We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, clean, lovely”
Review of Airy Hill Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airy Hill Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 11 Manheim B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, lovely”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed two nights and felt very comfortable. The food and service were wonderful. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and bathroom, too. Next time I would like to stay here as the vacation rather than just a place to sleep and eat great breakfasts because it is indeed in the middle of farm country! Lots of opportunities to relax and enjoy the views and our 6 year old loved the farm tour.... She asked why we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommyofacrazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnsboro, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My sister and I, along with our husbands, stayed four nights at the Airy Hill Farm B&B. It was perfect for us. Besides being conveniently located near Amish country, the B&B was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Mark & Hazel were the ultimate hosts...friendly, helpful and caring. Every morning we woke to the delicious smell of a home-cooked breakfast. Yum! We highly recommend this B&B. It's now on our "favorites" list.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We needed to get away from the concrete jungle and the Airy Hill Farm B&B was perfect! We stayed two nights with our 14 month twins in the Meadow View Suite. There were no other guests so we basically had the entire upstairs. Most of the reviewers had older children but the farm is suitable for walking toddlers as well. Hazel & Mark are lovely seasoned grandparents and the house had many baby items in case you forgot something, or wanted to pack lighter: Pack & Plays, high chair, booster seat, toddler feeding supplies, toys, a couple stuffed animals, childrens books, a swing set, foam bath toys, baby shampoo, bouncy chair. They even bought us a jug of milk before we arrived and sent us home with a dozen fresh eggs! Breakfasts were delicious and filling - a real treat for busy parents who never have time for a morning meal. The farm tour was the highlight of the trip and the kids got very excited about the animals. Our liked the cats the best, but older kids would appreciate walking the horses/alpacas. The property is gorgeous with acres of green grass. If you go to Lititz, try not to bring a stroller as most of the stores had a couple stairs to the door. We hope to return next year!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorbitzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This trip to the Lancaster area was amazing - the Airy Hill B & B was the perfect place to stay. Hazel and Mark were the most gracious hosts, with Mark treating our 10 year old daughter to a farm tour in the mornings after breakfast. Gail and Lil' Bob, the miniature horses, were so adorable, and it was a real treat getting to walk them. We did the same with Jerry and Jed - their alpacas!! The grounds around the house are very well-maintained, and they have a lovely garden filled with big gorgeous peonies to take a stroll through. My daughter really enjoyed gathering the eggs for our breakfast, and we were lucky enough to have three newborn lambs come into the world during our stay! Hazel made sure we had lots of specials teas and treats to enjoy during the day, and her breakfasts were really special. One thing I loved was the quality of the sheets on the bed - good sheets really do make a difference when you're on vacation! They were soft, silky, and a pleasure to fall asleep in. We stayed in the Garden Suite, and were so comfortable - the bathroom was also nicely appointed with an ample supply of toiletries and thirsty towels. The location is outstanding - the farm is on a quiet out of the way road, yet you are about 20 minutes away from Bird-in-Hand, Intercourse, and Lancaster. Another highlight of our trip was a day in the charming nearby town of Lititz - lots of boutiques, a few good places to eat, and the wonderful Wilbur Chocolate Factory - which you really should not miss. We are still eating the chocolates we bought there - so good. The town is also beautifully situated, and has lots of pretty trees. We certainly plan to make a return visit, and I highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for an enjoyable, peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: Garden Suite would be a great choice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I have never been more excited to write a review, since we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Airy Hill Farm. My two daughters (ages 8 and 4) really enjoyed the animals and scenery. Gathering eggs in the morning was a big hit, and walking the alpacas and miniature horses made it a true adventure for them. I loved the warm feeling of the house and its immaculate state. Mark and Hazel made us feel like old friends visiting, instead of just customers. They also helped us plan great adventures, despite the inclement weather. The breakfasts were delicious and filling and kept us going for most of the day. We felt very comfortable there and we wholeheartedly recommend Airy Hill to anyone visiting Lancaster County.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our stay at Airy Hill Farm was a wonderful experience for us and especially for our two boys ages 11 and 14. They really enjoyed walking the Alpacas and the mini horses, as well as taking a tour of the barn with Mark. Hazel and Mark made us feel so comfortable at their beautiful home. They were both such a pleasure to talk to. When we were leaving, our younger son asked "when are we coming back, I loved it here?"
P.S. We miss your delicious breakfasts but have managed to recreate one of them at home thanks to your thoughtful recipe book...yum yum!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolverine17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was our 2nd stay here at Airy Hills in the hear of Amish country----our first one was last fall in 2011. We stayed two nights in the Harvest room (my wife, our 3 yr old toddler, and I). It's such a relaxing getaway for a few days.

Just like before---the service and hosts are amazing. Hazel and Mark take such great care to make you feel at home---they both go the extra mile. Our 3 year old especially loves the tractor rides with Mark to the chicken coop, where she helps pick eggs and feed the lambs. Mark then take the kids to walk the alpacas and miniature horses.
Hazel makes such hearty breakfasts---especially taking care to meet your dietary needs. We're vegetarian, and Hazel made sure there was plenty of eat.

This is the one place we will return year after year----our daughter loves it there. it's a mere 2 1/2 hour away for us, and feels worlds away. The pace is a bit more relaxed, the people are friendlier---just a great overall weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbutala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manheim
5.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
161 reviews
10.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#4 of 7 in Manheim
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
452 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
7.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airy Hill Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airy Hill Farm B&B

Property: Airy Hill Farm B&B
Address: 1741 Airy Hill Rd, Manheim, PA 17545-8531
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Manheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Manheim
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airy Hill Farm Bed and Breakfast is a strikingly beautiful retreat. Sheep pastures wrap the hillside house and gardens, which overlook woodland and a stream in one direction and mountains and farm fields in the other. The clean-lined house takes full advantage of the site. A vaulted ceiling and bank of windows in the main living area bring the outdoors in, while decks and porches invite guests back outside. Soft, earth-toned wall colors change with the progression of light. Family antiques and art pieces combine with a fresh modern layout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing