We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have been staying at this property for a number of years and were very disappointed in the rundown condition of the hotel and the smell in the hall and rooms. Rooms were not very clean. Pool closed since last spring? Seafood buffet also did not live up to what they say they offer. One small piece of prime rib was served in three hours and only seven people got a chance to taste it. Just a few dried out cake/pie desserts were displayed. We saw a table next to us served cannoli's so we asked for some and told there were no more left. Serving uttensils at buffet hot stations so caked with food very unappitizing. Our server was so slow clearing dirty plates we ended up bussing our own table. This used to be a good place but we wont go back again. I'm sorry to say the food, service and cleaniness of the place has significantly deteriorated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytraveling140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    142
    114
    53
    43
See reviews for
162
179
41
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

There was a musty smell on the entire 3rd floor as soon as you stepped out of the elevator. I opened the bed to find a hair which did not belong to either of us ! Entering in the bathroom to see a hair on the tissue box too. This is totally unacceptable.We were in a king jacuzzi suite and didn't feel like it was an upgraded room at all. The jacuzzi only had 2 working jets out of 6. I went to the desk to say I wanted a complete bed change and and covers for the couch (it was stained and ripped) which they did.Who wants to go through all of this for a stay??? The pool is closed "indefinitely" we were told, but only when we asked. The seafood feast was good and bad -I say bad because what they advertise will be served is inaccurate.Many items are not available at all and some items are so limited (prime rib -tasted good but was too tough to chew) that only a handful of patrons receive any. We will not stay at this property again. I think the motto here is -we will take your $$$ and run. We did not get what we paid for.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton Inn - really stay at the Hampton Inn, it has to be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel1147802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matamoras hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Nice surprise on a long trip. Stopped here at 2:00 a.m. Quick check in, reasonable price. Slept well in comfortable bed with clean rooms. Beautiful lake outside our window. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Very few nice hotels in this area if traveling north. Glad we found this one which was clean and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had real trouble finding a hotel for one weekend night that had any kind of decent rating on TA. We ended up 40+ miles from our destination at the Best Western in Matamoras, PA spending more than we wanted. We should have stayed at a "NoTell Motel" for better value and service.
I booked through Expedia and was confirmed for a standard two double beds. When we checked in, the room was a King bed. We were two friends on a trip and were not about to share a bed! The front desk could/would do nothing since they were 100% booked and more - they just didn't care. If we left, they would certainly fill the room. The room had a pull out couch (picture the rack from the Inquisition!) and that is where my buddy slept-ouch!
When we opened the bed, we found a spent beer can (see photo) next to the couch. So much for good housekeeping.
The toilet, when flushed, ran on and on. You had to manually reseat the flapper valve in the tank to quiet the leak - really annoying in the middle of the night.
The room smelled of something chemical like "Fabrese" which gave me a sore throat and bothered my eyes in the night. We eventually slept with the window open although it was 40 degrees outside.
The microfridge in the room sat on the floor - not on a stand or table - and was old and scarred. (See photo) It looked like an alley cat after a fight! Not at all inviting.

When we checked out at 6AM we gave the front desk the beer can and told them the cleaners had obviously missed it and told them about the smell - I essentially got an "Oh Well - why are you telling me?" from the clerk on duty.

For what we paid, and the fact I am a Gold Elite member in Best Western rewards, I would have expected more courtesy and just plain better customer service. Do yourself a favor and stay next door!

Room Tip: First floor = musty smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tridcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

On the plus side, the room was spacious and well-furnished. There was nice water pressure in the shower unlike many hotels these days. The free self-serve breakfast had a nice variety. The property is showing its age, but rate is reasonable. On the downside, the room had a very stale odor; possibly it used to be a smoking room and the residue lingers. After awhile my throat became irritated. The mattress was saggy. There was hair on the bathroom floor. Lastly, an annoying mechanical noise outside the room came on and off seemingly every few minutes all night long. It wasn't the most restful room. I wish I had selected another hotel in the area.

Room Tip: If your room has an unpleasant odor or you hear noises, ask for another room right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

This Best Western is an oasis in a long stretch with little civilization en route to Boston from the South. To me it is so good to stop somewhere that is not a cookie-cutter limited service hotel, that I do not mind that It is more than a little bit worn at the edges. As I enjoyed a well-made martini at the restaurant while looking over the menu and hearing the waitress tell all the ingredients in the $59 all-you-can-eat lobster buffet (which we passed on), I kept watching for Robert Irvine to show up. I chose the salmon; it was overcooked and covered with an uninspired bourbon sauce. Still, the staff was friendly, the rooms were comfortable, and the experience was a welcome rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back and see us again soon.
If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 570 491 2400

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We've been staying at Hunt's Landing since it was built and run by the Hunt Family back in the 80's. It was sold a while back and the new owners have maintained the same high standards. I moved out of the area a year ago and on a trip to the Poconos stopped for the night with my daughter and grandson. The staff is very friendly and efficient and the food is great. A free hot breakfast buffet is a treat. We'll stay again and again.

Room Tip: A room in the back overlooking the pond is nice and quiet. Keep away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnB144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suparmanto, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at our hotel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 570 491 2400

Sincerely,

Suparmanto/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamoras
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.4 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
15.2 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing

Property: BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing
Address: 120 Route 6 and 209, Matamoras, PA 18336-2056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Matamoras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn at Hunt's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn At Hunt`s Landing Hotel Matamoras
Best Western Hotel Matamoras
Best Western Matamoras
Matamoras Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing