We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Average Food”

McCleary's Public House
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Marietta, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Average Food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The atmosphere is very nice here, expecially on the heated outdoor deck. The food is a bit on the pricey side for bar food and is no more than average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    79
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Between cheap and expensive”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is good for moderate sized groups where you don't want to feel cheap, but you don't want to get to expensive. I would suggest getting reservations on the weekend as I sat at the bar to eat, not having one. The food was good, but the price matched what you got. The portions were of good size. You can eat in the smaller dimly lit bar area or the porch which is just a huge sun room.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Does it again...”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We like McClearys a lot. Food is good and reasonably priced, they have bands some evenings, and the staff is very professional and friendly. The only thing I didn't really like was the Shepards Pie.... it was very OKAY... not bad actually, but not homemade tasting, kind of bland.
Stick to the Black and Blue burger or one of the salads. Wait staff and host remember you and treat you warmly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great beer selections. Neil was an attentive server who had answers for all our questions.

Delicious dinner....dessert was superb

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank precal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Cute little place”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Cute little place, but the wrap I had was overloaded with greens. Good but all I tasted was lots and lots of lettuce

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCleary's Public House also viewed

 
Marietta, Lancaster County
Columbia, Lancaster County
 
Marietta, Lancaster County
Marietta, Lancaster County
 

Been to McCleary's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing