We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has Hamptonality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First thing I want to mention (as I read in previous reviews prior to our trip so I was prepared) the hotel is very difficult to get to. They do not have signs. You either drive as if you are going to the Bed Western or to the Perkins. You can see the Hampton but are not sure which road to drive on. Just a few signs would help so very much.

This hotel is consistent with the Hampton Inn brand. The outside of the property is landscaped beautifully and kept neat and clean. The inside is clean, neat and also consistent with the brand. That Hampton consistency is what keeps us Hampton customers, we know what to expect and we know we are going to like it.

The front desk staff was helping a guest when we arrived but as soon as she finished she promptly checked us in. She was friendly and check-in was quick but complete. Our room was very clean and had all the necessary items.

Our toilet kept running, it wasn't loud enough to keep us from sleep but in the morning we reported it to Kelsey at the front desk. While we were out for the day she apparently had someone from maintenance fix the problem. The housekeeping staff did a fine job while we were out for the day, we returned to a fully refreshed room. We asked Ashlee at the front desk for a recommendation for supper. She suggested The Grill, a sports bar. At first we thought "not a sports bar", but she seemed so confident in her recommendation we tried it. Thanks, Ashlee, we loved it (see my review on Trip Advisor).

Both mornings the breakfast area was staffed by Cassandra and Rosemary. These two gals did a fine job of keeping the area refilled and refreshed. They even came around and cleared your plates. The food was typical Hampton Inn breakfast buffet, but that's the consistency that we like.

Only three minor things were cons in my book: 1. There was no arm chair in the corner for reading, the only chair was at the desk. 2. The AC/Heating unit rattled a bit, so if you are a light sleeper have cotton balls with you. 3. Some of the tables in the lobby/breakfast area had bench seating that had very soft cushions which you sank down into, making it difficult to reach the table and uncomfortable.

The pros FAR outweigh the cons. If you are in this area you will not be sorry if you stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeDeePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 696 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were traveling to the midwest from the Boston area and didn't know how far we were going to travel the first day. At 10pm and running our of driving stamina (after a bit of research on the iPad) we called the Matamoras Hampton Inn and asked for a room. They were very accommodating, providing me with my corporate rate, and we were in bed by 11pm. The location right off I-84 on the border of NY and PA was very convenient, and we enjoyed the view of the Delaware River out back in the morning. After a decent breakfast (wish Hampton would upgrade their styrofoam and plasticware), we were on our way.

Despite the stifling heat and humidity outside, the air conditioning worked well (though we didn't really feel like using their duvets - a thinner blanket would have worked better and we could've turned the AC temperature up a degree or two).

We noticed the exceptional cleanliness of the place; it looked and smelled very new, unlike other Hampton Inns we've stayed at.

All in all, a great stay - just wish we had more time to enjoy it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shartwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stumbled upon a reservation/stay at this place, needing something near Milford, PA. We were very, very pleased with this place. Nothing, absolutely nothing was out-of-place. The place was super-clean. We got exactly what we expected for the price paid: clean, efficient, pleasant, and orderly. Breakfast was first-rate, and the pool was quite nice. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel the past 4 years on the way to the Poconos. It's a comfortable place to sleep after driving from Boston. I just wish the rooms were bigger. We had a roll away in our room with 2 queens and its hard to fit that bed in that room as well, but my kids need their own beds. The breakfast is good, lots of variety and my kids enjoy making make your own waffles. We will stay there again next year on our way to the Poconos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this Hampton Inn - and it was just as good as first, 2 years ago! The staff is the friendliest at the front desk and always greet you with a warm and welcoming smile upon arrival. They are very helpful with dining ideas too. The hotel has an indoor pool that is kept very clean - and a great respite from the heat (our wish was the pool area was sound proof - as if there are kids the sound is extra loud). The room was VERY comfortable and very large. It was convenient with a microwave and decent sized fridge with a working freezer. The bathrooms were very large too. The room was also extremely clean. The bathroom needed some light fix up - loose valve in the shower area and toilet seat needed to be realigned - other that the room was perfect. Breakfast is included. I am not a huge fan of Hampton Inn breakfasts - I think as a chain the juice, fruit and food quality could be improved - but all in all there is something for everyone - I generally stick to a yogurt and fruit. The hotel appears to be in the middle of nowhere - but is you want to see Milford, PA - trust me - this is the BEST location. I have stayed at every place one can stay besides the motels in this area. The hotel is clean, fresh and efficient - plus it has a pool! The fancy Inns in town are pretentious and the bed and breakfasts are less than quiet being near the main street. This is a few miles outside of town - and you can head to town and have dinner or take a drive to Dingman Ferry falls and the Delaware Water Gap. We were there to visit our child at camp - but there are plenty of art galleries in Milford plus if you have time there all types of water activities to enjoy on the Delaware River like tubing, canoeing, kayaking, etc. Ever since the Hampton Inn Matamoras was built our visits to Milford, PA improved 100%! Don't think twice - book! Last try the newer Two River Grill restaurant 2 miles from the hotel in Matamoras - fantastic American cuisine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway side to ensure a quiet room. Bring a bathing suit - great pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4ever10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

On a short family trip, we decided to splurge on one of the more expensive hotels in Milford/Matamoras - the Hampton Inn - due to reviews praising its service and facilities. While the hotel was fine, the service was somewhat lackluster. On arrival, a bathroom fixture was broken. While we were put in another room, the process for doing so was frustrating and shot through with poor communication and lack of concern for its inconvenience. The hotel itself was decent enough, but that encounter immediately on arrival didn't do a lot to make us feel as if the relative premium we had paid for an upgrade in quality and service had been worthwhile. We'd consider coming back, but not eagerly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Someone forgot to tell this Hampton Inn it wasn't a Hilton. Great staff. Beautiful rooms they were fresh and crisp. No hotel smell at all. Huge lobby/breakfast area. Bed could be a little firmer but that's just my preference, not a negative. Staff referred us to a great place for dinner. Room key got us 10% off

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrinkstatenisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamoras
4.8 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
393 reviews
16 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
229 reviews
5.5 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
44 reviews
21.9 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Matamoras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Matamoras

Address: 122 Westfall Town Dr, Matamoras, PA 18336-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Matamoras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Matamoras 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in August of 2009, the 98 room Hampton Inn Matamoras is conveniently located off of I-84 within close range of New York and New Jersey. We offer a free deluxe Continental Breakfast, a 24hr fitness center as well as an indoor salt water pool for your rest and relaxation. Quaint Milford, PA is within a short distance for sightseeing and antique shopping. There are a variety of restaurants nearby and don't forget to explore the Delaware Water Gap as well as Lake Wallenpaupak with hiking, waterfalls and canoeing! We are the proud winner of the Lighthouse Award for 2010, 2011 and 2012 which is given to the top 5% of Hampton Inns and the top 5% of Hampton Inn & Suites. We have also recieved the Expedia Insiders' Select Award for 2013, which is only given to 650 properties worldwide. Let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelPower, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Matamoras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Matamoras Hotel Matamoras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing