We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsense, clean and inexpensive motel near Nemacolin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Markleysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Trail Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markleysburg
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've reviewed Nemacolin before, so my readers know how crazy I am about the place. When I don't have $400 to spend on lodging there, I always choose the National Trail motel. At around $60 a night, I'm five minutes away from Nemacolin at a clean, safe hotel with amazing mountain breezes blowing softly through my window. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We would like to Thank You for staying with us when visiting Nemacolin. We pride ourselves on being clean, having a safe environment for our guest and being affordable. Thank you for your recommendation and loyalty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I knew when I made the reservation that this was a basic local motel with no amenities and that would have been fine. But the room we had had dirty torn wallpaper on the walls with stains on it, no plug in the bathroom for hair dryer or electric shaver, cigarette burn in the bed spread, but the worst thing was the dead bolt on the door didn't even work!!!!!!!!! We didn't know this until we were ready to go to bed so too late to go thru the hassle of contacting owners to try and change rooms. There's no phone in the room so to call owners, you have to use your personal cell phone. For what we got (or didn't get) I thought the place was priced about $10 - 15 too high. I've stayed in better places than this for less money in their on season. I will not return here, there is no reason why a motel facility's door should not lock properly, that's just lack of normal maintenance!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank goldwingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We would like to thank you for staying with National Trail Motel. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The motel units were built over 50 years ago and back then they didn't put outlets in every room and where they did put them, there were few installed. We are trying to do the updating but this takes time and money. We bought the motel a few years ago and have put a new roof on the back 10 units, updated several of the rooms with more to do, repainted the back 10 units and a lot more. If there was a cigarette burn in your comforter we apologize. I do not know which room you had stayed in because no one came to the office and complained about the comforter or dead bolt but we will go through and check them to get that fixed as soon as possible. We do not lock the dead bolts when we clean the rooms to know it didn't work properly. As far as the phones, NO we do not have phones in our rooms. Most people have cell phones now days and we live in the main building if there are any problems. Again, sorry you won't be back to stay with us, but we could have solved all of these issues if you would have come to the office to inform us about them when you noticed them or before you checked out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a pleasant stay, the room was clean, quiet and homey. The room rate was very affordable, and the staff was very accommodating. They may lack in some amenities, but they more than make up for it with their friendly service and reasonable price. The location was just right and is handy to a couple of real good local restaurants. These folks run a very charming motel and I'm sure the next time we pass through the area we will be staying there again! Thanks for the pleasant stay National Trail...see you again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank You for choosing National Trail Motel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I organized a family gathering at The Yough lake and this was one of the closest motels in the area and they accomodated our needs. The rooms are basic, but has everything you need for a few nights stay. The rooms are clean and have nice bath towels. Each room had a small air conditioner, refrig, and microwave. Some things are outdated, but the price is right for a nice comfortable place to stay. There is plenty of outdoor space for gathering with family and friends. Staff was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshaltaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for choosing National Trail Motel to spend the weekend with your family. We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and your time on the lake. Hope to see you all next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The owners were very accommodating, when we first arrived we got a room without a closet and one small dresser which was a problem because there were 3 of us and we were staying 5 days. My husband explained the situation and we were upgraded to 2 rooms with a connecting door at no additional charge. If you have a problem all you really need to do is let them know and they are very accommodating, the sheet on the bed kept coming off, we told them and they changed it. We asked about ice so they gave us a filled ice bucket.

There was a little porch we sat on in the evening and watched the Hummingbirds, they were great to watch. I've never seen so many Hummingbirds in one place, they have to have been feeding them for 20 years with generations of Hummingbirds coming back.

The reason I gave this place 3 stars instead of 4 is that it is very basic, no one should go here expecting luxury, it's a family owned motel by the side of the road, it's a bit dated, but thats part of the charm, it's not a resort with a spa. This is a rural area and it is a good value ( we paid $80 per night ) vs the expensive luxury resort in the area. Expect a clean room, a small refrig, microwave and a shower, they do give you some cups, shampoo and soap (no bathtub, no hairdryer).

The location is perfect.

Room Tip: If you need space to store your things the double room next to the office does not have a closet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We would like to thank you for your recent stay with us at National Trail Motel. There are a lot of hummingbirds in the Summer here and we just love to watch them "play". They come back every year and we get to watch their babies grow every year. We are glad to hear you enjoyed them as well and hope to see you all the next time you travel through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I would highly recommend staying here we came across this place when traveling with my husband and two daughters, it's a family establishment .... The rooms were Clean...the beds comfortable....the motel was quiet and affordable. The staff was friendly I high enjoyed my stay there

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank You for choosing National Trail Motel during your travels. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with your family and hope to see you all again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Booking a motel without knowing much about it is always scary. I went on a trip with my son and really wanted him to enjoy. We arrived at the hotel very late in the evening. The hotel was perfect for what we needed clean comfortable and affordable. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank YoPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luella H, Owner at National Trail Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing National Trail Motel when coming to the Laurel Mountains. We are glad to hear you and your son enjoyed your first stay and hope you have many more with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markleysburg
9.7 mi away
Historic Summit Inn
Historic Summit Inn
#2 of 4 in Farmington
460 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
22.9 mi away
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
#1 of 1 in Jones Mills
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Yough Valley Motel
Yough Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Friendsville
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to National Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Trail Motel

Address: 4617 National Pike, Markleysburg, PA 15459-1033
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Markleysburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markleysburg
Price Range: $50 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Trail Motel is family-owned and operated right here in Markleysburg, PA. Since purchased 30+ years ago, we’ve treated every customer like they were a part of our family. Our rooms are on the small side, but they have all of the basic essentials, and come with a personal touch. Most importantly our rooms are CLEAN! Luella and Terry have recenlty taken over the family business from their parents and are currently doing some renovations. We are located 5-15 minutes of all local attractions in the Laurel Mountains, including but not limited to, Laurel Caverns, Nemacolin Woodlands, Fort Necessity, Braddocks Grave, Ohiopyle, Yough River, Roaring Knob Speedway, Nemacolin Shooting Academy, Kentuck Knob, and many more. July 2013 Lady Luck Casino will be opening 2.5 miles from our location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing