We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm Tour”
Review of Kreider Farms

Kreider Farms
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Manheim
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Kreider Farms offers a farm tour for guests with a reservation. All tours begin and end at the Welcome Center, located at 1463 Lancaster Road, Manheim, PA 17545.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Farm Tour”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had an awesome time touring Kreider Farms! It is so interesting and my grand kids aged 2 and 4 loved it as well as 3 adults in our party! This is a great morning activity if you are looking for something educational and fun! The staff was very friendly and answered all questions - very knowledgeable!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    31
    14
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Tour Guide was Outstanding, Ada, aka Rosie, keep up the good work”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We took our 6 year old niece on this field trip. You stayed in your own car and the tour guide was in the lead car and the audio came over your FM radio (it is my understanding that they are securing an air conditioned bus sometime in July 2014). Our guide was Ada, she was knowledgeable, pleasant and checked often to make sure we could hear clearly. The tour last about 90 minutes and the Cow Palace and milking parlor are quite interesting. The Kreider family has worked hard to have a first class farming operation and the tour was very interesting, made so by Ada the tour guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bigbuster885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very informational, get up and close”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The most recent review almost made me not come, and that would have been a big mistake. The tour was fantastic. Our tour guide (Andrew Miller) was a retired dairy farmer, and he was just excellent. He led our tour with fun facts and experienced perspective. The tour was a full 90 minutes, but it did not feel like it.

The drive from the meeting point to the farm is only 5 minutes or so, and during that time the tour guide gave us a nice little history lesson on Kreider Farms and family. Did you know Kreider is Hershey family? I did not know this!

Once at the farm, we drive past several buildings while the tour guide explains what is going on at each location. Get ready for the 101 on dairy farming. Everything from developing the cow feed to handling the manure. The manure processing building was called the Perfume Building. :)

We then drove through a long building where the cows were fed and ended up at the milking station. You get pretty close to the cows. We were treated to some cold chocolate milk. (BTW - all the animals looked very well cared for)

My kids loved every minute of it. The adults enjoyed it as much as the kids.

2 things to note. When I spoke to Deborah in the morning, she was nice enough to inform me of a Groupon I did not know about. Saved me 50%. Thanks Deborah!

Also I went with a party of 10, and we lucked out to be the only ones on the tour. We attended during the low season. So it was a little more private.

All in all... great stop. Andrew was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank chris_oshiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“can NOT recommend..can give NO stars”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

this is a 90 minute tour.you follow the lead car in which the tour guide speaks into a microphone.
the following 5-6 cars tune their radios in to a particular station and you can hear what the tour guide is saying. our guide talked incessantly and with much repetition for the first 75 minutes.
we followed her around a parking lot for 20 minutes while she explained the warehouse building and the transport trucks.we sat in our cars and dumbly stared at a building. there were a couple times we all had to pull over for a sound check to insure that all cars could hear her over the radio. i can't believe this "tour" exists. we pulled into another parking lot surrounded by mounds of earth covered with old tires. we sat for another 20 minutes while she yabbered on about nothing. finally in the last 15 minutes, we drove through the cow barn and viewed the lovely cows from our car windows. this took 8 minutes. then we all got out of our cars and followed her to the milking carousel. we stood in an empty hallway while she droned on, then finally she walked us around to see the cows on the carousel. we were allowed to view this for a hurried 6 minutes.
people want to come see the cows. we want to observe the milking process. i was impressed with the 3 men who operated the carousel. there was much to learn from watching those knowledgeable and skilled men but nothing was mentioned about them and the care and respect they gave to those cows. and as i said, we were shuffled right past within 6 minutes. nobody wants to hear the guide go on for 75 minutes while either driving at a snails pace or sitting still in a giant parking lot. the final 15 minutes of actually seeing the cow palace could have been a pleasant experience but we were all drained, bored and tired of listening to a very irritating monologue. kreider farms, you ruined it. simply offer a 30 minute drive through the barn and a visit to the carousel. you will leave people wanting more. and loving their visit. also, the meeting place should be right there at the cow palace and eliminate the entire maddening tour guide litany.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank theburren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fun time”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We took the Kreider tour and it was great. My little guy complained it was boring until we hit the cow palace and than he changed his mind to saying it was awesome.
It was interesting to see how a dairy works and the cows are beautiful
Our tour guide (62 yr old lady) was so wonderful. She was so sweet and made everyone feel like family. She went out of her way to talk to the kids and was very warm and loving.
The groupon made it well worth it.
Hopefully soon they will have a spot to buy souvenirs and get an ice cream cone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Linz0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kreider Farms also viewed

New Holland, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Kreider Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing