”

Read Between the Signs
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Meadville
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Signage Art”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Even though I live in the area, I never tire of seeing the unique way Alllegheny College art students captured the essence of Crawford County using recycled street signs.
Worth visiting Meadville, PA to see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,363 reviews
1,169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
“Worth a detour!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This display is quite amazing. It is made out of solely traffic signs and was designed and build in collaboration between Allegheny College's CEED and PennDOT. It is quite long and displays different themes. We took a detour just to see this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Visual Art”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

A well designed and thoughtful re-use of old highway traffic signs. This collaborative art project between Allegheny College and PennDOT is a wonderful sight at one of the gateway entrances to Meadville. Technically located in Vernon Township, the sign pictures are a visual representation of various places around Meadville. This may have been the first of its kind in the state, though I am not completely certain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseofSoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, unique!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is some fun and unique artwork. If you're going to be in Meadville, you'll want to be sure you see it! It is located right across the street from Giant Eagle supermarket, which has restrooms and a little cafe if you need to get something to eat. There is also a Get-Go gas station if you need gas. It's very convenient, and not far from 79.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unique”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved looking at the atr made out of old street signs. It was one of a kind. Our kids knew when we saw it, that we were near our hotel. It was a great landmark. When we first looked at it, we didnt realize what it was made of. It will be something the kids will always remember.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrssmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Read Between the Signs also viewed

 

Been to Read Between the Signs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing