We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manns Choice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lincoln Motor Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manns Choice
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My husband and I were at the Motor Court this past Saturday night., 10/16/2011. What a refreshing place to stay. Lots of history and just plain old fashion comfort. Unbelieveably someone reviewed this lovely place and didn't like it. There is always one person who will find fault with anything. Because they, of course, are perfect. We loved the cottage we stayed in. Comfortable and good nite sleep. Thank you for putting forth so much effort to maintain the history of the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had stayed at a similar nostalgic place last year in Franconia Notch, NH and loved it, so we were drawn to the Lincoln Motor Court when we found it on-line. We made a reservation based on pictures and reviews but were very disappointed upon arriving. We didn't even stay one night. Pictures must have been taken a very long time ago because the place was fairly run down looking both from the outside and in. Nostalgia doesn't have to be old and dreary looking. This place has so much potential! Some flowers and spruced up landscaping out front, as well as some cheery, brighter colored curtains and bed spreads, and updated matresses would make a world of difference. Bed was extremely hard and squeaked like crazy and the bedspead left fuzzy residue all over my husbands pants from just momentarily sitting on it! Also, screen door had holes in it and the metal chairs on the unit porch had rusty seats and were in desperate need of cleaning and a coat of paint - not very inviting. Thankfully, the owner was willing to refund our full amount w/o penalty and we found another hotel for $20 less per night with a unit twice the size, loveseat sofa bed, microwave and refrigerator that were easily accessible, and a quiet, comfortable king bed instead of the small, noisy full size one at the Motor Court. I understand the difficulities and costs of running a family business but the accomodations, amenities and price have to be somewhat in line with what is available elsewhere in the area in order to be competetive and the Lincoln Motor Court is overpriced for what they offer. IMHO nostalgia, especially when it's not done well, is not worth the price tag at this place. I grew up camping and am willing to try new experiences and don't require 5 star accomodations, but do believe that if I'm paying a reasonable rate, it is not unreasonable to expect a place that makes me feel like it's safe, clean, and cheerful at a bare minimum. I feel bad that the owner was hurt/offended by our disappointment as it was not our intention to insult...however paying heed to some constructive criticism could pay off in the long run.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!! We were shown the Honeymoom unit as a possible alternative...Frankly, unless I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

It is great that a 1940s motor court has been kept up so nicely. Yes, our cabin was a little cramped and the lighting not so great, but this was fun. It is clean, comfortable and even without air conditioning in August, we would go back. Even if you are the sterile corporate hotel type, you might want to be adventuresome and try this place at least once. (Be forewarned that it is a little far to go for breakfast in Bedford.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jxw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

From the simple note informing all potential guests that they'd gone to dinner, it was clear that this was a different kind of motel. No phones, no air conditioning, but more character and charm than the nearby and much more expensive Bedford Springs Spa by a country mile. Immaculately clean with homey touches like old photos hanging everywhere, a bible next to the champagne glasses and glow in the dark stars over the bed. Arrive before nightfall and sit outside in the slanting rays of the evening sun and read a book or chat with your neighbor or maybe just feel glad you're not overlooking the vast parking lot of a chain motel on the turnpike.

Room Tip: They're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paintertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Everything everybody said above is 100% true, My husband and I sat on the small porch and enjoyed the night. If ever we go thru there again, we will be staying there. Do not miss the chance to go back in time! The price was perfect!!!!

A huge thank you to the owners!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Very good value for the dollar-spent our anniversary weekend here in late September and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are planning on returning in the near future and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Customs_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I was in town doing engineering work and stayed here for a week during the "off season" and was the only one in the "village". Owners were very nice, room was clean w/ a nice comfortable bed. Will definately stay there again if I have to be w/in the area overnight. A welcome alt. to hotels if you travel a lot. Bring or buy your own stupid $2.45 "cont. breakfast" and stay here if you would like something rather than the NORM.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lincoln Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Motor Court

Address: 5104 Lincoln Hwy, Manns Choice, PA 15550-8804
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Manns Choice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manns Choice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lincoln Motor Court Hotel Manns Choice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing