We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff!”
Review of Erie KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McKean
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erie KOA
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just spent three nights here and wasn't sure what to expect since we usually camp in Ohio State Parks. On the pro side, the staff is all extremely helpful and friendly, and there is always someone around if you need help. Lots of activities are planned especially with kids in mind. Extremely close to Presque Isle SP without the insanity of the campgrounds right outside the park entrance. Bathroom/shower house and laundry room, etc. were IMMACULATE and had excellent water pressure. Gorgeous landscaping around main office and throughout the park.

CONS: Because we're used to Ohio State Parks, we were kind of shocked at the density of the park, the picnic table of the adjoining spot was literally 8 feet from our trailer. In addition, although the park advertises wi-fi and cable tv, we had neither and were told we were on the 'outer edge' of the park and wi-fi was 'iffy'. They did tell us we could get better connection if we went to the pavilion. As for cable, we were only told our spot did not have cable service with no other explanation. Normally this would not be a problem since we have our own satellite receiver, but we did not bring it because the park advertised that they had cable. The last problem we encountered was a large and putrid dead deer along the road, about 25 feet from our campsite. By the day we left the smell was disgusting and intolerable. I told one of the staff when we were leaving and he stated that he had called the Penn D.O.T. twice and they'd not removed it. As a business owner, I know that clients don't really care about 'why' the problem is not taken care of, only that it still exists. I hope the campground owner took the initiative to have the deer removed as opposed to having one entire corner of his campground clear out early.

Like most KOA's, this one was packed with children---extremely well-behaved children. My husband and I certainly enjoy children but we know there are some older campers who do not--in which case you should not stay at a KOA. Having looked at some of the other 'bayfront' and 'lakefront' campgrounds outside the Presque Isle State Park, which resembled refugee camps, we know we make the right choice in opting for the KOA.

Room Tip: Call c.ground directly before reserving.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blndgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Erie KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 61 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Warning: if you intend to stay here, for the love of everything pure and good about camping, call in your reservation. We made a reservation online, even put the deposit down, and our reservation was messed up. We requested a site by the pond, our reservation confirmation said we got that site. We got there late at night, set up our tent, and then were told we had to move because some guy had called in his reservation and it was his spot.

We were moved to a site where 100 other people were crammed into it, then when we asked for a refund so we could get a hotel, we were given a site closer to the pond. We were finally in our tent by 1:30 AM. Fast forward to 6 AM, when our neighbors (or should we say the people living on top of us?) decide to let their baby scream for a good 2 hours. Not exactly the best night's sleep.

We ended up leaving, eating the two night's cost, and going to a hotel closer to Erie. Needless to say, we won't be going back. Ever.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GallosTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I haven't been camping in 8 years but thought it would be nice to go with my daughter (15) as our last trip of the summer. I knew KOA's were supposed to be clean so we chose Erie for Labor Day weekend.
We were greated by very friendly people and were to follow a golf cart to get to our cabin (thankfully, or else we would have gotten lost). Our cart-driver also delivered our wood for us. The 2-room cabin was very clean, had plenty of windows, had air conditioning and a heater, which we used both in the same weekend.
On Friday we traveled a short distance to Presque Isle. We brought a picnic, walked on the beach and visited the Tom Ridge Educational Center which was free. There is an amusement park/water park nearby. They had a great gift shop, too. Friday night they had "we cook for you". It was for a fee (salmon burger, chips and pop for $5.00 I think). It was tasty and ... I didn't have to cook. Other choices were Boca Burgers, Hot Dogs, Hamburger/Cheeseburgers.
Saturday brought a rainy/dreary day so we opted to go to Millcreek Mall which was also a short distance away. There was an ice cream social at the campground Saturday evening. Ice Cream sundaes for $1.50 or a rootbeer float for $2.00.
Sunday we had a delicious pancake breakfast. The pancakes (delicious) and hot chocolate/coffee were free. Bacon/sausage was $2.00 for a few strips. Juice was $1.00 (I think, we had hot chocolate since it was cold).
Bathrooms - boy things have changed since I last went camping. These bathrooms were very clean with heat/air conditioning, depending on the weather. I looked for a spider and couldn't find one. Showers were hot with good pressure.
The staff was very friendly, offering to help us make a fire if we wanted help. We enjoyed our stay very much. We will definitely be visiting again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msjcfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We had never been camping before and didn't know quite what to expect. It ended up being one of our best trips ever! I told the staff I had never been camping before and we had small children (4 and 6) and they reserved their best site for us in the primitive area, since we had a tent, right next to the unbelievably clean and private restrooms. The kids had easy access to the frog pond and lake which they enjoyed sitting by every morning. There was a large kitchen sink with hot and cold water for us to do our dishes. The kids felt really comfortable using the bathrooms because they were so private and similar to what they would use at home. There were activities all day long. The kids especially enjoyed watching Captain Magic who performed cool tricks and made all of the kids animal balloons. We really enjoyed the playground , pool, paddle boats and goats. It was an easy 15 minute drive to Presque Isle where we enjoyed the beach daily. There is a well stocked general store on the campground and a Giant Eagle and K-Mart just minutes away if you forgot anything. We were so sad to leave and cannot wait to come back to this superbly clean, friendly and safe campground.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nattydread35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at the Erie KOA on a Sat & Sun night and had a wonderful stay. Every worker that we came across was extremely friendly and hospitable. The entire campsite was clean and very organized, including the bathrooms & showers. It is very family friendly and quiet. It is about 15mins from Presque Isle & Erie, which are great places to visit. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mknutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is by far the best KOA we have stayed at so far. The staff is just super. I broke my favorite coffee mug and went to the camp store to purchase one of their official KOA mugs only to find out that they had no more. The owner told me not to worry and later on that day brought me a KOA mug from her home. What a nice thing to do. The whole weekend was just as rewarding and that is why we frequent this KOA. All who read this, do yourself a great pleasure and stay at this wonderful place and with the great people who operate the campground. Sonny Bagueros from Canton Ohio

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Happycamper345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed at this KOA in 2009 and thought it's central location was awsome. The campground is on the small side but it is clean and the manager is super nice. There is a small fishing lake, pool, and pavilion. We found the location of this campground the biggest benefit. Only 15 min. to Presque Isle and close to local wineries. Make sure to eat out and get some of the best walleye and perch in the world!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solstice101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKean
9.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
858 reviews
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
6.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erie KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erie KOA

Address: 6645 West Rd, McKean, PA 16426-1128
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in McKean
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to our beautiful "kid friendly" campground offering fun for the whole family. Go fishing or paddle boating in our catch and release pond, swim in our heated pool, ride our pedal carts and banana bikes, or walk our pygmy goats. Throughout the summer we have movies and weekend ice cream socials. Jam to our DJ entertainment on holiday weekends. Enjoy our recreation room for air hockey, pool, ping-pong and arcade games. Special events, kids games and social activities abound. Check out our summer activities listed below. Enjoy our FREE pancake breakfasts on Sundays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erie Koa Hotel Mckean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing