We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Meadville
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Meadville
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“More Than We Expected”
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed here from Aug 7 to Aug 9 2008 ... At check in we were greeted with geniune warmth, and presented with a choice of cold drinks.
Room: smaller that we are use to, but nicely presented, clean & comfortable.... reception called to make sure that everything was ok, and could they do anything else....nice touch.
Cookies, a selection of ice cream, popcorn & coffee were availiable in the lobby in the evening. Complienentary breakfast selection (sausage, hash, eggs, cinnamon buns, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt etc) was fine, although we arrived at "rush hr" and some of the hot dishes were slow to be replenished.
All the hotel staff are friendly and always smiling.

Great hotel, great staff!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bagpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    53
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
100
61
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The previous reviews held true for us. The staff is the friendliest that I have ever encountered. The rooms are classic Holiday Inn Express tiny, but clean. The breakfast area was well stocked and tasty. I would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, MI
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

This was without a doubt the best Hoilday Inn Express I have ever visited. It is evident throughout the building that customer service is their #1 priority. The only comparison I can make is to the Disney Cruise I took with my family (twice) where every person went out of their way to deliver the best customer service. At check in the people were pleasant and helpful and notified me of the available amenities and the nearby restaurants, including mentioning the evening's manager specials. I received coupons for the italian restaurant. Check in went quickly and easily.

When I got to my room I did note it was smaller than other rooms I had been in before, but with a king size bed, desk, TV, and bathroom, I am not sure what I would do with more space. The high speed wireless internet access was perfect. There were candies in the room when I arrived and instructions for connecting to the internet, how to use the shower control, as well as a spills rag with a request to use instead of the regular towels. The normal shampoos, conditioners, and soaps were all there but there were two of each. I only needed to use part of one container but it is nice to know if I had a longer stay I'd always have a reserve. In addition, there was small container of Bath and Body Works lotion!

In addition, although the room was obviously a little older, the maintenance and condition was immaculate. There were little clues all around that show the little things that go wrong in a hotel room are addressed before they become big problems.

The real difference here, though, is the staff. I cannot tell you how many times I have said "Hello" or "Good morning" to a hotel employee in a hallway and had them mumble a response and try to avoid contact as much as possible. Not at Meadville!!! Every person I spoke to greeted me with a warm smile and asked if everything was OK with my stay. I went down to get a burger (the manager's special was a cook out on a grill in front of the hotel) and the buns were all gone. As soon as I turned around to ask for some help there was someone heading toward me with a bag with buns.

This is just a terrific place to stay and I have stayed at many HIE locations that could easily improve signficantly just by doing a few of the things they did at Meadville. I am hoping I get the chance to travel there again!

  • Liked — Great Service, Clean and Comfortable Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Relatively new hotel, very friendly staff, convenient location in Meadville. We will stay here again on our next visit to the area

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BobAtGLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Oh my goodness. We had to drive from Niagara area to DC - on the way we drove past pittsburgh before stopping, but on the way back, we wanted something "halfway plus an hour" - that put us exactly in Meadville. I had originally looked at Cranberry, and was underwhelmed by what I saw - decent choices for $100 it looked like.

But then I saw the reviews on here and called HIE meadville, got the AAA rate of $80 something (can't remember) - and had a wonderful experience from the first telephone contact.

The hotel itself is pleasantly nice - lobby, breakfast area - all kinds of little extras/free foods and drinks all day. The phenomenal customer service continued on arrival.

The downsides of the room - as has been mentioned, it's a bit older but looks to be renovated in the important aspects. So carpet, wallpaper in bathroom, little nooks and crannies were not a treat on the eyes.

So that's the bad - I can't even list all the good.

- the towels - soft, nice, an "oops" towel by the sink for spills
- the toiletries - nice shampoo/conditioner and bath and body works lotion - plus the extras you don't seem to get anymore like shoe shine wipe, etc
- the pillowcases - labeled as to whether pillow is soft or firm
- the coffee maker - FINALLY - hot chocolate for those of us who don't drink coffee or tea!!!!
- the artwork in the rooms and hallways, the bed, the little chair even though the room is small - all fantastic

They really and truly went the extra mile to ensure provision of the things that matter. We got there after a long, difficult weekend (death in family), I'm pregnant and wasn't in great shape (meaning tired, lightheaded, etc) - and it was our anniversary and we had forgotten in the grief of the weekend.

we asked them to order a snowstorm so we'd be stuck there the next night! (They offered to remove our tires instead, so as not to have to deal with snow.)

We ate at the Italian restaurant, got a 10% coupon from the hotel without even asking, and were just amazed, it seems this town is a deep well of courtesy and service. I just kept looking around and wondering how they are able to offer so much, so generously.

I can't say enough - we are VERY critical, we do a lot of research, and we have stayed in a lot of hotels. This is one place I will recommend widely, we will hope to stay at again, and it's a place I hope continues to do very well - they deserve it.

  • Liked — Quieter than our street but right off highway, phenomenal service, great amenities
  • Disliked — older carpet, drain in tub, older heating system
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annniagara_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

A very nice hotel, the staff and service sets it apart from the usual "if you wanted a 5 star hotel you should have stayed in one" attitude I often encounter in HIE properties. The entire hotel is clean (parking lot, lobby, halls and rooms) and everyone was helpful and friendly. There was a manager's "reception" Monday thru Thursday in the lobby featuring a different theme every day.

It is also conveniently located just off the highway, and close to downtown Meadville. It shares a parking lot with an Italian restuarant and a Perkins, with an Applebee's just across the street. It has all the usual business services plus a great wireless internet connection.

I stayed in a single room that featured a nice bed, clean, almost like new beddings, and a decent sized bathroom. The room, typical for a single at an HIE (meaning on the small side), also had the usual iron/coffee maker/hairdryer and a generous sized bathroom. Due to a scheduling conflict the hotel had to put me in a suite for the price of a single on my last night... it was awesome, with plenty of room, it also had the usual suite accessories of a mini fridge, microwave, bar area.

The hotel also offers a complimentary breakfast, it is standard continental breakfast fare, plus cereal and a few hot entrees. It was good but not spectacular, although its better than nothing and probably beats a breakfast sandwich from a drive thru place.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank purple_gorillaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

This is, by far, the best hotel in Meadville! The beds are new, the staff is friendly, but most importantly it has WiFi access. The breakfast in the morning is also very good. If you have to stay in the Meadville area, stay here!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jalst60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meadville
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Meadville
Hampton Inn Meadville
#1 of 5 in Meadville
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Meadville Conference Center
17.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 2 in Edinboro
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Seasons Inn at Nick's Place
23.4 mi away
Quality Inn and Conference Center
17.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites
#1 of 1 in Greenville
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Meadville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Meadville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Meadville
Address: 18240 Conneaut Lake Rd, Meadville, PA 16335-3758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Meadville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Meadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Meadville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our Newly Renovated Hotel. We have added an indoor heated pool, spa, and fitness facility. As well as upgrading all of the guest rooms. Come experience it. We offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks, and a manager's cocktail party every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Meadville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Meadville Pa Hotel Meadville
Meadville Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Meadville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing