We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Event Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Desmond Hotel Malvern
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just returned from our 4th trip this year to Malvern and the Desmond Hotel. We travel from Kentucky to visit family and enjoy all that Philadelphia and the surrounding area has to offer. The crown jewel for us is the Desmond Hotel. Each time we stay we love it more. The staff is super friendly and excel at their jobs. The food is top notch. Chef Chris Calhoun and staff continue to elevate the quality and variety of menu items offered. We attended "Main Line Today's Food and Wine Affair" held at the Desmond this trip and were able to enjoy two world class food and wine events. The location is perfect for gatherings large and small. We will come back next year specifically for this event. Large comfortable rooms and hotel staff that remember your name and preferences make us loyal Desmond people. It is the perfect place to rest after enjoying all that Pennsylvania has to offer.

Room Tip: The king rooms feature massive canopy beds. We have always had a quiet area for sleeping which is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuLuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We attended a wedding reception and were thoroughly impressed by the wait staff and fast service. The meal was served slowly and carefully each course served smoothly. The coffee was not refilled at the end which was poor. The fillet was fine and tender. What an elegant venue .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have stayed here overnight and also dined in their restuarant. Everthing is always great! I just hosted a brunch for 20. I am always nervous doing hosting, especially when people have never been to a place before. Everyone loved it! They gave us our own wait staff and privacy on the covered patio. What I love about this place is the staff are nice. The many food choices are great for brunch. I have been to brunch other places that cost more, but are more "buffet" type brunches. Everything looks so freshly prepared. The salads you can tell are prepared fresh, in house. Most of the desserts are home made and outstanding-try the bread pudding and banana creme pie:) Everyone reallyed enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, attention by the staff and the food. The Dining Room mananger made a point to come out and direct people to the dessert area so they knew this was in additional to the muffins, donuts etc that were by the breakfast food. Great coffee too. A couple people mentioned that the china was pretty. It is a nice for a group of mom's to be waited on and pampered. Everyone said they are going to try to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend, for a youth hockey tournament. I will return next year. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are OK they due need to be updated. The bed was very comfortable. I do agree with a previous reviewer stating that electrical outlets are few in each room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racanfan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel for the past 5 years or so for a planned corporate-booked "getaway" weekend. The employees at the front desk are always extremely helpful and courteous. Issues are taken care of right away. But I have started to notice that nothing has changed in the decor over time. The restaurants have a dated look with dark woods and carpeting. Hallways are dark and smelled of the chlorine from the indoor pool, lamps in the room are inadequate, rooms remain dark even on the sunniest of days and plugs for today's electronic must-haves are few and inconventiently located beneath desks and beds. On my trip this past weekend, housekeeping was not up to par and caused my family and me to have to change rooms. I know that I will be back there as this is the location that the corporation uses as their first choice. I hope hotel management reads these reviews and makes some changes.

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the hotel face the parking lot and you can be disturbed by car headlights. ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queensuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most recent stay and your feedback. Your comments are welcomed and taken very seriously. We are in the middle of a property upgrade and the issues you brought up are planned to be addressed. Some items already in the works are; new soft goods for all guestrooms, improved guestroom and hallway lighting, new wall covering throughout many areas of the property, and new bathroom design including new hairdryers.

Improved charging capability is an item we are currently reviewing, there is a conveniently located plug on the front of your desk. Perhaps that was over looked, but regardless we are going to improve the charging capability by the bed to make it easier for all of our guests.

Please know we do listen and engage with all of our guests, and many changes are well underway at the Desmond.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I travel 200+ days a year, and get tired of staying at Marriott....When I know what the artwork is in the room before I check in it is time for a change:)

I have stayed at the Desmond many times, and always feel "at home". Walt at the front desk is a gem - I don't know how he does it, but he always remembers me and goes totally above and beyond to make my stay great.

I love the four poster king bed, the larger bathroom.

Its a beautiful property - nice outdoor dining, lots of trees surrounding the property.

As a weary world traveler, the Desmond is a welcome respite!

Room Tip: Not a bad one in the bunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The room is comfortable but this is not designed for business traveler. The plugs are few and they are under the furniture so happy crawling. They could at least have the lamps that have a plug. The decor is from the 1990s, the halls are dark.
The gym is steaming. It is next to the pool and the door does not close tightly so, the heat from the pool comes in. The AC in the gym itself is too weak to cool down the area.

Room Tip: Bring a power strip to plug your gizmos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asian_French_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Chain, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Malvern, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us! I am sorry you were unable to charge your electronics easily. We do have signed outlets on the front of the desks, perhaps they were over looked.

I have looked into the air conditioning, and when I inspected the fitness center and the pool area they were quite cool. I did meet with the appropriate staff members to remind them the importance of maintaining proper temperatures in all areas of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Michael Chain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
7.6 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
892 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond Hotel Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Malvern

Address: 1 Liberty Blvd, Malvern, PA 19355-1419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range: $157 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Malvern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring the freshest seafood or finest black angus steaks in the Fork & Bottle, hot off the grille seasonal favorites on our Sunset Grille deck, or relaxing with cocktails, appetizers and casual fare in our authentic English pub, the Fox & Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing