We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train watchers paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marysville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Marysville B&B and Inns
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Train watchers paradise”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you love to watch and photograph trains going over the Rockville Railroad bridge, then this is the place to go to! Very large outside deck set up for watching the trains, birds or just relaxing. When the weather turns bad just go inside to the viewng room. The trains action is never ending and the viewing room is set up for just that, great viewing. You can follow the train action on the large ATCS monitor in the viewing room. Rooms are always neat & very clean. Very friendly staff. Excellent for bird watching too. The owner, Keith knows the area and best places to dine. Have stayed here several times and will stay here whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
25
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The steam weekend was just another in a string of EXCELLENT stays that my wife & I have enjoyed here at the Bridgeview. The owner, Keith, is a great host and has incredible knowledge of the Railroad and events in the surrounding area.
We have stayed at this B&B at least twice a year (and sometimes more) since it opened in 2008. My wife was a bit worried the first time we stayed because she thought the trains would keep her awake at night but this has never been a problem. The place is so well insulated that you would never know that you're sleeping beside a RR track.
Cleanliness was another thing she was also concerned about. Not a problem. Keith (and his crew) keep this place IMMACULATE. Again, it's been this way since we started staying here 4 years ago.
We already plan to be back in November and look forward this year to a Mid-Winter vacation beside the trains and the Susquehanna.
This place is great for the railfan and a great place to enjoy the river and scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent the weekend meeting other guests for the steam excursion over the rockville bridge at the Bridgeview.We all had a grrrrreat time.Keith the owner was even nice enough to allow people for a very small charge to come onto his property and view the bridge with the NKP 765 going over along with other trains.He had everything organized keeping the non guests off the top of the deck,leaving only the paying guests to mingle on to take video and pics of the weekend events.Heard a couple of complaints about the charge but he has to look out for his business ,with insurance and keeping the best spot on the deck for the weekend paying guests.Our neighbors came up,not even into trains but wanted to witness the events on Saturday and had no problem paying the 5.00 charge,we will be back in October..My wife and I ALWAYS have a gret relaxing time and Keith is great to hang around with and talk to.

Room Tip: Depends on your preferance,outside rooms have views of bridge or if ya want alittle less noise there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehoopany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the Bridgeview. We were impressed with all we saw there. The place is spotless. The train action is never ending. The view from the deck is second to none. The owner Keith is a great host, and very knowledgeable about the railroad scene as well as the wild life. Just a super experience. Thanks Keith for all the hard work in your beautiful place. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having stayed at the Bridgeview at least a dozen times since it's opening a number of years ago, I have yet to find a more pleasant way to escape from everyday drudgery and spend an enjoyable weekend watching nature and trains with my friends, and fellow guests. The accommodations are spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, thanks to Keith (the proprietor) and his staff's easygoing disposition and attention to details. Breakfast in the common kitchen-dining room is always fun with generous amounts of coffee and toasts, their aromas mixing with the excitement of guests planning their activities for the day. The staff's knowledge of local points of interest is a great source of information to this end. The many porches around the building offer areas for congregating with other guests, or solitude when desired. The enclosed viewing room is a great place to escape the heat of the summer or the cold of the winter without missing the views and action on the railroad. It's also the place to relate "war stories" with fellow railfans in the evening. Thanks Kieth, I'll continue my escape every season of the year, again and again!

Room Tip: Some rooms open to the porch, others to the interior. Advise Keith of your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IhorVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was at the Bridgeview B&B for a weekend to watch a steam excursion. Unparralleled view of railroad activity over the Rockville Bridge. Great place to just relax and view the wide Susquehanna River. Rooms are impeccably clean and offer a great night's rest in plush beds. Friendly staff and innkeeper that make you feel at home. Highly recommended to all: railfans, couples, families with children, etc. Looking forward to return for another stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Bridgeview. You do not have to be a Railfan, or even like trains, to appreciate this very relaxed and cosy place.

We came two couples + a one year old child. All of us loved our stay here.
Besides the large deck/terrace, there is a nice lawn outside which our daughter enjoyed a lot.

Breakfast is continental, but you can cook your own eggs/meat if you want. THere are two gas grills outside, which we used twice for burgers and steaks.

We did not do much of the nearby attractions, but the whole area (50 mile radius) seems very family friendly.

Will definitely be back, although it may take a few years as i live in Europe.

Tip: Always book ahead. They only clean and prepare rooms for expected guests. In general, walk in guests are not appreciated.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GreatAL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marysville
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
7.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Harrisburg Hershey
5.1 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 810 S Main St, Marysville, PA 17053-1717
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Marysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Marysville
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisburg Area Lodging.Make Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast your Harrisburg area lodging destination!! Our guests come back year after year for the “home away from home” relaxing atmosphere and impeccable view. Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast is located on the Susquehanna River, overlooking the Blue Mountains and world famous Rockville Bridge. With our spacious, private rooms, Bridgeview Bed & Breakfast is the best place in PA for a good night’s sleep!! Each of our 10 suites are equipped with a private bath, WiFi high-speed internet, individual A/C and continental breakfasts. There are two sitting rooms for your convenience, a large eat-in kitchen and spacious riverfront decks. Visit Harrisburg, Hershey, Gettysburg, Adamstown and PA Dutch Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing