We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ascot House in Marietta, PA and had a wonderful stay. The accommodations were outstanding and the food was plentiful and very good. Wendy, the host, couldn't do enough to make our stay extremely enjoyable. We will be going back again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randy_ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for such a great review, as you know I loved having you stay. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Overall a lovely B & B. The owner and host, Wendy, is clearly cut out for this and enjoys it! She goes out of her way to try to make all of her guests comfortable. She even gave us a free bottle of wine! We loved hearing the sound of the trains passing by and went for a walk down by the river which is right behind Ascot House. It is walking distance to a few restaurants to be able to go for dinner. Not much else in the immediate vacinity. The room and bed was very comfortable. Our only disappointment was that the fireplace (gas) wasn't working and wasn't able to be fixed for us to use it either night we were there. It would have been nice to cuddle up near it at least one night (Kinda part of the whole romantic B & B experience). Breakfast was good both days, but it would have been nice to have options in addition to eggs and bacon/sausage. Pancakes maybe? We didn't ask for her to make us something special because we thought it might be an imposition, but the sense I got from Wendy was that she probably would have been willing to accomodate us had we asked.....We used our Groupon which made it affordable. Otherwise, not sure I would pay full price unless for a very special occasion.

Room Tip: Only saw our room, so can't really offer advice other than to say that IF you choose a room in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Jessica:
I was terribly sorry your fireplace did not work. Sadly the prior guest had turned off the gas line instead of the fireplace and when that happens I have to have the gas company come to restart the pilot. and they do not do service calls on weekends unless it is an emergency.

Guests are asked ahead of time to let me know if they have any special needs for breakfasts. and I do try to tell guests the night before what is for breakfast the next day. You are quite right - if you had mentioned it I would have been more than happy to have made you something else.

Breakfasts are not the same every day and we never do the same thing two days running, different coffee cakes, or muffins or crosissants, different fruit and if we do eggs and bacon etc (which is out most popular breakfast choice) then they are cooked entirely differently, different types of sausages, different ways of cooking the eggs (benedict, scrambled, omelets, poached, etc)

Next time you come to stay - maybe waffles or crepes or something! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have to say that all of the reviews I read were absolutely correct! Wendy was so helpful and accommodating, and the house is gorgeous. It really has to be seen in person to be fully appreciated. This was our first bed & breakfast stay, and it certainly set the bar high for anywhere else we ever stay! What a wonderful experience. Wendy also knows a lot about the area and has great recommendations for places to go and things to do. Thank you so much, Wendy!

Paige & Matt

Room Tip: loved the Bedford! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaigeO656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the moment we entered the Ascot House we felt relaxed and comfortable. Hostess Wendy made us feel right at home immediately. Throughout our 3 night stay, she was extremely helpful in suggesting daily activities and directing us to nearby dining establishments. Our accomodations in the Bedford room were superb. Right next to the Amish Country, it was the perfect getaway for us. Out of 5 stars, it receives the full 5. We will surely come back to Ascot House in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are meticulously kept and comfortable. If the Bedford is avalable, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I went to the Ascot house for a getaway. Great place to stay. So warm and welcoming. Would definetley stay there again. Wendy was a great hostess. could'nt ask for more hospitality. Room was beautiful and clean. places to eat and drink in walking distance. This is a must stay at B & B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

From the moment you walk through the doors, you know you have entered a home where you feel welcomed and you will be well-taken care of until you leave. Wendy cares about each and every guest...she is a pleasure to spend time with during your visit. We had wine, cheese and crackers upon our arrival with her and breakfast every morning was a culinary delight. Connie, her friend and chef, was amazing. Wendy knows the area very well and has great ideas for activities in the areas...wineries, towns to spend the day shopping, restaurants and local, fun bars. The room was clean, beautiful...the bathroom had a fireplace and huge tub for two. It was a very romantic weekend. We will definitely be back! This was our first experience with a B & B..I am hooked and maybe...one day....when we are retired...some day...we can only hope to own a place as lovely as The Ascot House.
Cheryl and Kurt from NJ

Room Tip: Talk with Wendy on the phone...she will help you choose the perfect room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wendy, the owner of the Ascot House is a born B&B hostess. She greeted us warmly, offering tea or wine once we got settled.

The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfasts were wonderful and filling. The sitting rooms were cozy and comfortable. When asked, Wendy offered suggestions on where to eat lunch and dinner, what sights to see, and nice little walks.

This is a gem of a place and well worth a stay when you're in the area. It's close to all the usual touring sites as well as some we hadn't heard of before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 357KathyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
8.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#20 of 39 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.1 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 219 W Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing