We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 14 Manheim B&B and Inns
NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was my first time staying the night on an actual working farm, and I couldn't have been happier! My girlfriend and I booked our room last minute, and Angie was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very nice, and spacious. Way more than we needed. The price was unbeatable for what we felt we got. Angie and her family were very welcoming, even offering to have us join them that evening to watch the Olympics. We were a bit tired, and declined, but the gesture was appreciated.

The highlight of the stay is in the morning. We woke up early so we had time to wander around the farm a bit. We got to see the chickens, and pet the goats, one of which was the cutest baby ever (Manny!). Then we joined the rest of the guests in the dining room for breakfast, which was amazing. They brought out fruit and juice to start, followed by blueberry, and chocolate chip pancakes. Then, some of the tastiest over easy eggs I've ever had. There was sausage too, but we didn't eat any. It was a delicious breakfast with great food, and some nice conversation with our hosts and fellow guests. Afterwards, we followed Angie's daughter, Katrina, to gather eggs from the chicken coop, and play with the goats a bit more. She also brought us into the barn, so we could try out the rope swing. Definitely do that if you go. It's fun!

It is worth mentioning that you have to realize that this is a little less private than some may be used to. The bathroom is shared, and you will be encountering other guests, and the host family during your stay. We were fine with the shared bathroom, and we enjoyed the interactions with everyone. That was part of the experience! I'm only stating it here because some people might not consider this beforehand. Also, they do not take credit cards, so be prepared to pay cash for your room.

We were sad to leave, but we had a great time, and would definitely recommend this B&B to others. It was definitely a great experience, and for the price, could not be beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimesArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting the Stone Haus for our first trip to the Amish Country and it was the hilight of our trip. I spoke with Angie on the phone who reminded us that courtesy, manners, and kindness are not out of style. She was so generous with her time, friendly and welcoming. Our favorite part of the whole trip was the rope swing in the barn-do not miss!
My boys 9, and 4 would have done nothing else but swin on this swin, and dive into the big hay bales on the floor of the barn. There were kittens roaming, and a fresh honor system farm stand selling the delicious celery hearts they grow there.
I am so happy to support Angie in her business-she is so kind and helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ctj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I have had the pleasure of lodging at the Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast more times than we can keep track of, beginning in 2003 and continuing with a recent stay in early June, 2012.
We have returned again and again, driving right by a major hotel and going out of our way a bit to stay with Angie and Merv.
The accomodations are comfortable and welcoming, and the AM breakfasts never leave us hungry, and are served up farm-fresh and delicious every time.
An added bonus is getting to meet so many interesting folks as we enjoy our stay. Conversations flourish there, and we truly feel "at home" while staying.
Who could ask for more?!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and reasonably private. Try the "loft" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were only going to stay for a day between Independence Hall and Gettysburg. My daughter begged to stay another day and cut out a little of the history lesson. She loved the chickens and the goats. Not to mention learning how to swing in the barn. The family is not only kind but very helpful. Breakfast was great. We look forward to staying again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Merv and Angie (proprietors) are very friendly and welcoming. Our kids loved the hay ride and enjoyed feeding the goats and chickens. Our 4 children did not want to leave! We stayed 3 nights and loved waking up each morning and eating the delicious breakfast. It was very peaceful and the stay was a blessing to our entire family.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinney6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our recent stay (memorial day weekend 2012) was wonderful and we hope to stay again. Breakfast was fantastic with fresh fruit, three kinds of pancakes, homemade cake and eggs, (fresh from the backyard hens). The owner even took all the guests on a hayride before we set off on Monday. .. Anyone who picks a farm stay should do their research, the website states which rooms have private bath. There aren't TVs in the room but that is the beauty of a farm stay to spend the time with the family and do the things you cant do in the city or suburbs. That is why you pick it. There are bikes to use and goats and kittens to pet. There is even a back yard picnic area.

Room Tip: first floor room has a private bathroom with a queen size bed and two twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FELECIACPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our two children LOVED their farm stay at Stone Haus B&B! They still talk about feeding the chickens and goats, collecting eggs, playing on the rope swing, and riding the toy tractors in the driveway. The Shenk family was friendly and welcoming, the house was cozy and stocked with games/books/toys for the kids, the breakfast was plentiful and delicious and we enjoyed the conversation around the table with our host family and other guests. It was such a nice change from staying at a hotel. We explored the area and fell in love with a nearby covered bridge, had a fantastic dinner at Bube's Brewery, and spent a fun day at Hershey's Chocolate World. All in all, a great weekend at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manheim
1.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster
8.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stone Haus Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 360 S Esbenshade Rd, Manheim, PA 17545-9129
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Manheim
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Manheim
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing