We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone Way Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Coconut Grove, FL
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Gone Way Downhill”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at Hunt's Landing several tiems over the years for family weddings but the last one was at least 10 years ago. What used to be very nice property is run down, dingy, dirty and smelly. I would never stay here again--very sad to see how far it has fallen. Carpeting was dingy, bedding dingy too, sheets torn. bathroom just looked grungy...whole place felt like it was in a time warp. Mattress seems liek they have not cahnged them sicne I was last here 10 years ago-very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flydog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Inn.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 570 491 2400 Ext. 655.

Sincerely,

Suparmanto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    144
    114
    53
    45
See reviews for
165
181
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

There are only a few options in the Port Jervis / Matamoros area. After trying the nearby Days Inn on our last trip (and vowing never to return), we were pleasantly surprised by the Best Western. This hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. The staff is great, and they were very accommodating when we had to change our reservation dates at the last minute. The free breakfast isn't bad either.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pic182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback regarding your recent stay at our Inn. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback will help us to implement improvement. We appreciate your business and hope to have a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Suparmanto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was quite good, with plenty to chose from. Nice sports bar, away from the room areas, so you did not get "crowd noise". Helpful friendly staff. Everyone from the desk clerks to the cleaning staff always had a smile and a hello for you. Would go back again just for the view of the mountains.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business, and hope to have a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/GM 11.13.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

we were short on time so it was great to not have to be driving around for restaurants/lounge. Liked the fridge and microwave in one of our rooms. One just had a fridge.
The Lobster fest looked awsome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mirta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/GM 11.9.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel lobby and hallway space is attractive but dingy. Food in attached restaurant highly overpriced, but we were told the $57 buffet was area famous .... The barmaid in Annie's Lounge was snappy and unwelcoming, but the front desk person was pleasant. The indoor pool wasn't working and the sauna was small and single sex.. The property maintenance is about 7/10. The king size bed is comfortable and room 227 looks out on a lovely pond and the obelisk at high point state park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cvkstchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to let us about your recent stay at our hotel.
No one is more disappointed than our Team when we failed to provide our guests with the best possible experience they came to expect from Best Western.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 570 491 2400 Ext. 655.

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/GM. 11.9.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is just a nice place to stay. Good restraunt, clena rooms, great staff. Price is OK. Staff is very helpfull. Even though it is somewhat near the highway it was very quiet. Comfy bed and a great nights sleep. Would highly recommend and I always stay at this Best Western when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 786brianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and do hope to have another chance to serve you again. Take care!

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/GM. 11.9.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because the Inn's in the area were all booked because of the Black Bear Film Festival and the price was reasonable. At check-in we thought how nice the hotel seemed and they gave us a few 'freebies'. All of the people at the front desk were professional and polite. They even called our room as we went in to see how we liked the room. The room was nice/clean. Furnished well. Sofa but no table. Our room had a wonderful view of the mountain and lake/pond. Flat screen TV. A nice sized room. Being a careful traveler, I checked for bed bugs - none - but noticed how worn and tattered the mattress was. The bed sheet would not stay on the king sized bed. Annoying. Also, this hotel DOES NOT provide safes in the room. So I had to lug our valuables with us any time I left the room. This surprised us in this day and age. Also, we couldn't understand why management would put smoking and non-smoking rooms next door to each other much less on the same floor. The common hall smelled like an ash tray and the next morning smelled like it had been over-perfumed. Yuck.

The 'free' full hot breakfast was pitiful. Yes, they had scrambled eggs and potatoes but the bread and danish were stale. The oatmeal was watery with no extras I could see.. The service was slow. No bacon. Things were either very greasy or left out waaay too long. I would have been happier with a continental breakfast - that was fresh.

We went to the lounge/bar for a drink our first night stay (we stayed 2 nights) and there was a rowdy, obnoxious crowd in the party room who decided to spill over into the lounge just before the event had ended. We were told that this type of crowd frequents this hotel often. One time a wedding party got out of control and the police needed to be called. Really?!

Too bad our experience was so-so because this could be a fantastic hotel! A little re-org, better food and keep the riff-raff out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake/pond not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsV75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive everyday to provide memorable stay for our guests, and I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. Your feedback is truly important to us so that we could implement improvement.

Should you travel through our area again, please try us one more time, so that we can show you that improvement has been made. Again, thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/GM. 10.27.13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamoras
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.4 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing

Property: Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Address: 120 Route 6 and 209, Matamoras, PA 18336-2056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Matamoras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At Hunt`s Landing Hotel Matamoras
Best Western Hotel Matamoras
Best Western Matamoras
Matamoras Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing