We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Parkman, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a very lovely 200 year old home. Rooms are comfortable. The owner is friendly, helpful, and accomodating. She loves to offer you a glass of wine and sit to chat. Breakfast is very good including deeelicious Eggs Benedict. Marietta is a quaint little town. The restaurants close by are good, including McCleary's in Marietta and Bully's Pub in Colmbia. The only negative is that there is not too much to do in area, unless you are interested in the Amish culture in nearby Lancaster.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Joyce:
I obviously did not do a very good job of telling you about all the things to do in the area! Apologies.

I totally agree that In Marietta itself when the weather is cold it is just beautiful houses and some restaurants.. which is actually part of its charm, it is this little town that time forgot.... There is also a theatre and art gallery. (not every day however) but when when the weather is nice, there is the river, canoing, bicycling, kayataking, tubing, hiking trails and fishing.

The area surrounding Marietta has everything you could possibly imagine, 3 miles away in Columbia there are many antique stores, farmers market and art galleries and a great musuem, the National Watch and Clock museum. We are halfway between York & Lancaster with tons of things to do there, and there are 2 wineries within 4 miles and about 8 others within easy driving distance. Lititz and Strasburg are also close with trains, train museum chocolate factory and lots of boutiques etc. We are also 22 miles from Hershey Park, 25 miles from the state capitol Harrisburg, and President Buchhan's home is just out rte 23 from Marietta. Micro Breweries, factory tours and Farmers markets abound and for those who want to shop there are the outlets! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I really don't know where to begin. The experience at Ascot House was perfect from beginning to end! Wendy attends to your every need. She is the quintessential hostess. She engages you in conversation and tells such great stories. Our room was perfect and the breakfasts.....oh the breakfasts! Too much delicious food! What a nice complaint! Wendy is full of information about what to do in the area. We tried lots of the local establishments and were not disappointed. The only disappointment was that the weekend came to an end and we had to rejoin reality!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
As I always say - nice people stay at Bed and Breakfast, so it is always a pleasure to take care of them. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thank you, Wendy, for sharing your home with us! The hospitality and the enthusiasm that you showed us was way beyond description. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will most definitely be returning again and again!

We wish you much success in your future endeavors, whatever they may be!

To all readers of this post, please avail yourself of this wonderful B & B and innkeeper. Excellent in all respects.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank precal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks I am so glad you enjoyed it here. It is interesting to contemplate what I will be doing next!
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wendy has found her niche', with this warm and welcoming home. Rooms are gorgeous, spacious and so inviting. Wine cellar is awesome, but above all else, the service and hospiality is an A+. Wendy is delightful and there for your every need. She was very sweet and made our stay so memorable. She knew about the area and gave us ideas for dinner and places to visit around Marietta and Lancaster. We will definitely go back to enjoy another stay. The town is quaint. We had a perfect stay and could not have asked for anything more. Food was delicious and plenty of it. Highly recommend the Ascot, nothing less than a 5 Star Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review, Yes, I really do love taking care of people, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the house and your whole stay.... come again when the weather is nicer! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The recent reviews by SkunkyWunky2, historylover10, and Gary 2 said it all. There's no way we could have said it better. Everything they said is right on from the initial greeting (we also arrived early), a great breakfast, the 4:00 o'clock "tea and crumpets", a glass of sherry in front of a wood fire in the evening along with everything else mentioned in the above reviews. If the Ascot House doesn't completely satisfy you, nothing will.

Ken & Phyllis

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi there Ken and Phyllis, thanks for your so nice comments. much appreciated! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As everyone else has said, Wendy does an amazing job taking care of everyone that comes to stay with her. Her home is very lovely and she is very knowledgeable about the area and where to go. The rooms are very spacious and you feel at home wherever you are in the house. The breakfast was plentiful and very tasty as well. Definitely one of our favorite bed and breakfast experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkunkyWunky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
What a great title for your review..... it really captures what I offer my guests. Thank You, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wendy is absolutely the perfect hostess! There was a warm fire crackling in the sitting room, wine on the table, and an offer to find us something to eat as we arrived. Her bed and breakfast is an absolutely amazing building that she has lovingly restored and that is gorgeous to behold. Our bedroom/bathroom was beautiful. Where else could you lounge in a soaking tub while gazing at the fireplace IN the bathroom? The plantation bed was totally comfortable, and although there was a tv in the room, we never turned it on! Outside our second story room in the landing was a baby grand piano, beautiful rugs, pictures, and floral arrangements. The butterfly staircase was magnificent whether going up to the third floor or down to the main entryway. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and there was always a bottle of wine to be had and a comfy chat with Wendy if you wanted to rest your feet. When we told her it was my birthday and wanted a nice place to dine, she immediately recommended a wonderful place and made reservations for us. I absolutely loved her and would tell anyone that if you are going to "Amish country" and the Lancaster area, her B&B is a must.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historylover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you came to stay, and delighted that you enjoyed the birthday dinner (I just knew you would!) ou again soon. Hope we get together again. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
13.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster County
1.1 mi away
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
4.9 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
343 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 219 W Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing