We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and drab. Could really use some sprucing up!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manns Choice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lincoln Motor Court
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manns Choice
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cramped and drab. Could really use some sprucing up!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had stayed at a similar nostalgic place last year in Franconia Notch, NH and loved it, so we were drawn to the Lincoln Motor Court when we found it on-line. We made a reservation based on pictures and reviews but were very disappointed upon arriving. We didn't even stay one night. Pictures must have been taken a very long time ago because the place was fairly run down looking both from the outside and in. Nostalgia doesn't have to be old and dreary looking. This place has so much potential! Some flowers and spruced up landscaping out front, as well as some cheery, brighter colored curtains and bed spreads, and updated matresses would make a world of difference. Bed was extremely hard and squeaked like crazy and the bedspead left fuzzy residue all over my husbands pants from just momentarily sitting on it! Also, screen door had holes in it and the metal chairs on the unit porch had rusty seats and were in desperate need of cleaning and a coat of paint - not very inviting. Thankfully, the owner was willing to refund our full amount w/o penalty and we found another hotel for $20 less per night with a unit twice the size, loveseat sofa bed, microwave and refrigerator that were easily accessible, and a quiet, comfortable king bed instead of the small, noisy full size one at the Motor Court. I understand the difficulities and costs of running a family business but the accomodations, amenities and price have to be somewhat in line with what is available elsewhere in the area in order to be competetive and the Lincoln Motor Court is overpriced for what they offer. IMHO nostalgia, especially when it's not done well, is not worth the price tag at this place. I grew up camping and am willing to try new experiences and don't require 5 star accomodations, but do believe that if I'm paying a reasonable rate, it is not unreasonable to expect a place that makes me feel like it's safe, clean, and cheerful at a bare minimum. I feel bad that the owner was hurt/offended by our disappointment as it was not our intention to insult...however paying heed to some constructive criticism could pay off in the long run.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!! We were shown the Honeymoom unit as a possible alternative...Frankly, unless I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

It is great that a 1940s motor court has been kept up so nicely. Yes, our cabin was a little cramped and the lighting not so great, but this was fun. It is clean, comfortable and even without air conditioning in August, we would go back. Even if you are the sterile corporate hotel type, you might want to be adventuresome and try this place at least once. (Be forewarned that it is a little far to go for breakfast in Bedford.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

From the simple note informing all potential guests that they'd gone to dinner, it was clear that this was a different kind of motel. No phones, no air conditioning, but more character and charm than the nearby and much more expensive Bedford Springs Spa by a country mile. Immaculately clean with homey touches like old photos hanging everywhere, a bible next to the champagne glasses and glow in the dark stars over the bed. Arrive before nightfall and sit outside in the slanting rays of the evening sun and read a book or chat with your neighbor or maybe just feel glad you're not overlooking the vast parking lot of a chain motel on the turnpike.

Room Tip: They're all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paintertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Everything everybody said above is 100% true, My husband and I sat on the small porch and enjoyed the night. If ever we go thru there again, we will be staying there. Do not miss the chance to go back in time! The price was perfect!!!!

A huge thank you to the owners!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midvale, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Very good value for the dollar-spent our anniversary weekend here in late September and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are planning on returning in the near future and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Customs_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I was in town doing engineering work and stayed here for a week during the "off season" and was the only one in the "village". Owners were very nice, room was clean w/ a nice comfortable bed. Will definately stay there again if I have to be w/in the area overnight. A welcome alt. to hotels if you travel a lot. Bring or buy your own stupid $2.45 "cont. breakfast" and stay here if you would like something rather than the NORM.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I planned our whole trip around staying at the Lincoln Motor Court. We had heard rave reviews and wanted to see for ourselves. Once we got there, we were welcomed by Debbie and given our key. Once in the cottage, we were floored! It was spacious, VERY clean, and comfortable. The weather was chilly, but about a half hour before our arrival, Debbie had turned on the heat for us! If you have ever wanted to travel into the past, stay here! The decor was classic and vintage, the bathroom was quaint, yet the cottage did have the modern comforts such as television, microwave and mini-fridge (Honeymoon cottage). We couldn't have asked for a better, more memorable place to stay! Did I mention, they are pet friendly!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveling_birdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manns Choice
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
381 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
678 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#9 of 10 in Bedford
14 reviews
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
74 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Motor Court

Property: Lincoln Motor Court
Address: 5104 Lincoln Hwy, Manns Choice, PA 15550-8804
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Manns Choice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manns Choice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Lincoln Motor Court Hotel Manns Choice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing