We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thank you from our dog!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We spent just one night at the Ascot House but were enchanted. A dog-friendly bed & breakfast that manages to combine an elegant, romantic get-away with a relaxed air of comfort. Our dog was particularly happy with the spacious gardens for her to run around in and the walkability of the whole town of Marietta.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 204 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2008

Ascot House Bed and Breakfast in historic Marietta PA is OUTSTANDING!! We had the best experience ever and have already booked to go back in December for the Candlelight House Tour! Ascot House was featured on the tour last year I think , and this year the English garden will be on the tour.
The gorgeous home is so elegant and yet comfortable. Utterly romantic getaway! Parking is easy right in front. After check in we shared wine and cheese with our hostess. Mrs. Codd is the quintessential hostess - personable, available, anticipated our ever desire, and ensured our comfort. Her cooking is amazing! WOW! Worth the trip just for the food. Speaking of food there was a great French restaurant just walking distance from Ascot House.
Our room was huge and comfortable and had a lovely 4 poster bed and an enormous brand new jacuzzi tub bathroom complete with fireplaces. Every room we saw was gorgeous.
This is by far the best B&B we've experienced in the USA or abroad. Everything was "Just Right", Elegant, Relaxing, and Comfortable. We were central to so much and yet felt so cocooned. I thoroughly recommend this B&B to you, even if you've never stayed in a B&B. Ascot House is great for Business travel, or for a vacation or getaway. It's even pet friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Goldenretrievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Wendy at Ascot House is an absolutely wonderful woman. The home itself is stunning and gorgeous and it would be a lovely stay all on its own - but Wendy really makes the stay. My husband and I were the only visitors for two of our three night stay and had such a great time with her that we know we'll be back soon!

The food was just wonderful with berries and yogurt to start the breakfast and the most delicious eggs benedict I think I've ever had. Her pancakes are fluffy yet crisp - amazing.

The room was lovely and not so overly female that my husband felt out of place or uncomfortable - the bathroom - to die for.

We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughot Europe and the United States and, without a doubt, the Ascot House must be placed at the top of the list.

I recently stayed there for four days in a VERY large room with Queen bed that had an even larger bathroom (with a two person whirlpool and a working fireplace). The place is spotless throughout, and guests are treated to nice little extras like Gilchrist and Soames toiletries, and afternoon tea (or a glass or two of wine if desired).

The common areas are equally spectacular -- from the large comfortable sitting room to the beautiful dining room. And, there will soon be a new wine cellar that looks to be a real show-stopper. Weather precluded a walk trough the gardens outside, but they would appear to be like everything else at Ascot House -- without compare.

Breakfasts were delicious and, like my travels in Ireland, entirely removed the need for lunch. During my time there, we were served Eggs Benedict, Cheese Scrambled Eggs and Hash Browns, Pancakes, ample fruit plates and (don't forget to ask for these) some of the best sticky buns I've ever had. Also, many of the jams and jellies are homemade.

Finally, any review of this B and B would be a disservice if it did not make mention of our Hostess, Wendy. A delightful English woman, she is so warm, friendly and inviting that, in a matter of minutes, one feels as though they have known her for years.

I cannot recommend Ascot House more highly!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MorganFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
8.1 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
344 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
MainStay Suites of Lancaster County
1.1 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 219 W Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1413
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range: $99 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing