We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all-around value and my favorite hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
South Jersey
1 review
“Great all-around value and my favorite hotel.”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We spent 1 Saturday night at the Desmond and had a wonderul time. The bar was a lot fun. Room Service was prompt and courteous. We had breakfast in our room and it was delicious. Delicious!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    99
    52
    20
    9
See reviews for
49
28
14
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

They really need to update the rooms. I felt like i was transported back to the 80's as soon as i got into my room. Everything in this hotel just looked and felt old, from the people that stayed and worked there to the room i stayed in. Speaking of the room, it reminded me of staying over grandmas house, just missing that old person stink. The restaurant was average at most, you could consider it fine dining if usually go to applebees, chilis, or ihop. All in all i should have stayed at the Courtyard Marriott that was across the street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elevated247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My first night at the Desmond was punctuated by several screaming matches in the hall outside my room, a possible fist fight, three calls to the front desk to complain (each time they’d already been called and security was on its way), security coming multiple times followed by the police and an ambulance taking one of the drunken guests out on a stretcher. After getting to sleep after 2 a.m., I might not have been in the most charitable mood. Upon my departure, the front desk clerk asked me how my stay was and I explained that Saturday night was less than restful as I was two rooms from the fights and had to call the front desk multiple times. Rather than trying to do something, ANYTHING to make it right, he informed me that they were not responsible for the disturbance and could not control their guests. While I’m aware of that, I’ve never had any sort of experience like that at a hotel and let alone without any sort of small gesture (even 10% off would have counted for something). Although the Desmond can’t control their guests, I can control where I choose to stay and it won’t be there!

Oh and no wireless in my room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The room and bed were adequate. Not the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept on, but not the worst. The tv was an older model, no HD.

The main restaurant and accompanying bar were pretty good. The amphitheater conference room was really good, and the food they served for breakfast and lunch for my business group was also very good.

There are a few shops across the street that are convenient. I would not recommend the Gentlemen's Cut barber shop.

Overall, good for business meetings, only average for staying overnight.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phantom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Arrived in early April 2009 with my boyfriend to stay here 2 nights on a friday and saturday night. We booked the King Deluxe room. I was here for the QVC annual beauty bash event. There were only 2 carts to take our luggage in. We waited for a cart to come back to use as they don't have bellhops here. A long walk to the room on the 2nd floor. Room was nice. I hate soft no support pillows and sure enough that is what they had. I called up housekeeping and requested 2 extra pillows and was asked what kind? I asked for the firmest ones they have and within 2 minutes housekeeping arrived with the firm pillows and I also requested a refrigerator and they brought one up at no charge.

Good amount of cable channels on the TV. Bed was a bit soft for me but very comfortable. Bathroom shower was nice as you can adjust the shower head to the amount of pressure you wanted. Good water flow. The hotel was booked up and we never heard sounds at all of our neighbors.

Food was good at the Hunt Room. We got the buffet and it was in another room and had the usual breakfast, hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, cereals, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
225 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed at the Desmond, while in the area for a family wedding. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the food in the restaurant was good, The hotel could use a little sprucing up. it is not bad, but shows a little wear

  • Liked — quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — room and bath room were small and could use updating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Uncle Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights attending a large business meeting.
Everyone working was friendly, not the most knowledgable group, front desk could not direct me to local restaurant 5 miles down the road.

Rooms were OK nothing special, bathrooms are small. Well equipped gym, decent indoor pool and spa.

Breakfast was a value, for a business hotel they did not try to overcharge too much, about $11 for eggs and pancakes.

Meeting rooms again were OK. nothing special.

Nothing bad about the hotel but nothing great either, I guess it depends on what rate you can get to determine value.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia/Great Valley/Malvern
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Malvern

Property: The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Address: 1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Malvern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring fresh seafood and prime steaks in The Hunt Room, hot off the grille seasonal favorites on our Sunset Grille deck, or relaxing with cocktails, snacks and casual fare in our authentic English pub, the Fox and Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing