We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bear, DE
1 review
“What a great place!”
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We were in need of a relaxing weekend get away and we found it at B.F. Hiestand House B&B. B&Bs that accept dogs are hard to come by but Dallas and Pam are willing to accomodate. The house was beautiful and our room with jacquizzi tub and electric fire place was just perfect! The owners are wonderful people who very attentive but not at all overbearing. Mr. Biggs, their yellow lab, was also a sweet addition to the house. We will definitely return!

  • Liked — The owners were the perfect host and hostess!
  • Disliked — There wasn't a thing about this B&B that I didn't like.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackBelt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
136
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We had a great time at the B and B. The hosts were amazing!! The food excellent!! The renovations that have been done to the house made the house even more gorgeous. I cannot wait to come back!

  • Liked — Food and Beds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank browneyesLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
16,000 miles around the coastlines & borders of America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

One of the nicest B&B's we have ever been in!

Delicious breakfast, incredible people, wonderful decor and just a brilliant experiece.

My husband and I have stayed in dozens of B&B's on our 16,000 mile bicycle ride around America and this is one of the top three!

The room was amazing, comfortable bed, sparkling clean bathroom with a HUGE jacuzzi and a private, en suite sitting room where I was able to work at the antique desk on my laptop, while my husband enjoyed a DVD.

The breakfast was one of the best we have ever eaten ANYWHERE!

My husband is from Scotland and I have lived over there for five years. We have stayed at many B&B's in the UK and the rest of Europe and we will hold B F Heistand House as one of our favorites on EITHER side of the pond!

Our hosts, Pam & Dallas, were just fantastic. We felt like we had came home.

The ONLY bad thing was that we had just stayed for one night! The next time we come back we will stay for at least three nights! :)

  • Liked — The attention to detail. It was classic, stylish and brilliant!
  • Disliked — Loved everything. Wished we could have stayed more than just one night!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleChanges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

After reading the reviews on this site I was very excited to reserve the Vanderslice Suite for a special evening. We were disappointed from the time we pulled up the drive. The front porch was not welcoming at all. Such a beautiful porch and dirty furniture, no flowers or books, It did not say "rest awhile". The hosts made us feel as if we were coming at a bad time even though I called them to say we would be there soon. The room was big but the paint was peeling on the bathroom door as well as around the door in the tv room. The rug in the tv room was also covered with dog hair. The family did not have separate living quarters so when we went downstairs, they were sitting around watching that wide screen tv and we felt as if we were intruding.

The B&B does have a very interesting history and the breakfast was very good . The hosts were helpful in directing us to sight seeing and restaurants.

Maybe we were there on an "off" day, but I would not recommend this Inn. I feel that I must be honest because I selected this Inn solely on the reports I read on trip advisor .

  • Liked — breakfast, fridge stocked with soda
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packednreadyNePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Once again, i found myself at the B F Hiestand House. We had something called Decadent French Toast for breakfast and it was wonderful!

i stayed in the Sun Porch room. Lots of privacy and a jacuzzi tub.

  • Liked — The rooms and the proprietors
  • Disliked — nothing. It was great
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bontragerrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

My husband and I spent an enjoyable and relaxing weekend at the Hiestand House. We stayed in the Vanderslice Suite, which was beautiful, and very clean. The bathroom was fabulous, with a jacuzzi and wonderful shower. Pam and Dallas were terrifc hosts -- very personable, and very helpful with suggestions about where to eat and what to do. The breakfasts were delilcious.

The house is gorgeous, with beautifully restored rooms. The area itself is lovely, and very restful (particularly when you come from Philadelphia!)

All in all, a very happy experience. We will come back again, and highly recommend the Hiestand House to anyone who wants to stay in Lancaster County.

  • Liked — Beautiful room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulatoryspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2007

We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at this B&B so much last year that thought we'd go again this year. Once again we were able to get away from home and enjoy a couple of days of relaxation while indulging in a bit of luxury. We stayed in the Vanderslice Suite with a fabulous ensuite, comfy feather bed top and large shower with a jacuzzi bath for two. Pam is a wonderful cook and very accomodating to personal tastes--breakfasts were fabulous. There was hot tea or coffee and a light snack in the evenings after our days of touring the Lancaster area. Dallas and Pam are wonderful hosts, always ready to provide suggestions of things to do in the area, provide directions and make reservations at local restaurants. Their big screen tv was fun for following the football playoffs--even though both the Ravens and the Eagles lost! If you are looking for a luxurious respite from your daily routine that you will want to come back to year after year...this is it! Thanks Pam & Dallas (and Mr. Biggs)!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuttleclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marietta
12.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
12.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
895 reviews
12.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
393 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
329 reviews
1.5 mi away
Airy View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Property: B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 722 E Market St, Marietta, PA 17547-1810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing