We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise for a hotel not in a busy area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Certificate of Excellence
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice surprise for a hotel not in a busy area”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn to attend a party in the area. We arrived later on Sunday night. After a smooth check-in, we headed to the lounge/eating area to watch some Sunday Night Football. It was nice to be able to sit around and bring down a drink and watch the game on a bigger tv.

The room was nice and clean. You could smell how clean it was as soon as you walked in. The pillows could have been a little firmer, but other than that it was really nice. The bathroom was large and well kept up.

My husband and son used the workout room and were greatly pleased. The pool looked really nice, but we didn't have the time to use it.

The hot continental breakfast buffet was good. We all really enjoyed the bagel toppers that were served. I would love to be able to buy them for home but don't think I can.

My biggest complaint with any Hilton property is that they do not have regular tea bags. They have a nice variety of Bigelow Tea, but not a plain, regular Lipton/Tetley Tea bag. I guess I will have to remember to bring my own tea bag next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSalbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton1nn, General Manager at Hampton Inn Matamoras, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff here takes great pride in all they do and we try to meet as many of our guests' needs as possible. In regards to your need for Lipton, I can relate as that is all my mom drinks, so in our property we do have a box set aside for guests like yourself. I can't speak for other properties, but since it is one request that we get often enough, it warrants having a little stash. Hope it helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    148
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
254
193
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MOBILE
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Arrived at the Hampton in Matamoras after a harrowing 3 days on the road in terrible rain, then fog, and thousands of trucks and cars doing their best to make travelling as hellish as possible. Check in was fast and easy, room was fantastic. Very clean, no smell, great heat and a/c. We were there for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. Nice breakfast every morning in the lobby. Plenty of places closeby to eat. Very quiet. Close to several other cities that were a little larger than Matamoras that had quite a few nice small shops and eateries. About 1 1/2 hours from NYC. Can catch the train in Port Jervis, about 5 miles away from hotel. A wonderful professional theatre (Tri State Actors Theatre) in Newton, NJ where we saw "A Christmas Carol". About a 40 minute ride, but worth it. That's another review, I guess. Great stay, good people, nice rooms. Sort of strange entrance, but easy once you see it. Turn into like you're going to Perkins Restaurant, then immediate left. We missed it at first, but really easy once you're there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlRokr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the last few years, and without fail I have been impressed with the service here. Staff are professional, friendly and really seem to care about their guests. It is a relatively new hotel, well taken care of, and the free breakfast is more than adequate. Rooms are inviting and comfortable, and the free internet is always appreciated. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Passing through from one destination to another, this was a perfect over night stop. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was helpful and the breakfast the next morning was good.

The only problem was getting to the hotel. You can see it from the main road but it takes a convoluted path by the hotel next to it, to get there. Really, a minor issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddleskiyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. I especially appreciate the practice of providing duvet covers that are cleaned for each guest. The complimentary breakfast was served in a pleasant, large dining area and the selection was as good as usually served in other hotels for up to $12.00. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel very clean. Every emploee said hello or how can they can help you. I have stayed in many hotels in the united States and many contries. The best experience yet anywhere. Small town with great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier PA
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was surprised to find a Hampton in a town this size, and quite out of the way, on a lonely stretch of I-84. Still, I was very glad to find one here. The hotel is the usual quality Hampton experience, but with AAA discount I got out of there for under $120. Typical, great Hampton king bed. The pool is excellent and the fitness center is small but OK. The spacious breakfast area/foyer was sparkling clean and the coffee was good, with some nice options for food. HEADS UP: there is no signage; you have to go through the Best Western driveway to get to the Hampton, which you can see from the road. I followed my nose and got to it in a roundabout way. Dining options nearby are quite limited. There is a small plaza with small restaurants, and a Perkins about a half-mile away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamoras
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn at Hunt's Landing
3.2 mi away
Scottish Inns Milford
Scottish Inns Milford
#3 of 6 in Milford
218 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#2 of 6 in Milford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
5.5 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
41 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 9 in Middletown
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Matamoras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Matamoras

Property: Hampton Inn Matamoras
Address: 122 Westfall Town Dr, Matamoras, PA 18336-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Matamoras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matamoras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Matamoras 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in August of 2009, the 98 room Hampton Inn Matamoras is conveniently located off of I-84 within close range of New York and New Jersey. We offer a free deluxe Continental Breakfast, a 24hr fitness center as well as an indoor salt water pool for your rest and relaxation. Quaint Milford, PA is within a short distance for sightseeing and antique shopping. There are a variety of restaurants nearby and don't forget to explore the Delaware Water Gap as well as Lake Wallenpaupak with hiking, waterfalls and canoeing! We are the proud winner of the Lighthouse Award for 2010, 2011 and 2012 which is given to the top 5% of Hampton Inns and the top 5% of Hampton Inn & Suites. We have also recieved the Expedia Insiders' Select Award for 2013, which is only given to 650 properties worldwide. Let us show you why. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Matamoras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Matamoras Hotel Matamoras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing