We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pocono Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I have read so many negatives, I felt compelled to write. I went here in February with my hubby for a couple of days to be kid free! It was great! If you want the Hilton go to the Hilton is all I can say. This is not known for it's 5 star luxury. It is known for its cute little romantic cliches - champagne towers, mirrors on the ceiling, etc. Every vacation is all what you make out of it and me and hubby made a great time of it! The food was good as was the entertainment. Put it in perspective you are in the Poconos not NYC! And yes we will definately be back. We had no problems and sorry no horror stories to share. We travel quite a bit, and this is just something completely different which is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bepc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,907 - 1,913 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

I went one year ago to this resort, the first "all-inclusive" resort we tried. We planned months in advance and looked forward with such great anticipation after the raves by their staff and fine looking website. Apon arrival our first sight was a cardboard cut-out of a heart that pointed us in the direction of our resort (our hearts sanked right at this point). Our next sight was a portable neon signed stating "vacancy" at our resort (we knew a huge mistake was made by this point). We entered the unimpressive lobby of the resort just after observing the site for our free snow-mobile excursion site which was a hazard cone marked circle approx 20 feet in diameter (OH THE FUN TO BE HAD...). Next after receiving our "all-inclusive" package in the form of coupons we were directed to where we pick up our welcome items (a jug of bubble bath, two single serving champagne bottles, and a view of the skating rink (a basketball court makeshift)).

Well we were going to make the best of it... off to your juliet sweet room. Our first view was of what could best be described as a porno set just after the latest shooting. The sofa was a reproductive biohazard (stains and all), the curtains were older than my parents, and the shower was a spicket that spit water at you. The circular bed was good in theory however good luck fitting into it.

Oh well, time to go to the romantic buffet. But first we called the included "charriot" ride we were told about (on the phone it was stated a romantic way to get around). Well our chariot arrived in the form of a diesel powered smoke infested van with a typical appearing truck driver. We arrived at our romantic buffet, with tables built for 4 couples at once. How about the drinks? Oh I am sure they are fine if you want to spend $8 per in this "ALL-INCLUSIVE" resort... dont forget the tip they ask for!!! Well the food cant be bad right? Nope, that is unless you feel that country kitchen buffet is not up to par for the $1500 base price for this resort.

After this laugh of a day we cancelled our reservations and stayed at nearby (rock creek?) which was great. The good Lord smiled on us that day, and we had a great vacation.

AVOID THIS RESORT AT ALL COSTS - unless you like pornos, and sleeping on other peoples bio-matter.

Disclaimer: This review was not proof-read for spelling or grammer, I dont have time for that.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank USAFMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Well, I am not sure where to start. I did some surfing of the web before making my reservation. The web site looked good all the things I read lead me to believe that I was in for a great weekend getaway. What a bunch of Bull. Now My boyfriend and I are in our late twenties and we love to travel and stay at great hotels and resorts. So we drive from upstate New York to the middle of nowhere, (I have never seen so many trailer parks in my life) to find what looks like a scene from a deserted cowboy ranch and I was damn near in tears. Already tired from the drive I decided to have an open mind and just see the room before I made my opinion. Well when we checked in, the receptionist area was dark and has this disgusting smell of old cinnamon. I looked at my boyfriend and he knew I was beyond pissed. The lady who checked us in was all excited and telling us that the room was great, with a fireplace and jacuzzi so I'm thinking OK we'll see. Obviously she has never been anywhere except Cove Haven. Don't you know we have to walk up to our room door from outside like we were at summer camp for adults. Serious motel style rooms. If we wanted to stay in a motel we wouldn't have drove the 6 hours and spent this much money but that not the best part. I open the door to our room and it smells like a hospital, the room is dirty and dark. The lights are so dim, I wasn't sure if that was to hid the dirt or what. The great large TV that is advertised was the smallest TV I have ever seen, my children have a bigger one in there room, and because you are in the middle of nowhere you get about 5 channels and they are all news stations. Thank the LORD that we brought out own champagne because all I wanted was a drink.
My boyfriend convinced me not to call the front desk and cuss out whoever picked up the phone. It was late and the closest hotels in the area where about an hour away and neither one of us wanted to get back on the road. Oh, and there is a "Chariot " that will come and pick you up from your room and take you to dinner great right. WRONG, it is a broke down minivan driven my this old man who told us he was around when the highway was first built and he told us about all the great amenities on the property. Seriously! Dinner is in this big cafeteria that smells worse that my kids cafeteria at their school. I would rather have eaten their school lunch that the dinner that we were offered. The great steak dinner was the worst steak I have ever eaten. It comes to the table with one of those plastic covers just like in a hospital, I was starting to wonder if this place use to be a hospital because of all the similarities.
If you have any sense whatsoever do not waste your time or money thinking this will be fun or romantic. It is old and dirty. All those that say they love it and don't understand how I can feel this way were those same people posing next to this huge champagne glass and taking pictures, so tacky. So for them this place is where its at, for the rest of us who want a real resort with some class and great food and entertainment don't even make the mistake to try it for yourself, it will be a nightmare. Your parents wouldn't even like it. Don't do it you will regret it. Just look at some of the pictures that are on this site of the great times people have had, those pictures are not from the 80's folks they are recent and those people are crazy if this was their idea of a great time. You will feel like you are at a senior citizens home and it is family visiting day. Don't do it! But I know some of you will still go so .... Remember , I TOLD YOU SO!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HappyTravels0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This place is a sweet little setting, with good food, breakfast in bed & dinner included, some nightly entertainment and the rooms are incredible! We stayed in the Fantasy Apple Suite and it lived up to expectations. The room had a heart-shaped jacuzzi tub, a triangular shaped pool, a dry sauna, a fireplace, bose wave radio throughout the ceilings of the whole room, and a mirrored headboard and a mirror mounted on the ceiling above the bed, WOW! yea, we were relaxing all over the place let me tell you.
Back in NY, a night in a simple hotel can cost close to 200 a night, this place usually has specials that can be just as low as that, and you get so much. overall just a really nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nmith511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Me and My fiance stayed in the Garden of Eden apple room. we would recommend this room to others, and we would definitely go back for a weekend getaway. Don't believe all the negative reviews about this place, it all depends on your taste. We liked the fact that we could play music through-out the whole room even the pool area. I guess If we were nitpickers we would find one not-so-nice looking vent on the celling in our room but it didn't bother us, we didn't come to stare at the celling. Our room was very clean, everything we ate was good, and everyone was nice to us. If you want to sit alone at your meals all you need to do is ask the hostess to be seated alone, that's what we did. We also ordered an early breakfast in bed (breakfast sandwich & coffee*which they call 10 mins before they bring it to your room to remind you*) did some activities, and then went for a late full course breakfast in the dining room. we really can't complain about anything. If you have T-mobile for a cell phone provider don't count on having alot of service. we didn't get any service in our room but if we went to the main building we would get service there. We brought our own fire logs for the fireplace,candles,and bubbles.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rapho627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

I would definitely not recommend the Champagne towers. The champagne tub was dirty. The bed had stains. The entire decor was outdated. The housekeeping and room service is very slow. The refrigerator was dirty. Our stay was all inclusive. The food was crappy and service was very lousy. The hostess had lot of attitude. The worst part is they make you share a table at the restaurant with other couples (strangers)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank Travels_Connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This place was amazing, yeah it does have some wear but the staff was great and if their is a problem they take care of it. I overheard someone wanting a different room (not sure of the reason) but the staff took them and upgraded their room. It's all inclusive, the food was great, and the entertainment too. The breakfast in bed was a treat. Nice place to spend a romantic getaway with your husband or significant other. We loved it and will be back. There was so much to do, it depends on the person and what exactly they expect and want to do! The Lakeside was awesome to wake up to and the layout of the room was wonderful

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garykim04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshalls Creek
15.6 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
8 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
668 reviews
13.6 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocono Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Palace Resort

Address: 206 Marquis Road, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Marshalls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Price Range: $177 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pocono Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The couples-only Pocono Palace Resort is ideal for a romantic getaway. Our resort has an indoor/outdoor pool and a 32,000 sq ft sports facility. We're near shopping, horseback riding, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pocono Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocono Palace Hotel Marshalls Creek
Caesars Pocono Palace Poconos
Poconos Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing