We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,163)
Filter reviews
2,164 results
Traveler rating
770
600
310
232
252
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
770
600
310
232
252
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantasy appleroman towersget awaychampagne towerforever loversour honeymoonbreakfast and dinnerping ponggift shoppaddle boatsprivate poolromantic getawayheart shaped pooloutdoor activitiesyear anniversaryan open mindbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,829 - 1,834 of 2,164 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We arrived at Pocono Palace on Friday March 9th. We immediately noticed that the grounds were very nice, even though nothing is in bloom yet. The main building where we checked in was fairly modern and nicely maintained. Our comments about service begin with our experience check-in where we were greeted by a very nice lady named Gail. She was extremely friendly and cheerful, and told us everything that we needed to know about the resort. We make a point of mentioning her name because as we left the building I mentioned to my partner that customer service like hers deserves recognition. Fast forward to our room which was one of the new Roman Tower Suites. We were in room 704 and when we opened the door there was the standard champagne glass jacuzzi directly in front of us. The living room area was appointed with a decent sized sofa and coffee table along with two high-back chairs and a smaller table. To the right and up the first set of stairs was a private heart-shaped pool, and below that a massage table and a very nice sized dry sauna. On the bedroom level there was the (kind of cheesy) round bed, a huge bathroom with a large shower (single shower head) and the shower also had a steam bath. There was room in the shower for two people to sit comfortably. Unfortunately the steam bath feature wasn't working and we did call the front desk to mention this. Unfortunately this wasn't able to be fixed during our stay but it wasn't a deal-breaker. The room was very clean, none of the funky smells some people report, even though ours was a smoking room...(our choice.)

Meals are inclusive, but as many other reviewers have mentioned, drinks are extra which makes this not quite like the all-inclusives at other vacation resorts. No huge deal for us because we always bring our own alcohol. Our first night at dinner was a huge pasta buffet. Neither of us is a fan of gut-buster meals so we were pleased that there was also really good chicken marsala and rice pilaf, along with a very decent green salad. No, this is not gourmet food by "foodie" standards, but it was every bit as good as any nice meal that I prepare at home on a week-night. We each had a cocktail at dinner and they were good although a bit tiny for the price. With tip for drinks we paid about 22 dollars for the two drinks. I should mention that the dining room overlooks a beautiful lake which totally makes up for the fact that the decorating scheme is a combination of rustic hunting lodge battling it out with Roman columns...It was a bit confusing but kind of fun at the same time. Service in the dining room was terrific! Every single person bent over backwards to make sure that everybody was attended to quickly and professionally. The mood during dinner was romantic and candle-light. Breakfast was served in the same restaurant the next morning and again, service was outstanding. We were offered champagne at breakfast (lovely but we aren't much for champagne with our eggs...still many seemed to enjoy it.) We only made it through the first part of the buffet line with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, ham, home fries and tons of really good fresh fruit. There were also Eggs Benedict which looked great but we didn't try. Though we are only good for one plate of food we did notice that many people (mostly the young men!) went up numerous times and came back with plates piled with all sorts of food that must have been good because there seemed to be many trips up to the buffet! Dinner on Saturday night was "Strip Night"...an all you can eat table service meal consisting of strip steak, ribeye, salmon, and I think chicken. We opted for the ribeye and it was very well done. Standard baked potato, green beans that were so good they deserve a mention, and sauteen mushrooms and onions. Appetizers were also offered and we had the mozzarella and tomato stack which was very good. We each had two cocktails on Saturday (I had the Madori Sour which was the drink special, and my partner had margaritas with Petron...4 drinks with tip came to 45 dollars...pricey but we didn't find them to be outrageous. We've paid more and we've paid less...these were about average...) Getting off-track, I forgot to mention that I am a bit of a coffee snob, but their coffee was really, really good.

Activities are included in your stay and we hadn't planned for man-made snow so we really didn't dress for snow-mobiling, although we did see many couples out on the fairly modest trail. We are guessing that the size of the trail likely has something to do with the fact that each day was well over freezing...There were also various games held in the lounge, along with a wine-tasting that was going on in the lounge on the day we arrived. Each evening there is a live band and a comedian though we didn't take part in any of the activities or the live entertainment. It is nice to know that there are things to do outside of eating and hanging out in the room, but quite honestly, with a pool, a jacuzzi, and a steam bath in the room you can pretty much entertain yourselves. This is after all a couples resort and we like to go to the Cove Haven Entertainment Resorts to spend alone time. This is our 5th stay at one of the Cove Haven Resorts and as much as we liked our first 4 trips to Cove Haven, we are now going to spend our time, at least for now, at Pocono Palace. Maybe by the end of the year we will make it to Cove Haven's other resort, Paradise Stream, but for now we just want to go back to the Palace!

Here our our "Pro's" and "Con's"

Pros:
The Roman Towere Suites are the highest end suites and well worth the money. They are spacious, clean, and FUN! The motif is a bit Las Vegas but in a fun way.

Service is absolutely outstanding. They must send each employee to special customer service training and it shows.

The food is really pretty good...not gourmet but very good. If you are a foodie there will be no molecular gastronomy so don't expect it. Do expect that you will find something good to eat and it is all-inclusive.

There are on-site activities which is cool...we didn't need any extra entertaining but again it seemed like many people were really enjoying themselves.

The grounds are very well maintained, walkable, and secluded. I don't think we saw as much as a cigarette butt on the walkways.

Cons:

Drinks can be pricey if you are watching your wallet. No worries though, just bring your own adult beverages from home to enjoy in your room...Soft drinks are free...

There are no paid movies in the rooms at Pocono Palace...If you want anything beyond expanded cable you should bring your own, or you can borrow from guest services...

The round bed can be a bit awkward...not horrible just awkward. It's basically a king-size bed with the corners carved off...It is comfy though...

My biggest con...We have to go back to reality and cannot stay there...This is not an inexpensive place to go so we do have to go back to the real world and work towards our next stay!

Room Tip: Roman Tower Suite is the highest level accomidation. Save up and pick this one!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaDoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for another great review LisaDoreen! We’ll miss seeing you at Cove Haven, but happy you found Pocono Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have been going to Cove Haven Entertainment Resorts (formerly Caesar's) for 20 years. Pocono Palace is our favorite. As "Forever Lovers" we take advantage of discounts and mid-week pricing, as well as a 2 category upgrade when available. We have visited close to 30 times and have rarely been disappointed.

Accommodations: We only book from the Garden of Eden Apple and higher. That way we know that if we can't bump up, we will still have an accommodation we like. We have never, I repeat NEVER encountered bedbugs during any of our visits. I'm sure that issue can be a headache for any resort hotel, because they can easily be brought in by a prior guest. I am happy to say that has never been an issue for us. At every check in, we have been greeted by a clean room. Are some of the accommodations aging? Yes. They are also in the process of renovating. Most recently (the week before Valentine's Day 2012) we stayed in a Champagne Towers and were thrilled to see new carpeting and a/c-heating units. The pools have recently been painted and there are brand new flat screen tv's. If the room smells like cigarettes, you have been given a smoking room. There are plenty of non-smoking rooms. Make sure you state your preference when you make your reservation. All public areas are non-smoking, including the dining room, lounge and nightclub.

Dining: You will usually find breakfast or dinner as a buffet on the weekends when the resort is busier. During the week, it's usually ordered from a menu. There are always three or four choices, and we have found that you can order your meal prepared however you like. We enjoy the breakfast in bed at 8 am, and still make it to the dining room before 11 for "brunch". That usually carries us over until dinner, especially with the hors d'oeuvres in the lounge at 5 pm. We were disappointed when they changed the "breakfast in bed" from a nice full breakfast to a breakfast sandwich on ciabatta bread, but it is still tasty.

Activities: We go to Pocono Palace for a getaway, and therefore pick and choose the activities in which we participate. They are adding different, new activities lately and we really enjoyed ones such as the wine tasting, the cooking show, the "aphrodisiac tasting", and of course the LuvBear hunt (which we found after six weeks of being "lost"). The blindfolded golf cart course was absolutely hilarious. We find the CXO's to be fun and personable. I'm sure that's not the easiest job in the world....especially when the crowds are small. And there's always the occasional drunk who thinks everything he says is absolutely hilarious. I've never seen a CXO lose his/her composure regardless of the audience. Are some activities X rated? You bet! Why not? Let's face it, people don't go there just for the fishing. Participate in as much or as little as you like. We always pick and choose. BTW, the fishing is great and there are tagged trout that will win you prizes. The resort can supply you with poles and bait.

Staff: We have always found the staff to be courteous, attentive, and friendly. If something becomes an issue, they handle it with grace. We were there one time when there was an issue with a water pipe,, turning the water in some of the rooms a dark color. They handed out bottled water, and were booking guests into other resorts until the problem could be solved. We were fortunate enough to be checking out that day. That is the only glitch we have ever experienced.

So many Pocono couples resorts have disappeared, that it's nice to still have a place close by, where we can escape the real world and be "childless" , while enjoying an all adult environment. If you encounter a problem, you need to speak up and bring it to the attention of the management. They will do all they can to take care of the problem. Check your accommodation as soon as you walk in....if it doesn't meet your approval, for whatever reason, go back and speak to the front desk immediately.

Stay three times and become a "Forever Love" which entitles you to really great discounts and upgrades. Those three stays can be as short as one night each, as long as they are on separate occasions.

There is much I have not covered. If you have questions, please feel free to ask!

Room Tip: We book anything from the Garden of Eden Apple or higher. Having a pool in the room is worth it. You do not want to book Club Lodge rooms as they are located directly over the nightclub.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for the helpful, in-depth review toeknee2. We love that you keep coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I booked a weekend here just for the in room pool, jaccuuzi. We booked the Fantasy Apple, because it appeared so romantic. We were very, very wrong. I read ALL the reviews here and thought some were extremely biased, some extremely good and bad. I just figured it to be personal tastes. Well, I am a very easy going person, same as my wife and we aren't uptight kind of people, until we walked into our non smoking room. Then it all went bad quickly. First, the overwhelming smell. Then the very, very worn and dirty carpets. We said maybe the bed area is better. No, worse if you can imagine that, linens in disarray, dated no later than 1984, and pubic hairs in the heart shaped hot tub. Disgusted beyond disgusted, we walked down to the pool area only to find more pubic hair in the very outdated tub/shower that was still stained with what we hope was soap scum. The pool itself was very very small and the floor around it was lifting and cracking badly. Add all this up for the price and we were sorely disappointed. I called the front desk and asked if any other rooms were available to no avail. They offered to come and spray a "special air freshened" as she called it to get rid of the odorous. So I asked about all the pubic hairs and cleaning the room, she offered the spray again. Needless to say we immediately left, with our refund minus the deposit. After a call to my credit card company, all money will be refunded. We drove to NYC that night, stayed in The New York Palace right on Madison Avenue with Tower Club privileges for 50 dollars more than we would've spent here. Don't waste your time at this swingers club with paper thin walls( we could hear the people next door during our walkthrough) unless you enjoy cleaning someone else's pubic hairs up, and smelling old dirty sex.

Room Tip: No rooms are good rooms STAY AWAY!!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

We are extremely saddened by this review and find some comments inappropriate. We take housekeeping very seriously. We are very sorry this was your impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We Stayed the weekend of January 6th and was upgraded to the Roman Towers ( a benifit of
being a forever lover). We checkin in early on the 6th and had the chance to look for the Pocono Palace bear and found it on the archory range with in 20 mins. The next day we did find it again on the driving range but left it for someone else to find. We were given a very soft and heavy set of his and hers robes that they sell in the gift shop for about 100 dollars each. Then that night we went to bingo and horse racing and had a blast. The CXO do all they can to make your stay all about you and your loved one. There is a range of couples there from there twentys to there sixties. Dress code is very casaul and food is always great on Friday and Saturdays. We have never had a bad meal some not as good as ofthers but how cares we did not have to cook. We had a great time and are going back in a few weeks. We can't wait. We have stay here 7 time now in the last year and have enjoyed every stay. We have noticed that most of the bad reviews are mainly the lower rooms (without inroom pools). Do yourself a favor and signup for the email and they always send specials that are not on the website. We go for one on one time alone together like we did when we first got married and this resort makes all this happen everytime. The staff is very helpful and freindly for checkin to check out. Remember it is what YOU make of it. You make your stay special and the Palace helps make your get away time possiable. Here we come winter dog

Room Tip: Bring your own snakes, drinks, firelogs, coffee pot, videos, toys, and alcohol
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mercuryct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you for the great review Mercuryct. If anyone is interested, you can visit our website to sign up for email offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was our second visit, but our first to pocono palace. The first time we stayed at Cove Haven which we absolutely love. Me and my husband weren't so happy because our room had not been cleaned properly. The bathroom had an used old soap laying by the shower, the jacuzzi was dirty and the refrigerator had drinks from the previous couple. I wad so unhappy and displeased because we paid $350 for a room that was not cleaned properly. Other than that, we did not have any problems. Breakfast and dinner were great. The activities were fun. We went snowmobiling. The indoor pool and jacuzzi area is nice. The lake view hike is beautiful and the bar area was ok, not the best. We rather go back to Cove Haven. We want to become forever lovers but if we have a bad experience again I don't know if it will happen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gelmendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

I am very sorry to hear this Gabyelmendorf. If you haven’t heard from our Resort Manager yet, he will be calling very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews