We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Stewie's Family Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Matamoras
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wallkill
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Like a small diner, so sometimes it's too full to be able to get a table. Food is good, though, and very reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average food good prices”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This restaurant needs a bit of a décor update. Average comfort food good prices. Restaurant a bit on the small side it does fill up fast. A good burger type joint. Wide range of menu options with desserts and milkshakes. A great place to take kids that wont break the bank.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We went to Stewarts on the way out of town on our way home after a visit to the area. We had passed the diner the night before when looking for a place for dinner and decided to visit the next day.

The service was a little flaky - refills were slow and it took us a while to get our check - but the food was really good. We started with perogies, yummy if greasy, and side salads. I had a great cheeseburger, my husband had a chicken chessesteak and we split an order of fries.

Both burger and cheese steak were great - good portions and well made, half the cheesesteak came home with us. The french fries were terrific, really wonderful! The coffee was good and the prices were reasonable - overall a win and we oonsider it a good find.

I would go to Stewarts again and think you should try it if you are local or just passing through.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diva3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Rootbeer”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

While staying in the Milford PA area we found this great little place called Stewarts! It is a family ran business and tells a little about the family on the cover of their menu. The food is really good. However if you have the 4 piece chicken meal expect a little wait. But boy is it worth every minute of it..
Hot juicy flaky it was just like moms!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyLefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Great Little Dinner Just Over the Border”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This definitely is a local's favorite kind of place. It's just up the road from the state welcome center in Matamoras and well worth the drive. Despite its small size, it has a very nice menu complemented by a number of daily specials -- all offered at very reasonable prices. The soups are particularly good. Whether you are traveling east or west on I-80 between New York and Pennsylvania, this is a great place to stop and relax over a pleasant meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewie's Family Restaurant also viewed

Matamoras, Pocono Mountains Region
Matamoras, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Matamoras, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Stewie's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing