We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, but room was not desirable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The first thing that hit us when we walked in the room were the two very small double beds. I mean very small. Then we noticed a laminated card on the bed that said "Give us a 10 rating!" There was another card like this on the night table , as well as in the bathroom. Hmmmm, seems like they're a bit demanding of that "10" rating....why don't they just work for it? I should also mention we saw the same sign IN THE ELEVATOR!! Really? What is going on? Our room thermostat wouldn't adjust. We kept turning it down, and it was still so hot, so we opened the window- December 31st and it was 12* outside. Yes.

Though the staff was friendly, no one went out of their way to be helpful or nice. We asked for a local paper to check out the weather report, and we were told to "go to the gift shop and buy a NY Times". NYC was 2 hours away.

We decided to check out lunch at the restaurant and walked in to see people eating, but no one to seat us. The sign said "please wait to be seated" so we waited, and waited until finally my boyfriend went into the "Staff" area and asked if we could have a table. We were told the restaurant had closed at 2pm, and that we could "go to the bar and eat barfood". Leaving, we noticed a sign in the corner, turned so you couldn't read it. When we turned it around it said "Dining room closed." Ahhh, maybe they should put that out BY THE DOOR when the dining room is closed. That would help!

The bartender/waitress in AAnnie's Lounge was very nice and friendly. No complaints there. The food was good, too. We went back that night for the Seafood Buffet, and it was delicious. However poor planning caused a lack of clean plates in the dining room and people were getting upset waiting for more plates. It was, after all, New Year's Eve, they should have been prepared. Everyone had to have reservations, couldn't they make sure they had enough clean plates?

We would recommend coming here for the buffet but NOT TO STAY. The Hampton Inn, next door looked very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms are not updated, clean but shabby. It was easy to hear the people on either side of us, as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fromroyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 592 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed eating at this hostelry. The dining area is worn and out-of-fashion but clean, and the servers are cheerful and well-informed. The breakfast was hot and generous.
The hotel, however, is a ratbag. Our room was stone-cold when we arrived with a single heater unit blasting away like a hurricane in the corner -- we never figured out how to turn it off. The carpet was dirty, the towels were stained, the sheets were clean but the bed-maker had left behind several long, dark hairs.
It is a very good thing we were worn-out and ready to sleep anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Traveling on Christmas Eve Day, we found that many restaurants close early. We were delighted to find the food service at the Best Western where we stayed, then enjoyed a complimentary breakfast on Christmas morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank AliceF949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

we stayed at the best western on December 29 th. we go to our room. it's a handicapped room but we are not handicapped. we notice how the bed was very springy and when I stood up to press on it it sunk about 2 feet. we asked to change rooms. the view was nice but once again the bed had a cheap design. as I layed on the bed I could feel the whole bed shake. if I had to describe it in one word it felt like a trampoline. we stayed that night and our backs were sore the next morning. the staff did not care if we were leaving or not. for breakfast I had a vegetarian omelette. the mushrooms we got looked like slimy snails. the peppers and onions were just thrown in and not even cooked.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bressaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Yet again the restaurant is the weak link in the chain. We've stayed here on several occasions, and yet again the restaurant let us down. It remains the weakest part of an otherwise decent place.
The dinning room was in disarray due to the holiday(I'm guessing?) chairs left out in walkways, no plates,cups etc. for the breakfast buffet line. Front desk staff is always friendly and most accommodating. Sadly the restaurant staff often failed to return with items (water,etc.) requested.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank objets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

a great hotel!! with great serivce!! been there for a few weekends, the stuff are very nice! in the hotel there's a great restraunt!! with an amazing food and alcohol, karioke and good musice (=
very nice people. a few walking min from K-mart, 3 min driving from wallmart.
i really liked it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The room was impressive and the all you can eat seafood buffet was well worth it,but i'm a pretty good eater, the grounds are beautiful this time of year. Saw plenty of wildlife from back courtyard:deer,song birds,groundhog,and geese

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamoras
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
670 reviews
3.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
221 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
43 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
6.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#4 of 6 in Milford
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing

Address: 120 Route 6 and 209, Matamoras, PA 18336-2056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Matamoras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Price Range: $109 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At Hunt`s Landing Hotel Matamoras
Best Western Hotel Matamoras
Best Western Matamoras
Matamoras Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing